Blog Tour: The Angel (Katerina Diamond) @HarperCollinsUK

Screen Shot 2017-10-22 at 8.36.51 AMGood Morning and welcome to my stop on the blog tour for the newest novel in the DS Imogen Grey series, The Angel!  I am thrilled to be able to bring you an extract from the third novel in this series, but, first, let’s check out the synopsis!

When a burned body is found in a disused signal box, suspicion falls on lonely teenager Gabriel Webb. There’s no doubt he was at the scene of the crime, but does he really deserve what awaits him in prison?

DS Imogen Grey is certain there’s more to the case than meets the eye. But while she struggles to convince those around her of the truth, her partner DS Adrian Miles is distracted by his own demons.

When a brutal double murder is reported, their investigation is stopped in its tracks. Is the body in the box even who they thought it was? The duo realise Gabriel might have been locked up for a crime he didn’t commit. But with enemies watching Gabriel’s every move, they may be too late.

Miles and Grey are back in the thrilling new novel from bestselling author Katerina Diamond, perfect for fans of Karin Slaughter and M.J. Arlidge.

I don’t know about you, but any book that is perfect for fans of Karin Slaughter makes it to the top of my TBR pile!

Keep reading to check out a selection of this fabulous novel!

Extract Twenty from Chapter Six, pp 64-65

‘We’re investigating the fire in the signal box up at Central Station,’ Adrian said.

‘I saw that on the news. What’s it got to do with me?’

‘Well I don’t know if you saw, but we found the remains of a male in the room; we think he was seeking shelter from the rain in there. It seems quite probable that he was homeless,’ Imogen said.

Claire Morgan’s hand went up to her mouth and Imogen saw the clear look of distress in her eyes.

‘Do you know how many homeless there are in the city?’ Adrian asked.

‘I used to but the numbers are always growing. It’s getting a lot less . . . personal.’

‘Is anyone missing, to your knowledge?’

‘It’s hard to know when someone is missing,’ Claire said. ‘Sometimes people just want to be alone. Sometimes people move on, sometimes they get moved on. There can be a variety of factors why they wouldn’t be around anymore. Over the last few months I would say there’s a couple of people I haven’t seen in a long time. But there are new faces too. As you can imagine, it’s a very transient community.’

‘Do you keep records of the people who pass through your charity?’ Imogen asked.

‘No, I don’t. Some people are homeless by choice, and I think it’s only fair to respect that choice and respect their privacy.’

‘And what is it you do here exactly?’

‘People donate money and the money buys supplies for the homeless. So, if you wanted to donate thirty pounds, I would put together a pack of a sleeping bag, a thermal blanket and some protein bars or something like that. Then when people come in and ask for help, I can give that to them. It’s not much, but it’s all I can do.’

‘It’s a lot more than most people do.’ Imogen smiled at her, feeling guilty that she didn’t do more.

‘I was homeless myself once,’ Claire said. ‘Not through choice. I was lucky that people helped me and eventually I got myself back on track. Most people genuinely try not to think about it. It’s as if they think about it, it might happen to them – as if it’s somehow contagious. So they actively choose to ignore it.’

Be sure to check out the other stops on the blog tour for The Angel

Screen Shot 2017-10-22 at 8.34.00 AM.png

 

One thought on “Blog Tour: The Angel (Katerina Diamond) @HarperCollinsUK

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s