Book Review: Two Lost Boys (L.F Robertson) @TitanBooks

Screen Shot 2017-09-18 at 12.14.45 PM.png

When my good friend Janel over at Keeper of Pages read this Two Lost Boys, by L.F Robertson, a while back, I knew I had to add it to my TBR pile. I am a huge fan of legal mystery/thrillers and have a special interest to those plots surrounding death row.   I think it has something to do with how ominous and how severe these stories are; there are no second chances, it truly is life and death.   Also, there is something about a story that calls to question where you fall on the line. Would you support such a system? Are you against it?  What would you do if you were in this line of work. It is absolutely mind boggling to begin to think about it.

The story opens with the introduction of our protagonist, Janet Moodie, who is a death row appeals attorney. Her newest client, Andy Handy, was convicted (along with his brother, Emory) for the rape and murder of two women.   Emory, after a slick deal, received life in prison and Andy got the death penalty even though he has a lower IQ and lacks the dominant personality. Using missed mitigating evidence, Janet discovers a series of errors and learns there is potentially much more to the murders than what was first thought. Andy may be guilty of something, but does he deserve to die?  Continue reading

Advertisements

Blog Tour: House of Spines (Michael J. Malone) @OrendaBooks @michaelJmalone1

Screen Shot 2017-09-23 at 8.58.20 AM.pngGood morning and welcome to my stop on the blog tour for House of Spines by Michael J Malone.

I am thrilled to be taking part in the tour and providing a review.

Michael J Malone is an author that I have admired from afar.   Numerous book bloggers sing his praises and his book, A Suitable Lie, has been on my TBR pile anxiously awaiting me. From what I have been told, his writing is completely addictive and captivating. Now that I have finished House of Spines, I would have to say, I totally agree.   Malone had me hooked from the moment I turned the first page and I was completely drawn into this dark, gothic world within the pages. I could not put it down.  Continue reading

Blog Tour: Dan Knew (FJ Curlew)

Screen Shot 2017-09-22 at 3.36.34 PM.pngGood morning and welcome to my stop on the blog tour for Dan Knew by FJ Curlew. This book is something completely different from Clues and Reviews and the books I normally read. However, I am such a sucker for a story featuring a dog. I am probably 100% percent, absolutely, a little bit obsessed with my own fur baby (which I have mentioned before, I think) so I was pretty excited to read this story about a street dog who is rescued.

This story is also semi-autobiographical; the animals (and people!) in the book are all real so I enjoyed that there was a personal connection with the author and the text. I think that it made the story more heartfelt.

From the opening pages, the story was very different. The plot is actually narrated from the perspective of the dog, Dan, which I found to be incredibly interesting.   I often find myself thinking what my dog would say if she had the opportunity to narrate her own story so I loved seeing this perspective.  Dan is living on the streets in the Ukraine when a little girl, who becomes his new “mother”, finds him and he ends up joining their family and travelling with them.

Continue reading

Book Review: If the Creek Don’t Rise (Leah Weiss) @sbkslandmark

Screen Shot 2017-09-18 at 10.21.58 AM.pngI am such a sucker for a character-driven novel. As much as I love a story with a fast-paced plot and plethora of twists, every so often I enjoy the decadence of curling up with a story that is full of strong characters and pushed by their emotions and actions. I love to get lost in their lives.   If the Creek Don’t Rise, the debut novel by Leah Weiss, did exactly that.

The novel opens with the introduction of Sadie Blue, a pregnant and newly married teenager whose husband turns abusive the minute they are married. Bruised and broken, Sadie retreats back home to her grandmother. Through alternating POVs from various members of their small Appalachian town, Sadie’s story unfolds.

As a novel categorized as a historical fiction, I was little bit worried when I started my reading but I was pleased that this one didn’t feel too out of touch. I often find some historical fiction hard to digest, but, as I read this one, I didn’t feel that way at all. Weiss does a brilliant job at creating a piece that is historically accurate as well as inviting. I loved the touches of the dialect and I loved the narrative style. From the first pages, I was drawn into and loved the female-centric narrative; for a majority of the story, a key woman in the plot narrates each chapter. I thought this was so interesting and original, especially given context of the story and the time period it is written in.   Women, pretty obviously within this plot, did not have a real voice and Weiss chooses to give their voices a chance to be heard entirely.

Continue reading

Throwback Thursday: The Killing Lessons (Saul Black)

Screen Shot 2017-08-09 at 10.34.13 PM

Throwback Thursday is a weekly meme created by book blogger extraordinaire, Renee at It’s Book Talk. She started this weekly feature as a way to highlight old favourites and read books that have already been published. This is becoming one of my favourite features on my blog because it forces me to go back and read some of the books on my shelf that have been sitting there (neglected and probably incredibly sad).

Screen Shot 2017-09-18 at 2.53.46 PM.pngThe Killing Lessons, by Saul Black, had been on my TBR list for a couple of years and I was encouraged by several of my book blogging (and real life!) friends to make time to read this book. Since Black’s second novel in the series, Love/Murder, was being published during the summer and featured a stellar synopsis, I figured I would get myself caught up so I could start the series from the beginning.

Two strangers turn up at an isolated farmhouse brutally murdered one and kidnapping another. The murders do not go according to plan, since one small girl survives and now holds the key to the killings. In San Francisco, homicide detective Valerie Hart is feeling the psychological breakdown of a difficult case. Are the situations related? This slow burning mystery follows the mind of the psychopath and the desperation of the woman determined to stop him.

This one left me feeling completely mixed.
Continue reading

Book Review: Copycat (Alex Lake) @HarperCollinsCa

Screen Shot 2017-09-18 at 10.21.51 AM.pngEarlier this year, I read Killing Kate, a thriller written by Alex Lake. I really ended up enjoying it so I instantly went to Kindle and downloaded After Anna, another title by the author. Needless to say, when I found out that Copycat, the newest release by Alex Lake, was coming out this month, it went to the top of my TBR pile!

The book was written extremely uniquely, which I loved. Written in parts, the first is told in alternating chapters between Sarah, a doctor who finds out she is being stalked, and the mysterious, unnamed stalker. As Sarah’s life begins to unravel and her sanity is called into question, this section is written in short chapters; very easy to get lost in. Lake does an amazing job at capturing Sarah’s anxiety and increasing paranoia. In fact, I loved the Sarah character and as the novel progresses Sarah finds herself sinking deeper and deeper into her own mind as she questions the motives of her “copycat” and the story is very intense! This section of the novel gave me a similar vibe as The Breakdown by B.A Paris.
Continue reading

Sitting Down With Kaira Rouda: Author of Best Day Ever @KairaRouda @HarlequinBooks

 

Fall is my absolute favourite time of year; not only do I feel more content surrounded by the bright colours and cooler weather but fall marks the time where the most anticipated releases from my wishlist are published.  Enter Best Day Ever, the newest release by Kaira Rouda (which is out TODAY!) and a book that was topping my TBR pile.

I was lucky enough to be able to chat with the author, Kaira Rouda about Best Day Ever, her thoughts on book reviews and how she spends her time when she isn’t creating her novels.

Keep reading to see what Karia said during our chat!  And, stay tuned for our CJSreviews of Best Day Ever, which we made one of our September picks!

Continue reading