Book Review: The Twilight Wife (A.J Banner)

Screen Shot 2017-01-08 at 9.32.13 PM.pngKara Winthrop is a marine biologist suffering from a complex form of memory loss after a diving accident. Her husband Jacob, moves her to an island and is patient while she tries to recover her memories.   Each day is a constant struggle as Jacob must remind her of their wedding, their past struggles with fertility and Kara’s questions as she begins to have memories into the past. She is beginning to remember bits and pieces; a rocky marriage and cryptic relationships. As Kara begins to uncover her past, the truth becomes a nightmare. Sometimes you cannot trust the people you love.

The Twilight Wife by A.J Banner was a nice, quick read for me. A thriller that follows a woman struggling with memory loss on an isolated island with her husband, I found that moments at the beginning of this one were reminiscent of The Vow; completely tender and strange for a novel marketed as a thriller. As the novel progresses, there are a few twists and turns to be found, and I ended up finishing this one in a single sitting. Although not as dark or twisty as I usually like my thrillers, the plot flowed together quite easily making it an easy read.

My favourite part of this novel was the atmosphere. The isolation of the island adds to the dreariness of the plot and as trouble ensues, a storm begins to brew on the island. I loved this use of pathetic fallacy and found myself completely absorbed into Kara’s struggle.   Personally, I found the ending to be too “tidy” for a thriller and some of the twists were a little predictable; I feel like I would have enjoyed it more if it were more complex.

All this being said I did find it an enjoyable read. This one would be perfect for fans of S.J Watson’s Before I Go to Sleep or for someone who is looking for a lighter suspense novel. I gave it 3/5 stars on Goodreads.

13 thoughts on “Book Review: The Twilight Wife (A.J Banner)

Leave a Reply

