Perfect Days (Raphael Montes)

Screen Shot 2017-04-27 at 8.06.37 PM.png

Whoa. Whoa. Whoa.

This book was INTENSE! And is also going to be extremely hard to review, because if you haven’t read this one yet YOU HAVE TO and I don’t want to give anything away!

I had heard numerous things about Perfect Days by Raphael Montes and had it constantly recommended to me when I was facing a book slump; however, I promised my book blogging pal (Janel) that I would wait and read it in April with the Criminally Good Book Club…so that’s what I did.I cannot believe I waited this long to read this book because it was absolutely unputdownable.  Dark, fast-paced and completely messed up, Perfect Days was a one sitting read that left me thinking to myself “WTF did I just read?!?”

Continue reading

Book Review: The Outliers (Kimberly McCreight)

Screen Shot 2017-04-27 at 7.10.06 AM.png

Wylie is a good friend. She has come to the rescue time and time again for her best friend, Cassie. So, when Cassie’s mom arrives at her doorstep asking her if she has heard from Cassie, Wylie knows this time feels different. Not long after, Wylie receives a text. “Please Wylie, I need your help”. This starts a whirlwind of events that takes Wylie across state lines with Cassie’s boyfriend, Jasper, and as they get further from home and closer to the truth, Wylie’s instinct is telling her something is wrong. Seriously wrong.

So this one started out all fine and dandy. I have wanted to read Kimberly McCreight’s work forever but haven’t gotten around to them. I had heard awesome things about Reconstructing Amelia but hadn’t heard anything about The Outliers.  So I dove into this book without any research or reading its synopsis.

Continue reading

Book Review: The Red Hunter (Lisa Unger) @lisaunger ‏@TouchstoneBooks

Screen Shot 2017-04-25 at 9.57.58 PM.png

After reading Ink and Bone by Lisa Unger earlier this year (you can check out my review for that one HERE), I developed a slight author obsession.

I feverishly purchased all her books, so, when #cjsreads decided to read The Red Hunter as one of April picks? I was thrilled.

Unger does not disappoint in her newest psychological thriller.

I devoured this one in a single sitting.

Continue reading

Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Book Turn-Offs (Things That Will Make Me NOT Want To Read A Book)

Screen Shot 2017-01-04 at 5.43.21 PMTop Ten Tuesday an original feature that was created and hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.  Essentially, for each week the list is a new topic and the feature is designed to share lists with other bookish folks!  I love reading these posts and it’s a fun way to get to know your fellow bloggers, so I’m taking it on!!

This week, the list is surrounding my top book turn offs; things that make me instantly NOT want to read a book.

Keep reading to see what made my top ten!

Continue reading

Book Review: Burntown (Jennifer McMahon) @RandomHouseCA

Screen Shot 2017-03-30 at 12.04.21 PM.png

I was not quite sure what to expect when I started Burntown by Jennifer McMahon; I had heard notable praise for McMahon’s work but had never read any of her novels before. After reading, I have come to realize that if her other work holds any resemblance to Burntown, then I have been making a serious mistake! This book was captivating, original and had me gripped.

I am not entirely sure how to proceed with my review as this novel blended and bent any resemblance of genre. It had elements of the paranormal and a classic thriller; it also had coming of age elements and reminded me a little bit of post-apocalyptic dystopian novels.   Fantasy mixed with a feel of science fiction; truly, this novel ended up with a little bit for every reader.

Continue reading