August 2017: #WrapUp

Screen Shot 2017-01-04 at 5.43.21 PM

Hallelujah!  August is over!  I have said it before, and I’ll say it again, I don’t “do” summer.  I don’t like the heat.  I don’t like the beach.  I am not a fan.  This August Wrap Up post is potentially my favourite post because that means we are closer to my favourite season, the season that rules them all- FALLLLL!

Pumpkin everything.  Boots.  Sweaters.  Yes. Please.

This month, I felt like I had a really terrible month for reading.  I didn’t feel like I was reading a whole ton.  I had my wedding shower, was feeling pretty sick, and had to deal with a flood in my basement. But, apparently, I was mistaken because I read 31 books this month.  Not my best month but not my worst month either!

Keep reading to see which books I read, which books I loved, which books I liked and which books I had to add to my DNF pile.

Books I Loved:

The Address by Fiona Barton

A historical fiction novel that I read randomly and ended up LOVING.  I have added her first book to my TBR pile and will be picking that one up to read right away!

Killer Harvest by Paul Cleave

A book that crosses so many genres and was non-stop action, I picked up this book to read a chapter and next thing you know I was finished.

The Walls by Hollie Overton 

I was obsessed with Baby Doll last year, so this book was one my most anticipated reads and I was not disappointed!  Loved it.

Best Intentions by Erika Raskin

Totally different from what I was expecting, this one had me hooked from the first pages.  I loved the way the author built the tension of the story and released the information slowly.

The Good Daughter by Karin Slaughter

How had I not read a Karin Slaughter book before this one?  I am a fool.  I closed the last page of this book and picked up the next

I Know A Secret by Tess Gerritsen and Die Again by Tess Gerritsen

I am such a sucker for Tess Gerritsen.  I read her newest release this month and her one prior for the Rizzoli and Isles series and loved them!!

Blogging Banner 2

Other Books I Read:

Are You Sleeping by Kathleen Barber

Yesterday by Felicia Yap

See What I Have Done by Sarah Schmidt 

Emma in the Night by Emma Walker 

Cocktails and Dreams by A.L Michaels

The Branson Beauty by Claire Booth 

Another Man’s Ground by Claire Booth

Someone You Love Is Gone by Gurjinder Basran

Always Watching by Chevy Stevens

From the Shadows by Neil White

Girl on Point by Cheryl Guerriero

After I Do by Taylor Jenkins Reid 

Dead Girls Can’t Lie by Carys Jones

Theif’s Mark by Carla Neggers

Sunshine is Forever by Kyle T. Cowan

We All Love the Beautiful Girls by Joanna Proulx

Blogging Banner 2

Reviews Coming Soon!

99 Balloons by Elisabeth Carpenter

The Doll’s Alphabet  by Camila Grudova

Last to Die by Tess Gerritsen

John Doe by Tess Gerritsen

Two Lost Boys by L.F Robertson

Blogging Banner 2

Books That Were “Meh”

The Bone Garden by Tess Gerritsen

I love Tess Gerritsen but I found this one to be very slow moving and lacked everything I normally look forward to in a Gerritsen plot.   This one was more historical fiction than medical thriller and I just couldn’t fully commit to the plot or the characters.  I finished it because I am a “ride or die” Gerritsen fan but didn’t love this one.

The Driver by Hanson Hart

I loved the plot of this one but found the narrative style to be very choppy and confusing.   It felt like it would make more sense as a script than as a novel.

Blogging Banner 2

Books I Could Not Finish:

When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon

I started this one as a buddy read with Danielle from The Blonde Likes Books.  I had heard so much hype surrounding it due to its diversity and depictions of Indian culture and arranged marriages.  I had also read other reviews on Goodreads that were either raving or ranting.  Unfortunately, it became very clear, very quick, that I was not the right reader for this one. I found it to be very young.  Mind you, this is YA and I normally struggle with YA so I probably shouldn’t have picked this one up in the first place but, such is life!

The House by Simon Lelic

This was on my top of my TBR list for summer releases and I was so excited but I couldn’t even get through the first 100 pages.  I found the narrative style to be very difficult and the constant complaining from the lead characters made me unable to connect.

Blogging Banner 2

Well, there ya have it.  My books I read in August.  I cannot wait to see what September holds (especially since there are quite a few books that I have been anxiously awaiting to read coming out next month!)

How was your August?

13 thoughts on “August 2017: #WrapUp

  1. I am always impressed by the number of books that you read each month. Glad to see that you enjoyed most of them. I liked the Walls though not as much as Baby Doll.

    Enjoy your books this month. Happy reading.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. 31 books! Wowzers! I am a winter person so I am also glad to see the end of summer. I hate being hot but I love feeling cozy with books, candles and jumpers!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment