Blog Tour: The Revelation Room (Mark Tilbury) @MTilburyAuthor @Bloodhoundbook ‏

Screen Shot 2017-05-28 at 8.00.39 AM.png

Welcome to my stop on The Revelation Room, by Mark Tilbury, blog tour!

I had read a Mark Tilbury novel before (I LOVED The Abattoir of Dreams, you can check out my review for that one here) so I knew that this author was capable of writing a novel that would be fantastically written and chilling to the bone, a novel that would sit with you long after you have turned the final page.  I am pleased to say, The Revelation Room did just that!

The first novel in a new series of psychological mystery thrillers! Part thriller and part twist on the police procedural novel, The Revelation Room provided a dark, fast paced, tension filled plot fueled with the inner-workings of a cult, completely messed up characters (like, seriously messed up) and dynamic prose to create one stellar, unputdownable read. I devoured this in a sitting.

Continue reading

Book Review: Block 46 (Johana Gustawsson) @OrendaBooks ‏@JoGustawsson

Screen Shot 2017-05-25 at 8.18.41 PM.png

Well, I am going to cut to the chase people. Block 46, by Johana Gustawsson, absolutely blew me away. This book will end up being one of my favourite reads of the year. Hands down. No questions.

This book wears so many hats; it truly is a book for everyone.   Fans of historical fiction will love its general premise rooted in the Second World War and the Holocaust. Suspense and mystery fans will devour its ominous tone, it’s red herrings and intricate, meticulously weaved storyline. Thriller fans will be impressed with the pace, the jaw-dropping plot twist, and the creepy nature of the serial killer character.

In this story, multiple things are happening right from the first pages. In 2014, in Sweden, a body of a woman is discovered and investigators begin to hunt down the perpetrator.   Not far, in England, the bodies of young boys are being discovered in shallow graves, the work of another serial killer.   Emily Roy, an RCMP (yeah Canada!) and a profiler on loan to the Scotland Yard begins working alongside true crime writer Alexis Castells to investigate these cases. Meanwhile, the novel flashes back and forth to 1944 to Buchenwald Concentration Camp where Enrich Ebner is suffering in the midst of the Holocaust.  Continue reading

Book Review: Obsession (Amanda Robson) @AvonBooksUK

Screen Shot 2017-05-22 at 6.20.08 PM.png

How often have you been in a relationship and asked your significant other, “Do you think she’s pretty? Are you attracted to anyone else?”   A simple question, a little game and in Obsession by Amanda Robson, this is the question that destroys many lives.    The novel surrounds two married couples. Rob and Carly share a happy life with their close friends Jenni and Craig; however, nothing is so simple. Can a woman’s husband ever be just friends with someone else’s wife? Pure friends? With no ulterior motives?  This novel calls into question the simplest blocks of relationships.

 

Continue reading

BOMG Book Review: New Boy (Tracy Chevalier) @Tracy_Chevalier @PenguinCanada

Screen Shot 2017-05-22 at 5.40.31 PM

As an English teacher, it is a bit of a no-brainer that one has to learn to like or at least learn to accept Shakespeare.   I have come to love the work of the bard, but some of my teenaged counterparts would disagree with me. It isn’t easy to make a group of teens translate this vernacular.   I was so surprised that I had never heard of the Hogarth Shakespeare series before. Where am I living? Under a rock??

Making Shakespeare more relevant and accessible to today’s society, I was so excited to read New Boy, by Tracy Chevalier, which was a play on the Shakespearean classic, Othello.

I wasn’t sure what to expect going in as I hadn’t read any of the other titles I this series and have read some pretty awful Shakespeare retellings over the year, but, I must say, after finishing this book, I was impressed.
Continue reading

BEHIND THE BLOG: MEET THE BLOGGER SERIES – Linda from Linda’s Book Bag @Lindahill50Hill

Ever wonder about the person behind the blog?  I mentioned back in January (here) that I would be starting a Meet the Blogger series.  This series will feature some of my favourite bloggers as we go behind the scenes and have them answer the questions!

Next up is Linda from Linda’s Book Bag 

Screen Shot 2017-05-24 at 7.03.02 AM.png

Ex-English teacher, closet writer, gardener and Tea drinker, Linda is a woman of many talents!  Welcome to Clues and Reviews Linda!

Keep reading to see what Linda had to say during her turn in the “hot seat”!

Continue reading

Book Review: It’s Always the Husband (Michele Campbell) @MCampbellBooks @RaincoastBooks @StMartinsPress

Screen Shot 2017-05-22 at 5.40.20 PM.png

It’s Always the Husband, by Michelle Campbell, was a book I was dying to read since Chelsea at The Suspense Is Thrilling Me read it a while back.   I was intrigued by the amazing cover and the general premise.

This is not an “on the edge of your seat” style thriller. This is a not a pulling my hair out from suspense type of novel. I wouldn’t even go as far to categorize this one as a slow burn.   This one is really more of a fluffy, fun type of a thriller.

This one felt like Big Little Lies by Liane Moriarty meets the Gossip Girl series. It had a bit of small town gossip, a whole lotta secrets and some delicious, self-indulgent storytelling.   I feel like this one will be a perfect summer vacation type of read; a book to bring to the beach or cuddle up with a glass of wine at the cottage.

Continue reading

Book Review: The Roses of May (Dot Hutchison)

Roses of May.pngAfter reading (and obsessing over) The Butterfly Garden earlier this year (you can check out my review of that one here), I was elated to find out that this book would be a part of a “collector” trilogy. The Roses of May, by Dot Hutchison, is the second novel in this trilogy. Not knowing whether or not this one would start where the first novel left off or if it would focus on a new set of “collections”, I was eager to find out.

The novel did have some reoccurrences of original characters from The Butterfly Garden but also has a whole new serial killer and new female lead.

The novel opens and dives right into the story. Taking place a few months where the first novel left off but in an unconventional way.  The Butterflies are awaiting the trial of the Gardener and a few of the girls, unable to handle the trauma of the garden, have completed suicide.   The police officers from the original case are dealing with this and also find themselves being pulled back into a different investigation involving a serial killer who murders girls and adorns them with flowers.  When a sister (Priya) of one of the victims’ finds herself a target, the investigators must use their knowledge of the past and what they learned from the garden to find the perpetrator before he collects around victim.

Continue reading