Book Review: Find Me (J.S Monroe) @JSThrillers @MIRAEditors @HarlequinBooks

 

Screen Shot 2017-03-18 at 12.49.42 PM.png

Find Me, the upcoming psychological thriller by J.S Monroe, was a book that can only be described as mind-blowing. Slow building and perplexing, I spent half my time reading unsure of what was happening and going back to reread pages. I didn’t know whom to trust and I didn’t know who was reliable.   Needless to say, in the end, when all was said and done, I sat back in awe of Monroe. What. A. Wild. Ride.

What. A. Wild. Ride.

 This one opens in the middle of the action, I found myself trying to clutch for any information wildly. Jar, a man who lost his girlfriend (Rosa) to suicide five years prior, is continuously “seeing” her. Struggling with his grief, he decides to see a grief counsellor. However, when her diary is discovered, he begins to doubt that Rosa is dead and starts to investigate the situations surrounding her murder.

This one gave off a “conspiracy theory” vibe almost immediately and I loved it. Is she in a cult? Was she kidnapped? Is she involved in a government agency? All of these questions were running wildly through my mind.   I also loved the attention the author gave to the idea of “grief hallucinations” and the way your mind tries to cope with intense grief. This was incredibly interesting.

The novel is told through two different perspectives. We hear a narrative voice from Jar and then a perspective from Rosa’s diary, as she explains the years leading up to her suicide. I did find the narration a little hard to follow at times, especially in regards to the diary entries. They were all over the place, and, although they were dated, they were not in order. I felt like a chronological organization would have made more sense and would have been easier for me to follow.  However, once the twists are revealed near the end, this confusion all makes sense.

This one ended up reminding me of The Nightwalker by Sebastian Fitzek; I didn’t know what was real or who to trust or really what was happening. After reading the last pages, all I could do was say “WHAT??!!” and look around wildly.

If you want a psychological thriller, and I mean a true mind-bending, confusing type of read, then this will be your next pick. Hands down.  It comes out tomorrow, so mark your calendars!

I gave it 4/5 stars.

 Thanks to the author, the publisher (MIRA) and Edelweiss for a digital copy of this novel; it was my pleasure to provide an honest review.
4 thoughts on “Book Review: Find Me (J.S Monroe) @JSThrillers @MIRAEditors @HarlequinBooks

Leave a Reply

