Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Loved My First Year Blogging

Screen Shot 2017-01-04 at 5.43.21 PMTop Ten Tuesday an original feature that was created and hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.  Essentially, for each week the list is a new topic and the feature is designed to share lists with other bookish folks!  I love reading these posts and it’s a fun way to get to know your fellow bloggers.

This week, the theme was an open theme looking back at any past books one might have read.  This worked out perfectly for me at Clues and Reviews, since my one year blogging anniversary is next week!! I was thrilled to see that my blog anniversary perfectly aligned with the Top Ten Tuesday post for this week and it had me taking a look back at all the books I have read and reviewed since I began my little old blog last September.  In total, I have read and reviwed 378 books (as of this morning) during my first year of blogging!

Even with all of the books I have read, I find it funny how there are some books that just stick out,. I am able to pick out (pretty easily) the top books that have kept me thinking, I am consistantly recommending or I have felt the urge to pick up and read again.

Keep reading to see my top ten picks for books that stood out for me my first year blogging!

Brother by Ania Ahlborn

screen-shot-2016-12-12-at-9-08-37-pm

Obviously, if you are a follower of Clues and Reviews, you know I was going to be talking about this book!  After I read it for the first time, I was pretty much obsessed. Not only did I find it completely creeptastic but it opened up the door to the wonderful work of Ania Ahlborn.  Since reading this book, I have binge read all of her other novels and eagerly anticipate her next publications.  I am constantly recommending this one to EVERYONE.

Read my full review here. 

Pretty Girls by Karin Slaughter

Screen Shot 2017-04-30 at 8.45.41 PM

I read my first Karin Slaughter book recently when I reviewed her newest release, The Good Daughter (my review for that one is here).  After reading that one, I had to go back and read some of her other books.  I am currently reading her Grant County series but I read Pretty Girls just last week and already cannot stop thinking about it.  Gripping, dark and disturbing, I was on the edge of my seat.

My full review for Pretty Girls can be found here. 

Baby Doll by Hollie Overton

Screen Shot 2017-08-08 at 10.08.20 PM

Another obvious pick on my list.  For anyone who reads my blog regularly, you know I absolutely loved Hollie Overton’s Baby Doll when I read it last year.  A darker abduction thriler, I finished this one in a single sitting and have recommended it to countless people.

My full review for Baby Doll is here, if you want to check it out! 

The Address by Fiona Barton

Screen Shot 2017-08-02 at 6.32.23 AM

I don’t read a whole lot of historical fiction, but I read The Address on a whim earlier this year and I ended up loving the writing style of Fiona Davis.  This one stuck with me.

My review can be found HERE.

Block 46 by Johana Gustawsson

Screen Shot 2017-05-14 at 9.03.51 PM

I feel like Orenda publishes such amazing books and this one, by far, was my favourite.  I was on the blog tour for this one earlier this year and was absolutely blown away.  I finished reading it and immediately passed it along to a co-worker who passed it along to another co-worker until everyone had read it.  Thank goodness this is the first in a series because I cannot wait for more.

Check out my review for Block 46 HERE. 

The White Road by Sarah Lotz

Screen Shot 2017-04-22 at 10.48.24 AM

I have surprised myself since starting my blog with how many borderline horror titles I have enjoyed.  The White Road, the newest release by Sarah Lotz, was one that kept me awake late into the night and thinking.  It was so different from anything I have ever read.  I loved it.

Full review can be found HERE.

Final Girls by Riley Sager

screen-shot-2016-12-30-at-10-52-08-pm

Final Girls released just this past summer but I was lucky enough to read it WAYYY earlier around Christmas of last year.  I binge read it and was completely entertained.  I am dying for this one to be made into a movie.  It is asking for that treatment.  It stuck with me.

Full review of Final Girls can be found HERE.

Ragdoll by Daniel Cole

Screen Shot 2017-04-03 at 9.46.48 AM

Serial killer thriller?  Yes please!  Sign me up!  Ragdoll was on that I passed on to several people and spent time contemplating after I finished my reading.  The next in the series comes out early next year so I am thinking I’ll have to give this one a reread so I am ready.

Full review here. 

The Fourth Monkey by J.D Barker

screen-shot-2016-12-30-at-7-21-49-am

Another serial killer I obsessed over this year.  J.D Barker’s The Fourth Monkey had me glued to the pages and looking behind my shoulder.  Perfectly timed, creepy and dark,  I relished in these pages.  This is another book that is the first in a series so I can’t wait for the second book.

Full review is HERE.

The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo by Taylor Jenkins Reid

Screen Shot 2017-06-19 at 1.54.49 PM

This is a random book on my list but I really loved this one and found myself talking about it with everyone and asking people to read it.  I found it very diverse and very different from what I have read.

Full review can be found HERE.

Well, there we go, my top ten books that I loved my first year of blogging.  Did you read any of these novels recently?  What did you think?

I’d love to chat about it!

 

25 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Loved My First Year Blogging

Leave a Reply

