Blog Tour: Hell to Pay (Rachel Amphlett) @RachelAmphlett @emmamitchellfpr

Screen Shot 2017-11-19 at 8.12.03 AM.pngGood morning and happy Sunday!! Today, I am so thrilled to be hosting a spot on the Hell to Pay blog tour, the fourth book in the Detective Kay series, by Rachel Amphlett!

This series holds a near and dear place in my heart; not only is this series suspenseful, fast-paced and filled with non-stop action but Amphlett was the first author who ever approached me for a review on Clues and Reviews.  Cue the nostalgia.

After reading Amphlett’s previous novels in the series (Scared to Death, Will to Live, and One to Watch) I am so excited to tackle book four.  Shall we check out the synopsis?

When a road traffic accident on a dark autumn night uncovers a disturbing conspiracy, Detective Sergeant Kay Hunter’s investigation exposes a ruthless serial killer exploiting vulnerable young women.

With her enemies unmasked and her career spiralling out of control, Kay’s determination to seek vengeance for the victims brings her dangerously close to those who want to silence her.

Undeterred, she uncovers the real reason behind a plot to destroy her career and sets in motion a terrifying chain of events.

Could Kay’s need for revenge be her undoing, or will she survive to see justice served?

For my spot on the tour today, I am incredibly excited to be able to bring you an extract!

Keep reading for a glimpse into the world of Detective Kay in Hell to Pay!

Continue reading

Advertisements

Cover Reveal: Don’t Close Your Eyes (Holly Seddon) @hollyseddon

Good morning and welcome to Clues and Reviews.  I am so excited to be a part of the paperback cover reveal for Holly Seddon’s Don’t Close Your Eyes!   I read this one a while back with my #cjsreads counterparts and we were all seriously impressed by Seddon’s writing style and the stellar twist at the end.

In case you missed it, here is a synopsis!

Robin and Sarah weren’t the closest of twins. They weren’t even that similar. But they loved each other dearly. Until, in the cruellest of domestic twists, they were taken from one another. 

Now, in her early 30s, Robin lives alone. Agoraphobic and suffering from panic attacks, she spends her days pacing the rooms of her house. The rest of the time she watches – watches the street, the houses, the neighbours. Until one day, she sees something she shouldn’t…

And Sarah? Sarah got what she wanted – the good-looking man, the beautiful baby, the perfect home. But she’s just been accused of the most terrible thing of all. She can’t be around her new family until she has come to terms with something that happened a long time ago. And to do that, she needs to track down her twin sister.

But Sarah isn’t the only person looking for Robin. As their paths intersect, something dangerous is set in motion, leading Robin and Sarah to fight for much more than their relationship…

Without further ado, let’s check out the gorgeous paperback cover!

..

.

..

..

..

.

.

.

Continue reading

Book Review: The Big Lie (Julie Mayhew) @Candlewick @JulieMayhew

Screen Shot 2017-11-09 at 8.42.50 PM.pngI find myself drawn to the same books continuously. When it isn’t thrillers or suspense titles, you can find me stuck in a good romance or some historical fiction. Preferably, fiction set around the Second World War, tales of human resiliency and the rebellion fascinate me. Ironically, with all my changing genres, I don’t read a lot of novels in the YA genre, but when I do, I often find myself drawn to the dystopian sort. I love getting lost in this sort of “what if” world that feels too real, too close for comfort.   Needless to say, when I stumbled across The Big Lie, the upcoming novel by Julie Mayhew, a dystopian, coming of age, YA novel set in modern day Nazi occupied England, I threw this one at the top of my TBR pile and dove in.

The novel surrounds a young girl, Jessika, who is a model citizen living in Nazi-run England. She obeys her father, she tries to impress her elders and she is loyal to her country. However, her neighbour and best friend Clementine is not the same. Clem is loud and outspoken, much to Jess’ dismay.   The louder Clem gets, the more nervous Jess becomes until she finds herself wrapped up so tightly in Clem’s world that things start to feel confusing. Jess has always thought she was doing the right thing, but what happens when the right things start to feel wrong?

Continue reading

Blog Tour: The Lido Girls (Alison Burnside) @Allie_Burns1 @NeverlandBT

Screen Shot 2017-11-11 at 1.20.40 PM.png

Good afternoon and welcome to my stop on the blog tour for The Lido Girls by Allie Burns.  I am thrilled to be able to bring you an extract for this historical fiction novel that is perfect for fans of Pam Evans and Gill Paul.

Screen Shot 2017-11-11 at 1.20.34 PM.png

Before we get to that, let’s check out the synopsis!

Change is in the air…

London, 1930s:

Natalie Flacker is tempted by the glamour of the new keep fit movement, but when she is dismissed from her prestigious job in PE she loses the life she so carefully built. Echoes of the war’s destruction still reverberate through her life, and now she is homeless, jobless and without prospects.

But connections made on a summer holiday, with her best friend Delphi, create opportunities. When Natalie is offered a summer job at a lido at the seaside, she jumps at the chance. But is she up to the challenge of taking on a group of unfit women in need of her help?

Set against the backdrop of the beginnings of the pioneering keep fit movement; this is a feel-good reminder of just what’s possible when you find the courage to follow your heart.

Spend a very British summer with The Lido Girls!

Sounds pretty stellar right?  Keep reading for an extract of this novel!

Continue reading

Book Review: I Am Watching You (Teresa Driscoll) @TeresaDriscoll

Screen Shot 2017-11-09 at 9.48.35 PM.pngI first stumbled across I Am Watching You, the newest release by Teresa Driscoll, in a co-worker’s Goodreads newsletter.   After reading the synopsis, I was captivated by the idea of this story and I knew I would have to add this one to my TBR pile. After binge reading it for a couple of hours, I am pleased to say that I Am Watching You is absolutely worth your time, folks!

The novel opens with Ella, a woman riding the train, overhearing two young men flirting with a couple of teenage girls on the train. Listening in to their conversation, her maternal instinct is put on high alert after one of the men reveals they are fresh out of prison. However, she decides, against her better judgment, not to say anything. After all, it is none of her business.   The next day, she is horrified to find out that one of the girls, Anna, has disappeared. A year later, Ella is still wracked with guilt over what she should have done and, as the anniversary of Anna’s disappearance approaches, Ella begins to receive threatening letters. Someone is coming after her.

Continue reading

Throwback Thursday: The Exorcist (William Peter Blatty)

Screen Shot 2017-08-09 at 10.34.13 PM

Throwback Thursday is a weekly meme created by book blogger extraordinaire, Renee at It’s Book Talk. She started this weekly feature as a way to highlight old favourites and read books that have already been published.

Screen Shot 2017-11-08 at 8.50.34 PM

This week, I decided to focus on a book that had been in my TBR pile for a while, The Exorcist by William Peter Blatty.   I don’t even think this book needs a synopsis or any other introduction; it is pretty much infamous.

I had kind of forgotten all about this book until I came across a Buzzfeed article a few weeks ago (right before Halloween) that discussed books that are ACTUALLY scary.  At this point, I was looking for something to really get me into the Halloween mood so, I picked up a copy and started reading. I figured I had seen the movie, it was scary, of course, but how bad could the book be, especially since I already know what happens?

Bad.

The answer is bad.

I had to read this one in the daylight and after a certain point, I would have to put it down.  It totally creeped me out! Between the imagery and the obscene depictions, there were points in time I wanted to give up completely.  Because of this, it took me over two weeks to get through the book- practically a lifetime- and I am sure it will take me even longer to get over it.  This one gets under your skin.

A creepy Halloween read?  Absolutely.  It did the role it was meant to do.  Would I read it again?  Nope.  Never.

Has anyone else ever read this one?  Am I the only one who had their pants scared off??!!

Book Review: The Surrogate (Louise Jensen) @bookouture @Fab_fiction

Screen Shot 2017-10-27 at 6.57.34 PM.pngI am a sucker for anything written by Louise Jensen. I find her books so perfectly bingeable. I knew that her newest novel, The Surrogate, would be published soon but I promised my fiancé that I would not pick up another new novel until after our wedding was over.

Well, all was going well until the reviews for this one started rolling in. I couldn’t resist. I had to get my hands on this book.

#sorrynotsorry

I devoured Jensen’s newest psychological thriller in a single afternoon and Bookouture was correct when they marketed this as “a book with a shocking twist”. All of my assumptions about the plot were completely off base; Jensen truly did end up shocking me within the final pages and revelation of the book.
Continue reading