Blog Tour: When I Wake Up (Jessica Jarlvi) @Aria_Fiction @JessicaJarlvi

Screen Shot 2017-06-23 at 6.44.39 AM.png

Welcome to my stop on the When I Wake Up, by Jessica Jarlvi, blog tour!

Thrilled to be hosting this spot for Aria fiction! I’ll be sharing my review today!

Marketed as a “heart-pounding thriller to delight fans of The Girl on the Train and Before I Go To Sleep”, When I Wake Up is a story told through multiple perspectives and flashes back and forth between past and present.  A teacher, Anna, is in a coma after being savagely beaten. Only two people know the truth: Anna, who is lying silently in a hospital bed and the attacker.

Continue reading

Discussion Series: How I Balance Books, Blogging and Life (Part 1)- My Book Blogger Routine

Screen Shot 2017-01-04 at 5.43.21 PM

Last week, I put a call out for any burning questions about how I balance my blog, the amount of books I read and general life (you can check that post out here). I got so many questions!  Thank you!  I will be putting together several posts discussing the answers, but, to start, I figured I would talk about My Book Blogger Routine.  Annie at The Misstery asked this question (and decided to start her own post related- you can check that out here!).

Like Annie,  I decided to split this into two different routines: one for weekdays and another for weekends.  And, to simplify, I do not have any children.   I do work full time.   I am a teacher, so basically, at this point in the year, I am struggling hard.  One more week until summer…one more week until summer; I teach at an alternative school so technically I work throughout the summer too, but it is a lot lighter.  So I am looking forward to the break!

Without further ado, keep reading to check out my blogger routine and to get a glimpse into my blogging balance!

Continue reading

Behind the Blog: Meet the Blogger Series- Sharon from Chapter In My Life @sbairden

Ever wonder about the person behind the blog?  I mentioned back in January (here) that I would be starting a Meet the Blogger series.  This series will feature some of my favourite bloggers as we go behind the scenes and have them answer the questions!

Next up is Sharon from Chapter In My Life!

Screen Shot 2017-06-21 at 8.49.47 AM.png

Thrilled to have Sharon on my blog today!  Sharon is from Scotland and reviews a lot of Scottish crime fiction; I always come across books I have never even heard of when I read Sharon’s blog!

Keep reading to see what Sharon had to say during her turn in the “hot seat”

Continue reading

Book Review: The Weight of Lies (Emily Carpenter) @EmilyDCarpenter

Screen Shot 2017-06-20 at 9.04.14 PM.pngThe Weight of Lies, the newest release by Emily Carpenter, was a book that I had been recommended to me by several of my favourite bloggers, so I knew I had to read this one ASAP!

The novel opens with Meg, reformed party girl and daughter to superstar writer extraordinaire Frances Ashby. Ashby, who is best known for a best-selling horror novel, Kitten, has made her fortune off of the murder of a young girl that inspired the book. Forty years later, and sick of her relationship with her mother, Meg is pushed over the edge by a personal tragedy and agrees to write a tell-all book about her mother.    Digging into the past, and the cult classic her mother wrote, Meg finds herself in Bonny Island, Georgia questioning the facts of the decades-old murder.   And, when Meg finds herself in danger, she realises her mother’s book isn’t the only horror that came from Bonny Island.
Continue reading

BOMG Book Review: Her Surprise Engagement (Ashlee Mallory) @entangledpub @AshleeMallory

Screen Shot 2017-06-20 at 3.25.04 PM.png

When I find myself in reading slump, I always find myself drawn to a good ol’ fashioned romance. Her Surprise Engagement by Ashlee Mallory was just what I needed to lighten my load.

Single mom, Daisy, still struggling with her divorce and financial troubles from her prior marriage wants nothing but a stress-free family vacation at her sister in law’s vacation home. This is thrown for a loop when widowed, soon-to-be Governor Jack arrives with his daughter in tow. Thinking he has booked the vacation home, there is nothing much to do but wait for the morning and deal with the mix-up. However, when the paparazzi arrives, having followed Jack, things take on a life of their own and before she knows it, Daisy finds herself in an arrangement she cannot refuse. She will pretend to be engaged to Jack and he’ll help her open the bakery she has been dreaming of.  What starts as a business agreement, soon becomes tricky, as the pair develop feelings for each other.

Continue reading

Book Review: Boundary: The Last Summer (Andree A. Michaud) @biblioasis

Screen Shot 2017-06-19 at 10.20.23 PM.png

When I first started blogging, I made it a mission to receive a book from Biblioasis, a publishing company in my hometown.   So, when I was approached to read Boundary: The Last Summer by Andree A. Michaud, which is publishing today, I was absolutely thrilled!  Andree A. Michaud is also a Canadian author, making this my Canadian read of the week.

This book was completely atmospheric. Michaud brilliantly captures the time period (1967) and the idyllic lifestyle of a beach town between the border of Canada and the States.   The concept it itself was completely creepy; girls brutally murdered, found in hunting traps. Even that short description alone had my skin crawling.   Told in majority through the eyes of a young girl as she watches the summer town crumble and the police work the case, this one started to remind me a little bit of Jaws. Obviously, there was no man-eating shark wreaking havoc, but the same paranoia and fear littered these pages; a town torn apart, great suspicion, danger looming and absolutely nowhere to turn.

Continue reading

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? #imwayr

Screen Shot 2017-01-04 at 5.43.21 PMIt’s Monday! What Are You Reading? is a weekly post to share what you recently finished reading, what you’re currently reading, and what you plan on reading this week.

It’s hosted by Kathryn at Bookdate.

The past week has been a literary disaster for me; I haven’t been able to finish many books and I have had several books I have had to add to my DNF pile.  I hate having to do that.

Keep reading to see what I tried to read over the past week, what I am reading now, what I plan on reading this week and how I plan on overcoming my current book slump!

Continue reading