Friday Finds #8: January 13, 2017

screen-shot-2016-11-25-at-9-09-29-am

Friday Finds (a feature originated from Jenn at Books and A Beat) is a feature that showcases the most interesting books that I have encountered during the last week and have added to my TBR wish list on Goodreads.

I am constantly adding titles to my never-ending TBR list and I can’t wait to share them with people.

Check out my newest and most wanted additions (or editions?…see what I did there!)

The House

Simon Lelic

Screen Shot 2017-01-12 at 8.49.02 PM.png

 Description from Goodreads:

What if your perfect home turned out to be the scene of the perfect crime?
Londoners Jack and Syd moved into the house a year ago. It seemed like their dream home: tons of space, the perfect location, and a friendly owner who wanted a young couple to have it.  
So when they made a grisly discovery in the attic, Jack and Syd chose to ignore it. That was a mistake.  Because someone has just been murdered. Right outside their back door.

And now the police are watching them…

I loved the concept of this one!  It is so different from any book that I have seen being released as of late! 

A Shattered Circle

Kevin Egan

Screen Shot 2017-01-12 at 8.52.34 PM.png

Description from Goodreads:

After an accident leaves New York City judge William Lonergan mentally impaired, his wife, Barbara, who doubles as the judge’s confidential secretary, is determined to protect his health, his career, and his reputation. Barbara and Larry Seagle, the judge’s law clerk, support Judge Lonergan enough for him to fulfill his judicial duties, keeping his true condition secret. Months pass under this exhausting routine, until suddenly Barbara finds her new way of life under siege.
A private investigator needs Judge Lonergan’s help in investigating the murder of a well-known lawyer in upstate New York. A bitter litigant files a grievance against the judge with the Judicial Conduct Commission. Driven by loyalty and guilt, court officer Foxx is looking into a decades-old courthouse murder to exonerate a childhood friend who is dying in prison. He hits many dead ends, until he learns that Barbara Lonergan, who worked as a stenographer long before she married the judge, likely has information about the murder victim.
After the judge is attacked, Barbara decides they should leave New York City. Arriving at their summer house, Barbara believes that she and the judge are safe. She could not be more wrong.
A Shattered Circle by Kevin Egan is a tensely plotted legal thriller set in New York City’s iconic 60 Centre Street

 It has been a long time since I have read a good legal thriller; when I saw this one being promoted, I couldn’t help but add it to my TBR! 

 Follow Me Down

Sherri Smith

Screen Shot 2017-01-12 at 8.52.09 PM.png

Description from Goodreads:

 Mia Haas has built a life for herself far from the North Dakota town where she grew up, but when she receives word that her twin brother is missing, she’s forced to return home. Once hailed as the golden boy of their small town, Lucas Haas disappeared the same day the body of one of his high school students is pulled from the river. Trying to wrap her head around the rumors of Lucas’s affair with the teen, and unable to reconcile the media’s portrayal of Lucas as a murderer with her own memories of him, Mia is desperate to find another suspect.

All the while, she wonders, if he’s innocent, why did he run?

As Mia reevaluates their difficult, shared history and launches her own investigation into the grisly murder, she uncovers secrets that could exonerate Lucas—or seal his fate. In a small town where everyone’s history is intertwined, Mia will be forced to confront her own demons, placing her right in the killer’s crosshairs.

Follow Me Down is a rare find—a gutsy, visceral, and beautifully crafted psychological thriller.

You all know I am a sucker for a psychological thriller!  So obviously, I had to add this to my TBR list!  

No One Knows

J.T Ellison

Screen Shot 2017-01-12 at 8.53.39 PM.png

Description from Goodreads:

In an obsessive mystery as thrilling as The Girl on the Train and The Husband’s Secret, New York Times bestselling author J.T. Ellison will make you question every twist in her page-turning novel—and wonder which of her vividly drawn characters you should trust.

The day Aubrey Hamilton’s husband is declared dead by the state of Tennessee should bring closure so she can move on with her life. But Aubrey doesn’t want to move on; she wants Josh back. It’s been five years since he disappeared, since their blissfully happy marriage—they were happy, weren’t they?—screeched to a halt and Aubrey became the prime suspect in his disappearance. Five years of emptiness, solitude, loneliness, questions. Why didn’t Josh show up at his friend’s bachelor party? Was he murdered? Did he run away? And now, all this time later, who is the mysterious yet strangely familiar figure suddenly haunting her new life?

In No One Knows, the New York Times bestselling co-author of the Nicholas Drummond series expertly peels back the layers of a complex woman who is hiding dark secrets beneath her unassuming exterior. This masterful thriller for fans of Gillian Flynn, Liane Moriarty, and Paula Hawkins will pull readers into a you’ll-never-guess merry-go-round of danger and deception. Round and round and round it goes, where it stops…no one knows.

So this one has some HUGE shoes to fill; a book claiming to be like Gillian Flynn, Liane Moriarty, and Paula Hawkins?!  I obviously had to add this one to my pile!

Well, those are my finds from the last week! Any of these on your TBR?  Maybe you have read one (or two?!).  Let me know!

Advertisements

12 thoughts on “Friday Finds #8: January 13, 2017

  1. Diana says:

    All these are new to me but they all sound like they belong on my TBR list.I especially like the sound of The House.It would make an interesting movie too.Great Finds.Have a wonderful weekend.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s