Blog Tour: The Mother (Jamie Raven) @AvonBooksUK

Screen Shot 2017-09-18 at 7.15.19 AM.png

Good morning and welcome to my stop on the blog tour for The Mother, the newest novel by the brilliant Jamie Raven!   I am thrilled to be able to provide you with an extract today.

Following her previous thrillers (The Madam and The Alibi), Raven’s The Mother will have you gripped as it taps into every mother’s worst fear.   Interested? Here is a bit more about the book!

South London detective Sarah Mason is a single mother. It’s a tough life, but Sarah gets by. She and her ex-husband, fellow detective Adam Boyd, adore their 15-month-old daughter Molly.

Until Sarah’s world falls apart when she receives a devastating threat: Her daughter has been taken, and the abductor plans to raise Molly as their own, as punishment for something Sarah did.

Sarah is forced to stand back while her team try to track down the kidnapper. But her colleagues aren’t working fast enough to find Molly. To save her daughter, Sarah must take matters into her own hands, in a desperate hunt that will take her to the very depths of London’s underworld.

 A gripping new voice in crime fiction, this book is perfect for fans of Martina Cole and Jessie Keane.

I am such a sucker for an abduction thriller, aren’t you?!

Keep reading for an extract of The Mother

Continue reading “Blog Tour: The Mother (Jamie Raven) @AvonBooksUK”

Book Review: 99 Red Balloons (Elisabeth Carpenter) @AvonBooksUK

Screen Shot 2017-09-15 at 9.40.22 AMWhen I first saw the cover of 99 Balloons, the newest release by Elisabeth Carpenter, I was pretty much obsessed. The ominous black and white silhouettes with the lone red balloon had me instantly intrigued, and, after reading the synopsis, this one found its way on to my TBR list.

Eight-year-old Grace goes missing from a sweet shop on the way home from school and her family is thrown into a nightmare. Meanwhile, a woman sees Grace’s story in the newspaper and instantly makes connections to her own granddaughter’s disappearance.   As both families begin to crack, everything is called into question and it seems that maybe no one is as innocent as they seem.

This one had a creepy opening. After reading the first chapter, I had actual chills.  I am always quite the fan of an abduction story and this one had all the caveats that I would expect in an abduction tale: unreliable characters, ominous tone and red herrings a plenty.

However, I have to say, as much as I loved the plot, I found the narrative style to be a bit confusing. Some of it was clearly labeled and other moments are not. I suppose this could be because we aren’t privy to the identity of the kidnapper, but even some chapters not narrated by the kidnapper were not clearly labeled. I still found this to be a little bit disorienting and it would throw me out of the story as I tried to figure out who was speaking and where I actually was.

Overall, was this my favourite abduction story I have ever read? No.

Was it worth the read? I’d say so.

In fact, this one really had a similar vibe to The Child by Fiona Barton, so if you enjoyed that story then I would say this one would be of interest to you as well!

Thanks to the author and the publisher for a copy of this novel; it was my pleasure to provide an honest review

Book Review: The Escape (C.L Taylor) @AvonBooksUK @callytaylor ‏#theescape

Screen Shot 2017-03-30 at 12.05.06 PM.png

Jo Blackmore, against her gut feeling, agrees to give a stranger a ride. The stranger knows Jo, she knows her husband (Max) and she knows Jo’s daughter, two-year-old, Elise.   “Look after your daughter’s things. And your daughter…” What starts as a subtle threat, soon turns into Jo’s worst nightmare as everyone begins to turn on her and, soon, she has no other option but to try and escape.

Continue reading “Book Review: The Escape (C.L Taylor) @AvonBooksUK @callytaylor ‏#theescape”