BOMG Book Review: Young Jane Young (Gabrielle Zevin)

Young Jane Yougn Cver.png

A young intern, Aviva Grossman, makes the mistake of having an affair with her boss (who is also a successful and married politician) and blogging about it. After the affair comes to light, Aviva is thrust into the spotlight and ends up taking the brunt of the backlash.   Years later, after changing her name to Jane, moving to a new town and starting over in a new career with her daughter, she decides to run for office herself. Young Jane Young by Gabrielle Zevin is a contemporary chick lit novel that will have you thinking.

I went into this book completely blind, I knew nothing about the synopsis and I knew nothing about the author, Gabrielle Zevin. All I knew for sure what the cover was incredible and that was enough for me!

Continue reading “BOMG Book Review: Young Jane Young (Gabrielle Zevin)”

Blog Tour: The Law of Attraction (Roxie Cooper) @NeverlandBT

Screen Shot 2017-09-01 at 8.21.16 AM.png

Good Morning and welcome to my stop on The Law of Attraction, by Roxie Cooper, blog tour!  This morning, I am coming at you with a mini review discussing this feisty read! First, let’s take a look at the synopsis:

Screen Shot 2017-09-01 at 8.21.06 AM.png

Amanda Bentley has always dreamed of being a barrister…

But as a platinum blonde bombshell from the wrong side of town, with a perfect tan and sleek high heels, she doesn’t exactly look the part – or fit in with the brash public school boys and cold posh girls of Newcastle Crown Court’s robing room. Amanda’s never been one to back down from a challenge, and so when she wins a prestigious pupillage following law school, she’s determined to make the most of her chance – and make all her dreams come true.

Only three things stand in her way: Sid Ryder – the sexy, irresistible barrister who she absolutely cannot, under any circumstances, sleep with. At all. Marty Gregg – her smarmy law school nemesis, who she’s in direct competition with for the top job. And her big, dark secret that could jeopardise everything she’s worked so hard for.

Who said that following the laws of attraction was going to be easy…?

Perfects for fans of Legally Blonde, Lindsey Kelk and Joanna Bolouri

Blogging Banner 2

Continue reading “Blog Tour: The Law of Attraction (Roxie Cooper) @NeverlandBT”

#ThrowbackThursday After I Do (Taylor Jenkins Reid)

Throwback Thursday is a weekly meme created by book blogger extraordinaire, Renee at It’s Book Talk. She started this weekly feature as a way to highlight old favourites and read books that have already been published.

I have mentioned before that I belong to a book club that contains a group of teachers I have known since teacher’s college. We meet once a month, we discuss the book and we eat snacks.   What more is there to want, ya know? This past month, after some careful deliberation, we decided to turn our attention to After I Do, by Taylor Jenkins Reid, since three of our book club members (including myself) are getting married this fall. What better way to prepare for marriage than to read a book about a marriage falling apart? We had some mixed feelings during our book club discussion and it became quite clear that this was either a “love it or hate it book”. Personally, I loved the book.

Continue reading “#ThrowbackThursday After I Do (Taylor Jenkins Reid)”

Blog Tour: Cocktails and Dreams (A.L Michael) @ALMichael_ @NeverlandBT

Cocktails and Dreams Banner

Welcome to the final stop on the Cocktails and Dreams blog tour! This newest novel (and first in a new series) by A.L Michael explores relationships, raw emotions and cocktails. I mean, come on, what more do you want?

Screen Shot 2017-08-05 at 7.34.55 AM.pngI had never read a book by A.L Michael before, but, from what I have heard, I was very much missing out. What I discovered when I dove into this book was a quick read with complex characters and an interesting setting (a burlesque club). I didn’t have trouble getting through this book in a single sitting.

The novel opens with Savvy, a seven-year-old girl, being abandoned by her selfish, rockstar mother. Growing up seeking stability, Savvy, as an adult, is sticking around a relationship with a loser and avoiding her mother. However, when the relationships ends and her mother comes crashing back into her life, Sav is forced to question everything and re-evaluate what SHE actually wants. With the help of a handsome bartender, Savvy learns to discover her own dreams and finds forgiveness in the process.
Continue reading “Blog Tour: Cocktails and Dreams (A.L Michael) @ALMichael_ @NeverlandBT”

Blog Tour: Until It Fades (K.A Tucker) @AtriaBooks @kathleenatucker @SimonSchusterCA

Until It Fades.png I am absolutely thrilled to be on the Until It Fades blog tour today celebrating the release of K.A Tucker’s newest novel!

KA Tucker has quickly become one of my go-to authors.  Not only does she in Canada (oh hey!) but I love how her titles have a Colleen Hoover vibe with an edge.

Genre bending structure, complex characters and the perfect amount of romance and tension make me devour her novels whole.

Her newest novel, Until It Fades, brings around the softer side of Tucker and reads like a new adult or contemporary romance novel. It follows Cath Wright, a single mother and truck stop waitress, who has been doing her best to live her life under the radar. After she ended her teenage years being the talk of her small town, she wants nothing more than to blend in and move on. That is, until one foggy night, she saves a man’s life. Soon, the media is at her door and it isn’t then until Cath realizes whom she has saved: Brett Madden, a hockey icon. Their friendship is immediate and soon Cath finds her feelings developing into something more, something she is afraid of and something she feels she cannot trust.   Because how long can a man like Brett be into a woman like Cath….before the spark fades?

Continue reading “Blog Tour: Until It Fades (K.A Tucker) @AtriaBooks @kathleenatucker @SimonSchusterCA”

Blog Tour: The Orphan of India (Sharon Maas) @bookouture @sharon_maas

Screen Shot 2017-06-29 at 8.35.04 AM.png

Welcome to my stop on The Orphan of India blog tour by Sharon Maas!

When I told Kim at Bookouture that I wanted something completely different from my regular reading to cleanse my palette, she recommended The Orphan of India by Sharon Maas, so, into this book I dove!

Surprising even myself, I was completely sucked into this story of love and loss within the first few sentences. Part coming of age drama and part historical fiction, Maas brilliantly captures the life of a little girl and the people who surround her.

Following British couple, Monika and Jack Kingsley, who are desperate for a family of their own. On a charity trip to India, they come across Jyothi, a small girl living in poverty and who seeks comfort from the music she hears around her; the couple falls in love with her immediately. Fighting through red tape and culture they are unfamiliar with, Jyothi finally comes to England and deals with the struggle to fit into her new surroundings. Following her lifetime, Jyothi realizes the importance of embracing your future and confronting your past.

Continue reading “Blog Tour: The Orphan of India (Sharon Maas) @bookouture @sharon_maas”

BOMG Book Review: Single Minded (Lisa Daily) @lisadaily @StMartinsPress

Single Minded.png

When I came across Single-Minded by Lisa Daily I knew immediately it would be added to my list of summer reads. I am always on the hunt for a solid palette cleanser that breaks the mould from a traditional chick-lit novel.

Continue reading “BOMG Book Review: Single Minded (Lisa Daily) @lisadaily @StMartinsPress”

BOMG Book Review: Her Surprise Engagement (Ashlee Mallory) @entangledpub @AshleeMallory

Screen Shot 2017-06-20 at 3.25.04 PM.png

When I find myself in reading slump, I always find myself drawn to a good ol’ fashioned romance. Her Surprise Engagement by Ashlee Mallory was just what I needed to lighten my load.

Single mom, Daisy, still struggling with her divorce and financial troubles from her prior marriage wants nothing but a stress-free family vacation at her sister in law’s vacation home. This is thrown for a loop when widowed, soon-to-be Governor Jack arrives with his daughter in tow. Thinking he has booked the vacation home, there is nothing much to do but wait for the morning and deal with the mix-up. However, when the paparazzi arrives, having followed Jack, things take on a life of their own and before she knows it, Daisy finds herself in an arrangement she cannot refuse. She will pretend to be engaged to Jack and he’ll help her open the bakery she has been dreaming of.  What starts as a business agreement, soon becomes tricky, as the pair develop feelings for each other.

Continue reading “BOMG Book Review: Her Surprise Engagement (Ashlee Mallory) @entangledpub @AshleeMallory”

Blog Tour: The Little Kiosk by the Sea (Jennifer Bohnet)

Screen Shot 2017-06-17 at 9.46.41 PM.png

Screen Shot 2017-06-17 at 9.46.24 PM.png

 

Happy Sunday and welcome to my stop on the Weekend Blitz Blog Tour for The Little Kiosk by the Sea by Jennifer Bohnet!   I have an extract for you today, but, before we get to that, here is a blurb of the book!

One summer they’ll never forget…

Meet Sabine, desperately fighting to save her little kiosk from closure whilst turning down her friend Owen’s proposals, time and time again.

Cue Harriet, returning to Dartmouth after thirty years, haunted by the scandal that drove her away and shocked by a legacy that threatens her relationship with her journalist daughter.

Enter Rachel, the mysterious newcomer who has an unexpected chemistry with a local widower, and who sets in motion a chain of events she could never have predicted…

One thing’s for sure, as the autumn tide turns, there’ll be more than one secret laid bare!

Sounds to me like this would be a perfect beach read; keep reading for an extract AND for a link to win a copy of this book!

Continue reading “Blog Tour: The Little Kiosk by the Sea (Jennifer Bohnet)”