Book Review: The Company of Demons (Michael Jordan) @GreenleafBookGr @mjordanauthor

Screen Shot 2018-01-22 at 9.46.22 AM.pngI really enjoy a legal thriller. Give me a John Grisham or Michael Connelly novel and I am one happy camper! So, when I read the synopsis of The Company of Demons, the psychological legal thriller by Michael Jordan, I dove right in.   Meeting a lawyer, John Coleman, who discovers the corpse of his friend behind their neighbourhood bar sending shockwaves through the city and bringing back painful memories of a killer who dismembered and taunted police decades earlier and vanished. As John tries to cope, he is hired by the victim’s daughter, Jennifer, to handle her father’s estate and soon finds himself entangled with a biker gang, dirty cops and romantic feelings.

Truly fast-paced, I sat down and finished this book over the course of an afternoon. I could not put it down as I watched our protagonist, John, get himself deeper and deeper into trouble. The ultimate anti-hero, I actually found myself hating him. It almost felt completely unbelievable how many terrible choices he made!! Page after page, I read (pretty much in horror) as he continued down the wrong path. I was so mad. However, kudos to Jordan who was able to create a character that made me feel so many emotions!

One feature that I enjoyed about this book was how it felt almost like two totally different reads from the first and second part of the novel. In fact, the author probably could have published both separately and started a series! I liked that I was able to get a full story and then continue on a totally different path.

Like I said, I binge read The Company of Demons over the course of a few hours and feel like any crime fiction lovers will too!  This novel is out now, so, be sure to add it to your TBR piles!!  I know that I will absolutely read more from this author and will be on the lookout for his next work!

Thanks to the author, the publisher and Netgalley for a digital copy of this novel; it was my pleasure to provide an honest review.

 

 

One thought on “Book Review: The Company of Demons (Michael Jordan) @GreenleafBookGr @mjordanauthor

Leave a comment