Blog Tour: The Angel (Katerina Diamond) @HarperCollinsUK

Screen Shot 2017-10-22 at 8.36.51 AMGood Morning and welcome to my stop on the blog tour for the newest novel in the DS Imogen Grey series, The Angel!  I am thrilled to be able to bring you an extract from the third novel in this series, but, first, let’s check out the synopsis!

When a burned body is found in a disused signal box, suspicion falls on lonely teenager Gabriel Webb. There’s no doubt he was at the scene of the crime, but does he really deserve what awaits him in prison?

DS Imogen Grey is certain there’s more to the case than meets the eye. But while she struggles to convince those around her of the truth, her partner DS Adrian Miles is distracted by his own demons.

When a brutal double murder is reported, their investigation is stopped in its tracks. Is the body in the box even who they thought it was? The duo realise Gabriel might have been locked up for a crime he didn’t commit. But with enemies watching Gabriel’s every move, they may be too late.

Miles and Grey are back in the thrilling new novel from bestselling author Katerina Diamond, perfect for fans of Karin Slaughter and M.J. Arlidge.

I don’t know about you, but any book that is perfect for fans of Karin Slaughter makes it to the top of my TBR pile!

Keep reading to check out a selection of this fabulous novel!

Continue reading

Advertisements

Cover Reveal: Vanishing Girls (Lisa Regan) @bookouture

The funny thing about WordPress is that, sometimes, it doesn’t do what you would like.  I had scheduled this FABULOUS cover reveal for Bookouture to go live YESTERDAY to coincide with the big reveal and, alas, WordPress had other plans!  However, since my motto (this past month) seems to be “better late than never” I am taking another crack at it today!

Vanishing Girls, a totally heart-stopping crime thriller, is the first in a gripping new crime fiction series starring Detective Josie Quinn and I am thrilled to be able to share the cover with you!!

First, let’s check out the synopsis!

She was close enough to see that the girl had written a word on the wall in bright, warm red blood. Not a word, actually. A name…

Everyone in the small American town of Denton is searching for Isabelle Coleman, a missing seventeen-year-old girl. All they’ve found so far is her phone and another girl they didn’t even know was missing.  Mute and completely unresponsive to the world around her, it’s clear this mysterious girl has been damaged beyond repair. All Detective Josie Quinn can get from her is a name: Ramona.  Currently suspended from the force for misconduct, Josie takes matters into her own hands as the name leads her to evidence linking the two girls. She knows the race is on to find Isabelle alive, and she fears there may be others…  

The trail leads Josie to another victim, a girl who escaped but whose case was labelled a hoax by authorities. To catch this monster, Josie must confront her own nightmares and follow her instinct to the darkest of places. But can she make it out alive?

Fans of Angela Marsons, Helen Fields and Robert Dugoni will be utterly gripped and sleeping with the lights on once they discover the first in this unputdownable new crime thriller series.

Without further ado, let’s check out this cover!

..

..

..

..

..

..

.

..

.

Continue reading

Cover Reveal: Liar Liar (Sarah Flint) @SarahFlint19 @Aria_Fiction

Boy oh boy!  Do I have a treat for you all this morning!  I am absolutely thrilled to be able to be able to bring you an exclusive cover review for Liar Liar, the newest novel by Sarah Flint, publishing this December!   The best selling author is known for her Charlotte (Charlie) Stafford series; with this book, Stafford returns with a brutally gripping serial killer thriller!

Before I show you this amazing cover, let’s check out the synopsis of the book (which is said to be perfect for the fans of Angela Marsons)

 

A faithful dog lies wounded beside the mutilated body of its owner.   A woman is discovered bound and gagged, dead in her own bed. 
Both are police officers. 
Both have a red rose at their side… worryingly more will follow…

Lies and accusations abound but who is behind the murders and why are the victims being targeted?

Charlie, Hunter and the team must find the killer targeting their own before another body is found.

Ah!   

Well, without further ado, let’s take a look at this amazing cover.

..

..

..

..

..

Continue reading

Book Review: Mary Rose (Geoffrey Girard)

Screen Shot 2017-10-18 at 6.25.10 AM.pngI am such a sucker for a horror read as soon as October hits. I want to grab a cozy blanket, cuddle up in my sweats and scare myself silly. With this in mind, I began to compile my October lineup, and my picks for #cjsreads, one of which was Mary Rose by Geoffrey Girard. Going into this novel, I wasn’t really sure what to expect, but I was intrigued by the description of this novel being “a chilling and modern take on a classic ghost story”. I was also intrigued when I found out that the premise for the story was actually written by J.M Barrie for a film adaptation by Alfred Hitchcock; not sure what went down with that but I figured there was nothing more chilling than films by Hitchcock, so, if he deemed this story worthy of film, then I needed to check it out!

The general premise brings us Mary Rose and Simon, a couple of working professionals, who are about to be engaged. They travel to England to ask for Mary Rose’s hand and Simon’s plans are slightly derailed when he finds out that Mary Rose disappeared when she was a little girl and then randomly reappeared thirty-three days later with no memory of her time away or knowledge of where she was. Not only does this give Simon the heeby-jeebies, but he becomes obsessed with trying to solve the puzzle of where she could have been and what could have happened.

Would I call this a traditional ghost story? Not really. Did I find some moments creepy? Absolutely! Told in alternating perspectives of Simon and Mary Rose, both characters have the opportunity to show the reader their growing paranoia and fright. I think my favourite character was Mary Rose. She is quirky, to say the least, and when she was acting strangely, I was compelled to continue reading to see what her actual deal was. Would she end up being possessed? Was she actually dead? Perhaps she was a figment of Simon’s imagination? I had no idea what the actual end game would be, so, Girard definitely had me hooked in that regard. I also felt like the general setting of the story added another chilling layer to the tone.

If I am being honest, I was a little underwhelmed at the ending of the story and I felt like maybe something HUGE was missed within the pages; in reality, I feel like maybe it would have been better received on screen, which makes sense when thinking of how this story started out.

I feel like this novel had several components, which would make a chilling tale perfect for Halloween, and, although I didn’t love the full execution of the novel, I did appreciate the general tone and feel.

Thanks to the author and the publisher for a copy of this book; it was my pleasure to provide an honest review.

Want to see what Chandra and Jessica thought of this book?  Keep reading to find out!

Continue reading

Book Review: Little Secrets (Anna Snoekstra)

Screen Shot 2017-10-17 at 3.20.57 PM.png

Last year, I read Only Daughter, the debut by Anna Snoekstra, and I absolutely loved it. I loved the narrative style, the dark tone and the creepy ending. It was a book that I continuously recommended. Needless to say, I was pretty excited to read Snoekstra’s follow up with her sophomore novel, Little Secrets.

This novel was completely different from Snoekstra’s previous novel and, to be completely honest, it was not what I was expecting at all.

The novel opens in the wake of a tragedy. An arsonist had burnt down the town’s courthouse, killing a young boy who was trapped inside. Living in the same town is Rose, an aspiring journalist who longs for a big break, and her sisters. When porcelain dolls begin showing up on the doorstep of town members, mirroring looks of the young girls, the town beings to buzz with paranoid and Rose seems to have found her big break. As she begins to write her story, paranoia builds and, soon, her articles have a life of their own. How are all of these scenarios related? Can a small town survive when neighbour is turning against neighbour?
Continue reading

Blog Tour: Snare (Lilja Sigurdardottir) @lilja1972 @OrendaBooks

Screen Shot 2017-10-17 at 1.45.18 PMGood Afternoon and welcome to my stop on the blog tour for Snare by Lilja Sigurdardottir.

As of lately, it is very rare for me to read the back of a novel and to be hooked immediately by the synopsis. However, from the second I read the blurb for Snare, a book which will be first novel in a trilogy, I was completely compelled to read the book immediately.

A young mother, Sonja, desperate for financial stability and win full custody of her son, begins smuggling cocaine into Iceland and finds herself wrapped up in the Reykjavik criminal world. Now that I have finished the novel, the only thing I am wondering is how soon I can get my hands on the second novel. I need more of Sigurdardottir’s writing in my life.
Continue reading

The Struggle Is Real: An Update Post

Screen Shot 2017-01-04 at 5.43.21 PMLately,  I have been feeling an overwhelming sense of guilt the past few weeks.  Life is INSANE and my poor little blog has become neglected and pushed off to the side.

 

I have been seriously struggling with balance lately.

Like majorly struggling.

Let me fill you in on what has been going on!  First off,  I am getting married in two weeks.  I am incredibly excited but also very overwhelmed.  I have been up to my eyeballs in menus, linens, dress fittings, trials and seating charts when all I want to do is hide in the back of the bookstore and drink a coffee.  On top of planning my own wedding, the past four weeks I have attended weddings for my cousins and close friends.  Every weekend is pretty much filled which is so much fun but busy!  Workwise,  I left my job (which was teaching in a private sector) and started a new job back in the public education system.  This has been an awesome change but I am exhausted when I come home.  Like EYES BURNING exhausted.  My fiance also left his job and started a new job. We have also been apartment hunting and preparing to move in together after the wedding.  Needless to say,  I have had a full plate and my reading life/blog has suffered.  I am hoping to get back into the swing of things soon, but, realistically, I know that will take some time.

Needless to say,  I have had an extremely full plate and my reading life/blog has suffered.  I am hoping to get back into the swing of things soon, but, realistically, I know that will take some time.

Hence, I have decided that I am going to majorly take it easy moving forward.  

I am still staying fully committed to my blog tour spots, my book club on Goodreads with Chelsea (Suspenseful Clues and Thrilling Reviews) and will continue to complete my group reviews with #cjsreads, but, otherwise, I will be posting sporadically and will not be sticking to any schedule with my posts.

If I manage to post every day?  Awesome!  If I don’t get to post at all?  That’s okay too! 

I am also going to be closing my blog to all review requests until the New Year!  I want to be able to read at my leisure, enjoy the upcoming holidays and figure out the balance to living with, who will then be, my husband.  So weird!

I also want to apologize for the lack of shared posts lately!  I have been dreadful at keeping up and sharing posts!  I am hoping with less pressure on my own blog, that I will be able to enjoy the posts of other blogs more and have the time to share them. 

To anyone still here after this ramble, thanks for sticking around and I am looking forward to this next chapter in my blogging and personal life!  Can’t wait to keep chatting books with all of you!!