Blog Tour: Snare (Lilja Sigurdardottir) @lilja1972 @OrendaBooks

Screen Shot 2017-10-17 at 1.45.18 PMGood Afternoon and welcome to my stop on the blog tour for Snare by Lilja Sigurdardottir.

As of lately, it is very rare for me to read the back of a novel and to be hooked immediately by the synopsis. However, from the second I read the blurb for Snare, a book which will be first novel in a trilogy, I was completely compelled to read the book immediately.

A young mother, Sonja, desperate for financial stability and win full custody of her son, begins smuggling cocaine into Iceland and finds herself wrapped up in the Reykjavik criminal world. Now that I have finished the novel, the only thing I am wondering is how soon I can get my hands on the second novel. I need more of Sigurdardottir’s writing in my life.
Continue reading “Blog Tour: Snare (Lilja Sigurdardottir) @lilja1972 @OrendaBooks”

Blog Tour: If You Only Knew (Cynthia Clark) @Aria_Fiction

Screen Shot 2017-10-16 at 6.43.51 AM.pngGood morning and welcome to my stop on the Aria Fiction blog tour for If You Only Knew by Cynthia Clark!

I am thrilled to be able to kick off this tour with an extract from the novel, but, first, let’s take a look at the synopsis!

A wife, a mother, a killer.

One wrong decision, one terrifying night, leaves student Elizabeth with a stark choice – kill or be killed. And the consequences of that choice will shape her whole life.

Now a wife, a mother, and a lawyer, she must find a way to out run her past, protect her family and live with her secret. But is it really possible to live a happy life with such a huge shadow cast by the past? And as it becomes clear that someone else knows her secret and is hunting her down, time is running out for Elizabeth to keep her family safe.

In the bestselling tradition of Clare Mackintosh and Jenny Blackhurst, Cynthia Clark has written a heart-stopping story about the choices we make and how far we’d go to protect our families. Even if it means deceiving the people we love most…

Anything that runs a comparison to Clare Mackintosh instantly has my attention!  Keep reading to check out an extract from If You Only Knew!

Continue reading “Blog Tour: If You Only Knew (Cynthia Clark) @Aria_Fiction”

Blog Tour: The Second Son (Andy Blackman)

Screen Shot 2017-10-10 at 6.52.01 AM.png

Good morning and welcome to my stop on the blog tour for The Second Son by Andy Blackman.

I am so thrilled to be able to bring you a character spotlight on my stop, but first, let’s take a look at the synopsis for The Second Son!

As the second son of the Duke of Hampshire, Grenville St John Hampton isn’t likely to inherit his family’s title or estate, leaving him pondering an empty, aimless future. During the summer break from university, he impulsively decides to go backpacking with one of his oldest friends, Johnathan; their destination is Belize.

One sultry night on the Central American coastline, Grenville and Johnathan meet Tom. A game of darts takes a vicious turn. Realising he has nothing to look forward to back at home, Grenville decides to stay on in Belize with Tom, in pursuit of adventure. Together, the new friends establish an import business, and for the rest time in his life, Grenville has a sense of purpose.

But back in England all is not well. The sudden death of his brother leaves Grenville with an unexpected – and now unwanted – inheritance, with new consequences and responsibilities. He will return to claim the family’s seat with a dark secret in tow.

Keep reading to check out a character spotlight on Grenville St John Hampton!

Continue reading “Blog Tour: The Second Son (Andy Blackman)”

Blog Tour: The Accident (Dawn Goodwin) @Aria_Fiction @DGoodwinAuthor

Screen Shot 2017-09-24 at 7.11.42 PM

Good Afternoon (and Happy Thanksgiving to all those Canadians who are reading this!) and welcome to my stop on the blog tour for The Accident by Dawn Goodwin.  I am thrilled to be kicking off the tour with a guest post by the author discussing the inspiration behind the novel.

First, let’s take a look at the synopsis of this debut psychological thriller that is perfect for fans of Paula Hawkins and S.J Watson.

Veronica Pullman’s comfortable suburban life comes to a shuddering halt when her young daughter, Grace, tragically dies in a car accident.

Months later, unable to come to terms with her daughter’s death, detached from her husband and alienated from her friends and family, a chance encounter on a rainy street pushes her into an unlikely new friendship.

Scarlet is everything Veronica could’ve been: feisty, adventurous, unpredictable.  But as she approaches what would have been Grace’s 10th birthday, it becomes clear to Veronica that the friendship she thought was saving her life could be costing her everything.

Consumed by grief and left questioning her own sanity, is there anyone she can really trust or is someone out to torment her as part of their twisted game?

Sounds pretty stellar, doesn’t it?  Keep reading to see what Dawn Goodwin, the author of The Accident, had to say when discussing the inspiration behind the novel. 

Continue reading “Blog Tour: The Accident (Dawn Goodwin) @Aria_Fiction @DGoodwinAuthor”

Blog Tour: The Good Mother (Karen Osman) @Aria_Fiction @KarenAuthor

Screen Shot 2017-10-07 at 5.06.55 PM.png

Good morning and welcome to my stop on the Aria Publishing blog tour for the psychological suspense novel, The Good Mother, by Karen Osman!

I am thrilled to be hosting and to be able to bring you a guest post by the author herself.

Before we get to that, let’s check out a synopsis of this book, shall we?

How far would you go to protect your children? A gripping psychological suspense, with a shocking twist that will leave you reeling…

Catherine is a good mother and a good wife. The family home is immaculate, her husband’s supper is cooked on time, but when she starts writing to Michael, a prisoner convicted of murder, she finds herself obsessing about his crime and whether he can ever truly be forgiven…  

Kate has no time for herself.  Caught in the maelstrom of bringing up two young children with no money, and an out of work husband, she longs to escape the drudgery of being a wife and a mother. And she soon starts taking dangerous risks to feel alive…  

Alison has flown the nest. But university life is not what she had hoped for, and she finds herself alone and unhappy. Until the day her professor takes a sudden interest in her. Then everything changes…  

Three women – all with secrets. And as the days tick down to Michael’s release, those secrets can no longer be ignored.

Sounds fabulous, doesn’t it?  Keep reading to read how Karen Osman, the author of The Good Mother, wrote her novel!

Continue reading “Blog Tour: The Good Mother (Karen Osman) @Aria_Fiction @KarenAuthor”

Blog Tour: Anything You Do Say (Gillian McAllister) @GillianMAuthor @MichaelJBooks

Screen Shot 2017-10-03 at 6.03.27 AM.pngEarlier this year, I read (and LOVED!) Everything but the Truth, the debut novel by Gillian McAllister.   I was more than thrilled to find out that McAllister’s sophomore novel, Anything You Do Say, would be publishing in early 2018. That being said, I am thrilled to welcome you to my stop on the blog tour for Anything You Do Say by Gillian McAllister.

McAllister breathes new life into the psychological thriller genre by adding in a thick layer of morality and human emotion. This novel was extremely through provoking. It opens with Joanna, out at a bar, with her friends. After being accosted, Joanna and her girlfriends leave the bar and Joanna heads home. She hears footsteps. She is being followed. It has to be the man from the bar. She turns around. Pushes the threat. He falls and tumbles down a flight of stairs. He does not get up. Now, Joanna is faced with a decision. Fight or flight.

Continue reading “Blog Tour: Anything You Do Say (Gillian McAllister) @GillianMAuthor @MichaelJBooks”

Blog Tour: The Kindred Killers (Graham Smith) @Bloodhoundbook @GrahamSmith1972

Screen Shot 2017-09-28 at 9.17.14 AM.pngGood morning and welcome to my stop on the The Kindred Killers blog tour!

The second book in the Jake Boulder series by Graham Smith and published by Bloodhound Books, I was so excited to crack into this one! I had read the previous novel in the series, Watching the Bodies, earlier this year and I loved it.   A fast paced, suspenseful, action packed story led by brooding protagonist, Jake Boulder; this one read like a police procedural novel…but better! I am not going to lie; I was expecting to be completely blown away by the second book in the series, especially since I loved the first one so much. I am glad to say that this book lived up to my expectations. Graham Smith blew me away with his intricate plot and non-stop action. I couldn’t read this one fast enough.  Continue reading “Blog Tour: The Kindred Killers (Graham Smith) @Bloodhoundbook @GrahamSmith1972”

Blog Tour: Dan Knew (FJ Curlew)

Screen Shot 2017-09-22 at 3.36.34 PM.pngGood morning and welcome to my stop on the blog tour for Dan Knew by FJ Curlew. This book is something completely different from Clues and Reviews and the books I normally read. However, I am such a sucker for a story featuring a dog. I am probably 100% percent, absolutely, a little bit obsessed with my own fur baby (which I have mentioned before, I think) so I was pretty excited to read this story about a street dog who is rescued.

This story is also semi-autobiographical; the animals (and people!) in the book are all real so I enjoyed that there was a personal connection with the author and the text. I think that it made the story more heartfelt.

From the opening pages, the story was very different. The plot is actually narrated from the perspective of the dog, Dan, which I found to be incredibly interesting.   I often find myself thinking what my dog would say if she had the opportunity to narrate her own story so I loved seeing this perspective.  Dan is living on the streets in the Ukraine when a little girl, who becomes his new “mother”, finds him and he ends up joining their family and travelling with them.

Continue reading “Blog Tour: Dan Knew (FJ Curlew)”

Blog Tour: The Mother (Jamie Raven) @AvonBooksUK

Screen Shot 2017-09-18 at 7.15.19 AM.png

Good morning and welcome to my stop on the blog tour for The Mother, the newest novel by the brilliant Jamie Raven!   I am thrilled to be able to provide you with an extract today.

Following her previous thrillers (The Madam and The Alibi), Raven’s The Mother will have you gripped as it taps into every mother’s worst fear.   Interested? Here is a bit more about the book!

South London detective Sarah Mason is a single mother. It’s a tough life, but Sarah gets by. She and her ex-husband, fellow detective Adam Boyd, adore their 15-month-old daughter Molly.

Until Sarah’s world falls apart when she receives a devastating threat: Her daughter has been taken, and the abductor plans to raise Molly as their own, as punishment for something Sarah did.

Sarah is forced to stand back while her team try to track down the kidnapper. But her colleagues aren’t working fast enough to find Molly. To save her daughter, Sarah must take matters into her own hands, in a desperate hunt that will take her to the very depths of London’s underworld.

 A gripping new voice in crime fiction, this book is perfect for fans of Martina Cole and Jessie Keane.

I am such a sucker for an abduction thriller, aren’t you?!

Keep reading for an extract of The Mother

Continue reading “Blog Tour: The Mother (Jamie Raven) @AvonBooksUK”