Hey You! Read This! (The Domestic Thriller Edition)

Screen Shot 2017-01-04 at 5.43.21 PMConfession time: I am a bossy book reader.  I read books and then force people around me to read them make subtle and kind recommendations to others.

I cannot help it, I want to share the book love. I want to chat about what I’ve read.

Hence, why I started my “Hey, You!  Read This!” feature. This feature hones in on books I have read and would recommend in different genres and subgenres. Last time I did this feature, I focused on abduction thrillers.

Today, I figured I would take a look at another one of my favourite thriller subgenres: DOMESTIC THRILLERS. One of my favourite things about domestic thrillers (or marriage thrillers, as I have heard them called) is how close to home they can feel (see what I did there?). There is nothing like reading a story about the possibility of our nearest and dearest having some brutal secrets or behaviour.

Now, the classic domestic thrillers that come to mind are Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn and The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins.   These are sort of the “OG” domestic thrillers that rebooted the genre and got everyone in a tizzy, so, for the sake of redundancy, I am leaving them off my list.

Interested to see what I did decide to throw on my list?

Keep reading to see what made my top picks….

Blogging Banner 3

HEY, YOU!  You Want to Read Something That Actually Feels like Gone Girl?

Lie to Me.png

Then check out…..

Lie to Me by J.T Ellison

One of my biggest pet peeves, when I open a domestic thriller, are the ones that claim to be “for fans of Gone Girl and Girl on the Train”. I understand this marketing technique, but, they usually end up being a huge bust. However, Lie to Me was one of the first books with this claim that truly felt like it had a Gone Girl vibe.

Blogging Banner 3

HEY, YOU!  You Want A Domestic Thrill That Also Gives You A Chick-Lit/Beach Read Vibe?

Some of my favourite domestic thrillers are the ones that also feel light enough to bring to the beach and binge read while relaxing.

If you like this too, check out…..

Big Little Lies by Liane Moriarty or The Husband’s Secret by Liane Moriarty 

I am a big fan of all Moriarity’s work but these two are on the darker domestic thriller vibe while still being perfect to lounge about and binge read while at the beach or cottage.  They feel like summer, the prose will keep you hooked and you’ll be compelled to keep turning the pages.  Yes. Please.

It's Always the Husband.png

I also really liked It’s Always the Husband by Michele Campbell.  This one was a twist on the classic domestic thriller and it had me reading late into the night during summer vacation, drinking wine and loving life.

Blogging Banner 3

HEY, YOU!  You Want Something That You Will Not Be Able to Put Down?

Of course, you do!  Who doesn’t when they are reading a domestic thriller?  The following were books that I picked up and ended up binge reading late into the night.  Addictive plots, compelling characters and twists and turns will have you on edge, just like a good domestic thriller should!

Before I Go to Sleep by S.J Watson

This book was actually one of the first domestic thrillers I had ever read and I have loaned it out again and again.  I actually am a fan of all of Watson’s work.  This novel is fast-paced and full of twists and turns that will have you on edge and second-guessing the relationship at the center of the plot.

Behind Her Eyes by Sarah Pinborough 

The novel at the crux of the WTF that ending hashtag that floating all over Twitter and social media at the beginning of the year, this one will truly blow your mind at the conclusion.  Love it or hate it, no one can deny that the ending of this novel is one of the most unexpected twists!

Never Let You Go by Chevy Stevens 

Chevy Stevens has an amazing narrative style and this book was no exception.  I binge read this novel in a single day and was blown away by how captivated the plot had me.  This one is a classic domestic thriller (sort of like the movie Enough starring J Lo).

The Kind Worth Killing by Peter Swanson

This book got me back into reading after a two-year long reading slump.  As far as I can say, this one is perfection.  I am a sucker for Peter Swanson and he is able to weave a fantastic, twisted story within this novel.

The Marriage Lie by Kimberly Belle

The entertainment value of this one cannot be beaten.  It will have you on edge.

Blogging Banner 3

AND THAT WRAPS UP MY TOP DOMESTIC THRILLER PICKS FOR MY “HEY, YOU!  READ THIS!” FEATURE.

WOULD ANY OF THESE TITLES MAKE YOUR LIST?

DO YOU HAVE ANY DOMESTIC THRILLERS TO RECOMMEND TO ME?

LET ME KNOW!

14 thoughts on “Hey You! Read This! (The Domestic Thriller Edition)

    1. I had read Girl on the Train so long after it was released I was completely underwhelmed. I think it was all the hype. I didn’t like the newest Paula Hawkins novel either so I feel like maybe I am not a huge fan of her writing style.

      Like

  1. I feel like I want to read ‘it’s always the husband’ because in domestic thrillers, it’s nearly always is the husband! 😂

    A good selection, except Before I Go To Sleep 🤭 I thought that one was mediocre at best Haha

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I really liked that one! I read it FOREVER ago though so in comparison to some of the awesome ones I have read now it would be not as highly rated. I am here to provide options Janel!! lol I think his second book better…I cannot for the life of me remember what it was called.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s