BEHIND THE BLOG: MEET THE BLOGGER SERIES – Linda from Linda’s Book Bag @Lindahill50Hill

Ever wonder about the person behind the blog?  I mentioned back in January (here) that I would be starting a Meet the Blogger series.  This series will feature some of my favourite bloggers as we go behind the scenes and have them answer the questions!

Next up is Linda from Linda’s Book Bag 

Screen Shot 2017-05-24 at 7.03.02 AM.png

Ex-English teacher, closet writer, gardener and Tea drinker, Linda is a woman of many talents!  Welcome to Clues and Reviews Linda!

Keep reading to see what Linda had to say during her turn in the “hot seat”!

Continue reading

Book Review: It’s Always the Husband (Michele Campbell) @MCampbellBooks @RaincoastBooks @StMartinsPress

Screen Shot 2017-05-22 at 5.40.20 PM.png

It’s Always the Husband, by Michelle Campbell, was a book I was dying to read since Chelsea at The Suspense Is Thrilling Me read it a while back.   I was intrigued by the amazing cover and the general premise.

This is not an “on the edge of your seat” style thriller. This is a not a pulling my hair out from suspense type of novel. I wouldn’t even go as far to categorize this one as a slow burn.   This one is really more of a fluffy, fun type of a thriller.

This one felt like Big Little Lies by Liane Moriarty meets the Gossip Girl series. It had a bit of small town gossip, a whole lotta secrets and some delicious, self-indulgent storytelling.   I feel like this one will be a perfect summer vacation type of read; a book to bring to the beach or cuddle up with a glass of wine at the cottage.

Continue reading

Book Review: The Roses of May (Dot Hutchison)

Roses of May.pngAfter reading (and obsessing over) The Butterfly Garden earlier this year (you can check out my review of that one here), I was elated to find out that this book would be a part of a “collector” trilogy. The Roses of May, by Dot Hutchison, is the second novel in this trilogy. Not knowing whether or not this one would start where the first novel left off or if it would focus on a new set of “collections”, I was eager to find out.

The novel did have some reoccurrences of original characters from The Butterfly Garden but also has a whole new serial killer and new female lead.

The novel opens and dives right into the story. Taking place a few months where the first novel left off but in an unconventional way.  The Butterflies are awaiting the trial of the Gardener and a few of the girls, unable to handle the trauma of the garden, have completed suicide.   The police officers from the original case are dealing with this and also find themselves being pulled back into a different investigation involving a serial killer who murders girls and adorns them with flowers.  When a sister (Priya) of one of the victims’ finds herself a target, the investigators must use their knowledge of the past and what they learned from the garden to find the perpetrator before he collects around victim.

Continue reading

Book Review: The Fourth Monkey (J.D Barker) @jdbarker @RaincoastBooks

 

The Fourth Monkey

I can barely contain my excitement over this book any longer!  The Fourth Monkey, by J.D Barker, was one of my most anticipated summer reads. Any book that draws a comparison to Silence of the Lambs and Se7en immediately had my attention.   After I have finished my reading, one thing stands clear regarding this title- this book lives up to the hype.

Fast paced, complex and filled with twists and turns, once I picked up this novel, it was incredibly hard to put down.

When The Fourth Monkey opens, we meet Detective Sam Porter, who seems to be on a leave from the police force when he is suddenly called back to the scene of an apparent suicide. Not truly understanding what his purpose it at this crime scene, his questions are soon answered when a box is found containing an ear. The first signature of The Four-Monkey killer (4MK), a serial killer case that Sam has been the lead investigator on for over five years.   When he finds a diary in the pocket of the deceased, Sam is given entry into the mind of a psychopath and must begin to unravel a twisted history in order to try to find his latest victim…a victim they hope is still alive.

Crazy right??

Continue reading

BOMG Book Review: The Nanny Arrangement (Rachel Harris) @RachelHarrisBks @entangledpub

Screen Shot 2017-05-14 at 6.22.30 PM.png

Welcome to another one of my “book outside my genre” reviews; I am really starting to look forward to these.  With summer approaching, I am finding myself in the mood for something light and cheery!

Every so often, I just want a truly feel good type of story. I want some fluff, I want something light and I want to know exactly what is going to happen. It really does feel nice to read something knowing the odds of someone being murdered are slim to none!

Enter, The Nanny Arrangement by Rachel Harris, a romance novel that is the second in the Country Blues series. Although the second in the series, this one reads like a Karen Clarke or Nora Roberts series where the characters intertwine in each other’s lives but there are no story arcs that continue on. You absolutely can read this as a standalone.

Continue reading

Book Review: Forbidden Colours (Nicole Fitton) @MisoMiss

Screen Shot 2017-05-14 at 4.25.30 PM.png

When Midori Yates begins to work for KLD, a pharmaceutical giant, she isn’t sure what to expect. As she becomes engrossed in her work, she truly becomes an advocate for KLD’s most revolutionary drug, Centoria, which is used for the treatment of amnesia and Alzheimer’s patients. However, when Midori begins working alongside a neurologist, Nick Campbell, and he begins seeing some strange symptoms in his Centoria patients, Midori uncovers a dark world and a conspiracy that threatens everything she has come to know….

When Nicole Fitton approached me and requested that I view her romantic medical thriller, Forbidden Colours, I was thrilled! As a huge Tess Gerritsen fan, I am always on the lookout for a medical thriller that will draw me in and leave me as addicted as Gerritsen’s earliest work!
Continue reading