Book Review: The Dead Husband Project (Sarah Meehan Sirk) @smsirk @RandomHouseCA

Dead Husband.png

As a Canadian book blogger, I am pretty much obsessed (as you may have known) with finding Canadian content to be featured on my blog.

I am thrilled to be talking about The Dead Husband Project, by Canadian author Sarah Meehan Sirk on Clues and Reviews in honour of the book’s release!  The Dead Husband Project is a series of short stories that all look at love and death in all their forms.

I don’t read a lot of short story collections, but I was drawn to this one by its beautiful cover and general synopsis.

Each of the stories is about relationships and, for the most part, women narrate all the stories. I absolutely loved this.

The women in each story are different types, different classes, ages, and mind sets. It was such a diverse work.

Each story brought something totally different. The first story The Dead Husband Project features a woman who is planning an exhibit featuring her dead husband, however, the catch is he isn’t dead yet. Another story features a couple facing their relationship issues at the gym.  Each story was realistic and captivating, featuring characters that are raw and full of emotion.

I also loved that I was able to pick this work up and put it down at my leisure. Each story is short and sweet; I didn’t need to read this all in one sitting, instead, I relished in it, picking it up when I needed a break, read a story and then would it set it down.

My favourite of all the stories was Barbados, Mommy Blogger and The Date.

If you are a fan of short stories or looking for a short story collection to add to your repertoire, I would give this one a try!

Thanks to the publisher, the author and Netgalley for a digital copy of this novel; it was my pleasure to provide an honest review.
One thought on “Book Review: The Dead Husband Project (Sarah Meehan Sirk) @smsirk @RandomHouseCA

Leave a Reply

