Book Review: The Surrogate (Louise Jensen) @bookouture @Fab_fiction

Screen Shot 2017-10-27 at 6.57.34 PM.pngI am a sucker for anything written by Louise Jensen. I find her books so perfectly bingeable. I knew that her newest novel, The Surrogate, would be published soon but I promised my fiancé that I would not pick up another new novel until after our wedding was over.

Well, all was going well until the reviews for this one started rolling in. I couldn’t resist. I had to get my hands on this book.

#sorrynotsorry

I devoured Jensen’s newest psychological thriller in a single afternoon and Bookouture was correct when they marketed this as “a book with a shocking twist”. All of my assumptions about the plot were completely off base; Jensen truly did end up shocking me within the final pages and revelation of the book.

The novel opens with the introduction of Kat and her husband, Nick, who are dealing with fertility issues. They want nothing more than to have a baby of their own; however, after several adoptions fall through and Kat’s childhood friend, Lisa, coming back into their lives, they begin to consider surrogacy. Lisa has been a surrogate before. There is a history there. Kat trusts Lisa, and, Nick wants to make Kat happy. As the process moves forward, and Lisa becomes pregnant, Kat discovers that maybe Lisa’s intentions are not as pure as she thought.

Jensen created some seriously infuriating characters within these pages and I hated them all which such a passion; I take this as a sign of phenomenal writing. If I am swearing at the pages and shaking my head in disgust, then she absolutely has me hooked! I went back and forth between sympathizing with characters to judging them to wanting to give them a lecture. Dysfunction was out in full force with this crew and I loved every second.

My only complaint about this novel (and it was small) was that I did find some parts in the plot to be a little bit redundant and dragged out. However, this was made up for at the end of the novel when everything came to light. I did love that.

Overall, a great read that one would absolutely need a few hours set aside to begin. Trust me, once you pick this one up you will not be able to put it down. Clear your schedule folks!

Thanks to the author, the publisher and NetGalley for a digital copy of this novel; it was my pleasure to provide an honest review

2 thoughts on “Book Review: The Surrogate (Louise Jensen) @bookouture @Fab_fiction

Leave a Reply

