Book Review: The Fourth Monkey (J.D Barker) @jdbarker @RaincoastBooks

 

The Fourth Monkey

I can barely contain my excitement over this book any longer!  The Fourth Monkey, by J.D Barker, was one of my most anticipated summer reads. Any book that draws a comparison to Silence of the Lambs and Se7en immediately had my attention.   After I have finished my reading, one thing stands clear regarding this title- this book lives up to the hype.

Fast paced, complex and filled with twists and turns, once I picked up this novel, it was incredibly hard to put down.

When The Fourth Monkey opens, we meet Detective Sam Porter, who seems to be on a leave from the police force when he is suddenly called back to the scene of an apparent suicide. Not truly understanding what his purpose it at this crime scene, his questions are soon answered when a box is found containing an ear. The first signature of The Four-Monkey killer (4MK), a serial killer case that Sam has been the lead investigator on for over five years.   When he finds a diary in the pocket of the deceased, Sam is given entry into the mind of a psychopath and must begin to unravel a twisted history in order to try to find his latest victim…a victim they hope is still alive.

Crazy right??

My first thought that I need to get out is Wow. Where do I even begin? I absolutely loved this novel. To say it was masterfully written would be a vast understatement. Barker is brilliant. As a self-professed struggler of any police procedural style novels, this one broke down any barriers or issues I had with the genre.

The characters in this one are fantastic. Sam Porter is incredibly likeable with a stellar backstory that is slowly weaved out throughout the plot. His partner, Nash, offers comedic relief and had me laughing out loud throughout.   The camaraderie between the two made this book stand out.

I loved the narrative style with this one too, the novel is told in part through Porter as he investigates, but also through the eyes of one of the 4MK’s victims and through the psychopath’s diary as he explains his childhood and interesting upbringing. At times, I was so consumed by these chapters, I felt like skipping through the other narrations so I could have more of this perspective! Deliciously dark and dangerous, I couldn’t help but be fascinated by his mindset.

At this point, this novel has me feeling a serious “book hangover”.  And, with that ending, I am really hoping this will not be the last that I will read about these characters. 5/5 stars. A must read.

This one hits stores next month so add it to the top of your “to buy” lists; you will not regret it!!

Thanks to Raincoast books for the copy of this novel; it was my pleasure to provide n honest review!

11 thoughts on “Book Review: The Fourth Monkey (J.D Barker) @jdbarker @RaincoastBooks

  1. Glad to hear you liked the author’s use of the diary to deliver the psychopath’s back story. I think readers deserve more than just a fast-paced story. As the old saying goes, the devil is in the details.

    Good job.

    David Liscio
    — author of Deadly Fare

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment