BOMG Book Review: The Tattooist of Auschwitz (Heather Morris) @BonnierZaffre

Screen Shot 2018-01-11 at 12.23.22 PM.png

I feel like the last several “book outside my genre” book reviews have had me reading various historical fiction, specifically Holocaust fiction.  Today’s review is just that!

The Tattooist of Auschwitz, by Heather Morris, is a novel that I have been struggling to write a review for. How can a true, harrowing story be rated?   The novel follows Lale Sokolov, a Slovakian Jew, as he lives his daily life Auschwitz and struggles to protect the love of his life, Gita, whom he meets in the camp.   I really did appreciate it was inspired by the true events of a couple; both humbling and heartbreaking, I was captivated by their love story.

Continue reading

Advertisements

Blog Tour: Best Friends Forever (Margot Hunt) @HuntAuthor @TLCBookTours

Screen Shot 2018-01-09 at 9.16.46 PM.png

Good Morning and welcome to my stop on the first leg of the blog tour for Margot Hunt’s Best Friends Forever!   This is one of my most anticipated releases for 2018; I’ve been anxiously awaiting its release for MONTHS!   Now that it is almost here (January 23rd!), I am gearing up to dive in and I figured, what better way to get excited about this book than to share an excerpt with you!

First, let’s check out the synopsis:

Kat Grant and Alice Campbell have a friendship forged in shared confidences and long lunches lubricated by expensive wine. Though they’re very different women—the artsy socialite and the struggling suburbanite—they’re each other’s rocks. But even rocks crumble under pressure. Like when Kat’s financier husband, Howard, plunges to his death from the second-floor balcony of their South Florida mansion.

Howard was a jerk, a drunk, a bully and, police say, a murder victim. The questions begin piling up. Like why Kat has suddenly gone dark: no calls, no texts and no chance her wealthy family will let Alice see her. Why investigators are looking so hard in Alice’s direction. Who stands to get hurt next. And who is the cool liar—the masterful manipulator behind it all.

This one gives me some serious Mary Kubica vibes!  I cannot wait to dive into this one.  Stay tuned, as I’ll be on the blog tour later this month with a full review, but, until then, here is an exclusive excerpt for your perusal!

Continue reading

Blog Tour: Top Five Reasons I Found Myself OBSESSED with The Chalk Man @cjtudor

Late last year, after fighting it for some time, I gave into my temptation and read one of my most anticipated 2018 releases, The Chalk Man by C.J Tudor.    After finishing the novel, I understood completely why there had been so much buzz surrounding this book. Fast-paced, completely compelling and binge-able, I sat down and read this book in an entire sitting.  From the core mystery to the intricately woven characters, I could immediately state that this book would end up one of my favourites for 2018, already!  That, my friends, is a pretty serious statement to make!  If you want, you can check out my full review of The Chalk Man HERE.  But, in honour of my stop on the TLC Blog Tour for this title, I thought I would do a little bit of a breakdown, get a little deeper into the novel and talk about the five reasons why I felt completely OBSESSED with this novel during (and after!) my reading.

Continue reading

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? #imwayr

Screen Shot 2017-01-04 at 5.43.21 PM

Happy Monday, folks!  Today, I am back in action with the “It’s Monday!  What Are You Reading?” post.  It’s been a hot minute since I have used this post to keep me on track but I am in some serious need for some book organization and to start my 2018 off right. Needless to say, I missed it!

In case you don’t know, It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? is a weekly post to share what you recently finished reading, what you’re currently reading, and what you plan on reading this week.

It’s hosted by Kathryn at Bookdate.

Over the past week, I really didn’t get much reading done at all!  I was busy prepping to go back to work and organizing myself in other areas.  And, truth be told, I spent quite a bit of time binge-watching some television on Netflix.  Sometimes you just need to, ya know? Regardless, I did manage to get a few books finished

Keep reading to see what I read last week, what I am reading now and what I plan on reading this upcoming week.

Continue reading

Short Story Sunday: I Call Upon Thee (Ania Ahlborn) #novella #horror

I Call Upon Thee.png

Anyone who frequents Clues and Reviews knows that I am completely obsessed with Ania Ahlborn.  Her novels always keep me glued to the pages, holding on to the edge of my seat and looking over my shoulder.  Really, what more does anyone want in a horror novel,  am I right?

I am especially pleased when Ahlborn publishes a novella.  It really helps to give me my fix until another one of her novels publishes. And, since Ania Ahlborn is an “auto-buy” author for me, I didn’t even pay attention to what her newest novella, I Call Upon Thee, was about until after I had already downloaded it to my Kindle.  Once I realized that it had an Ouija board at the core of the plot, I had to take some time to mentally prepare myself.  Ouija boards TERRIFY me. 

 At 246 pages, this novella packs a serious punch.  Using a back and forth narration between the present after our protagonist, Maggie heads home to help after the death of her sister and flashbacks to her childhood, Ahlborn weaves a terrifying tale.  Even small details (creepy niece, anyone?) had me on edge while I was reading.  That is one of my favourite things about her work; she is able to take regular, everyday occurrences and flip them into my worst nightmare.

 Now that I have finished, all  I have to say is YIKES!

If you like a little fright in your reading, then I would say pick this one up!  I loved it. 

Since #cjsreads enjoys all things creepy, we decided to do this one as a buddy read.  Want to see what Jessica and Chadra thought of this Ania Ahlborn novella?  Keep reading to find out!

Continue reading

Book Review: The Night Bird (Brian Freeman) @bfreemanbooks

Last year, The Night Bird by Brian Freeman, was a book that I saw often. Several bloggers had posted about the book, it came up constantly when scrolling through my suggested reads on Amazon and, finally, in the Goodreads Choice Awards. I figured this was a sign that I needed to add this book to my TBR pile.

While picking my books for the Popsugar 2018 Reading Challenge, I was sure to fit this into my rotation (prompt 26: a book with an animal in the title) and picked it up on January 1; now that I have finished this book, I feel like a fool. I should never have waited to read this book!! The Night Bird had everything that I look for in a compelling read: an intriguing protagonist, a creepy killer and a hypnotizing plot. I could not put this book down.

The novel opens with the introduction of a homicide detective, Frost Easton. He is a jack-of-all-trades type of cop who has committed fully to the police force after the murder of his sister. When two, unrelated young women die, in what seems to be some sort of psychotic break, Easton leads the investigation and discovers something far more sinister. Both women have one thing in common: they both when through hypnosis to relieve themselves of crippling fear and they both were patients of the same doctor. Francesca Stein’s therapy is controversial but effective; she stands by her methods until she starts to receive threatening messages from someone named The Night Bird and realizes that the deaths of her patients were not coincidental. As time begins to run out, this gifted doctor and the devoted police officer must come together to try and stop the cunning killer before he claims another victim.

Now, I am not one for lengthy plot descriptions in my reviews but I cannot get over how DIFFERENT this novel was. I loved the concept of the hypnosis, memory changes and the mind control. The psychology of this fascinates me and I felt like Freeman did an excellent job with his portrayal. I have read other books with the memory/mind control type of spin and, in the end, it usually ends up feeling a little bit like sci-fi. I never felt that way during my reading.

As for characterization, Frost Easton reminded me of the detectives I have been loving recently: Sam Porter from the 4MK series by J.D Barker and William Fawkes from the Ragdoll series by Daniel Cole. Young, a bit jaded and seriously smart, Easton was extremely likeable and I found myself rooting for him entirely. I also loved Francesca “Frankie” Stein. I am all about a strong, female character giving the big, bad detectives a run for their money!

Overall, I LOVED this book and cannot wait for the second book in the series, The Voice Inside, to be released later this month. You better bet that I will be moving that to the top of my TBR pile!

Still Raving About: Into the Drowning Deep (Mira Grant) @orbitbooks

Screen Shot 2017-12-21 at 12.50.31 PM

You know, every so often, when you read a book that you seriously cannot stop thinking about?  It sort of drifts in and out of your mind and you find yourself recommending it to random people on the street?

That is how I am STILL feeling about Into the Drowning Deep, one of the knockout books of the year for me, by Mira Grant that featured killer mermaids.

That’s right people. Killer. Mermaids.

Who knew?!

I read this one back in December and forced several people around me to buy this book immediately- including my fellow #cjsreads members, Jessica and Chandra!  In case you missed it, you can check out my full review HERE.

Keep reading to find out if Jessica and Chandra enjoyed this one as much as I did!

Has anyone given this book a chance?  I am dying to discuss this book with pretty EVERYONE!

Continue reading