Blog Tour: Six Stories (Matt Wesolowski) @ConcreteKraken @OrendaBooks

Screen Shot 2017-03-23 at 10.35.13 PM.png

Orenda is quickly becoming my favourite publisher. Everything they publish is gold; so needless to say, I am thrilled to be on the blog tour today for an Orenda title!

 Six Stories by Matt Wesolowski follows the podcast of Scott King as he hones in on the Scarclaw Fall tragedy; told through six different perspectives and a completely original narrative style, Wesolowski brilliantly sucks the reader in and makes them EXPERIENCE the story.

To start, I’d like to talk about the amazing cover of this book. I don’t usually comment on cover art, however, this one I cannot deny. The play on the forest, the lake with reflection and the frequency image is just suburb. This cover truly captures the novel in a nutshell.

This is not your typical crime story; there is no law enforcement leading an investigation nor is there a lawyer on the trail to save their client.

Instead, Wesolowski presents a story told through interviews and past recollections.   This one felt like I was on some sort of media binge, you know the kind where you get lost in a vortex of researching an unsolved crime or some strange trivia urban legend.  Throughout my reading, it reminded me of a true crime documentary that I would obsess over on Netflix (think, Making A Murderer).   Everything felt so real. It wrapped me up and held on tightly; I felt anxious. I felt worried. I couldn’t help but be consumed by the ominous text.    Truly, I think the only way this book could become more brilliant would be to experience it as an audiobook; it would truly blur the lines

Truly, I think the only way this book could become more brilliant would be to experience it as an audiobook; it would truly blur the lines between reality and fiction.

You want to get lost in a book? Wesolowski makes it easy.  I rated this one a 4/5 stars.

Thanks so much to Orenda books for the copy of this novel; it was my pleasure to provide an honest review.

Book Review: The Cleaner (Elisabeth Herrmann) @BonnierZaffre

Screen Shot 2017-03-22 at 10.49.50 PMThe Cleaner, a Cold War thriller, by Elisabeth Herrmann was a book I had been eyeing for several months. Originally published in Germany, I was eagerly awaiting the English translation after viewing a bit of the synopsis:

Signs of an agonisingly slow death, pools of blood, hands desperately searching for a hold. Judith Kepler has seen it all.

She is a crime scene specialist. She turns crime scenes back into habitable spaces. She is a cleaner. Continue reading

Book Review: Feral (James DeMonaco) @VintageAnchor

Screen Shot 2017-02-27 at 7.39.23 PM.png

Allie was still in high school when a fire at a research facility releases an airborne infection that spreads to every male on the planet; although killing most, the surviving men become consumed by symptoms like uncontrollable violence, strength and ferociousness. They are feral.   As the world crumbles around them, the unaffected survivors (all women) ban together. As Allie scavenges for supplies for the group, she begins to notice strange patterns with the ferals. Something is brewing. And time is running out….

Continue reading

Behind the Blog: Meet the Blogger Series- Renee from It’s Book Talk @itsbooktalk

Ever wonder about the person behind the blog?  I mentioned back in January (here) that I would be starting a Meet the Blogger series.  This series will feature some of my favourite bloggers as we go behind the scenes and have them answer the questions!

NEXT UP IS RENEE FROM IT’S BOOK TALK

Screen Shot 2017-03-21 at 9.54.06 PM.png

Renee was one of my first blogging friends when I joined the blogging community.  Always quick to comment on my posts and send me some kind words.  She also writes amazing reviews and has really insightful opinions into what she is reading.

Let’s find out what Renee had to say once I put her in the “hot seat”!

Why did you decide to join the world of book blogging? 

I had wanted to start my own blog for over 2 years after previously writing reviews for Bookreporter.com. I liked the idea of being able to review whatever I wanted and share with others my thoughts on all the great books I read. I love talking about books and authors and really wanted a chance to connect with others out there who also liked discussing books as much as me, also so I would bug my book friends around here less:) I happened to come across the She Reads website one day and after reading several blogs and linking to others, I came across Amy’s at NovelGossip.com. I sent her a message and she encouraged me to move forward with setting up my blog on wordpress. Thanks Amy! 

What have been your favourite and least favourite parts of being a book blogger?

One of my favorite parts of being a book blogger has got to be meeting so many amazing book lovers who I feel that I can call my friends after only a few months. I had no idea when I started that the book blogging community was so vast and welcoming. There’s always someone available to chat about a recent read, an upcoming read etc. It’s been great. Another highlight for me has been chatting with and connecting with authors on Twitter and Instagram. I can go into serious fangirl mode when I talk with an author!!  Since the blog is my creation and it’s a hobby, there’s really nothing that I don’t like about blogging. Probably the most challenging thing is writing reviews for books I didn’t enjoy all that much. 

What have been your 3 favourite books to review since you started book blogging?

My 3 Favorite Books to review since I started blogging (this is challenging to narrow down!) are In Her Wake, The River at Night, and You (audiobook)…thank you Sam for that recommendation:)

 

Clues and Reviews note:  I hate to say  I told you so Renee, but I told you so!!  

Have you always been a reader? If not, what got you into reading?

I’ve been a reader as far back as I can remember. I had a childhood illness that required me to be inactive for a couple years when I was 5 and books became my world. I can’t remember a time I haven’t read, although my reading has slowed down significantly at different times in my life.

Now the impossible question…what are some of your favourite books?

Some of my favorite books…how long can this answer be?!! These are some of the books that immediately come to mind as ones I’ll always remember and recommend for different reasons…..
The Help by Kathryn Stockett
A Little Life by Hanya Yanagihara
The Book Thief 
One Day by David Nicholls
The Last Child by John Hart
This is Where I Leave You by Johnathon Tropper
Mystic River by Dennis Lehane 
The Lacey Flint series by Sharon Bolton (that’s 4 books:) 
Thanks so much for having me on your blog Sam!! 

Make sure you check out Renee on her social media:

Twitter:  @itsbooktalk

IG: @itsbooktalk