Throwback Thursday: Pretty Girls (Karin Slaughter) #tbt @SlaughterKarin

Screen Shot 2017-08-09 at 10.34.13 PM

Throwback Thursday is a weekly meme created by book blogger extraordinaire, Renee at It’s Book Talk. She started this weekly feature as a way to highlight old favourites and read books that have already been published.

Screen Shot 2017-09-07 at 9.27.43 AM.png

This week, I am featuring Pretty Girls by Karin Slaughter; this book had been on my “to read” shelf for well over a year and, now that I have read it, I am kicking myself for not reading it (and everything else Slaughter has written) sooner. THIS. BOOK. WAS. AMAZING.  Honestly, I went into it knowing absolutely nothing about the book. I just knew I had seen multiple reviews for it EVERYWHERE when it was released and that people said it was amazing. That was enough for me. Therefore, I am not going to give too much information about the plot and will absolutely leave this review spoiler free.

Slaughter has a distinct ability to completely grip her reader from the first pages; as soon as I read the first chapter, I knew that I was going to be in for a wild ride. Boy, was I right. A fast paced plot, multiple twists and turns and complex characters had me glued to the pages. As I was reading, I felt like I was in a battle. Part of me wanted to read as fast as I could to figure out the conclusion and tie everything together and the other part of me wanted to relish in each moment, reading slowly and enjoy Slaughter’s prose. I can say, without question, that I think Slaughter is one of the most masterful thriller writers and Pretty Girls proves it! 

Now, I am not bothered by graphic descriptions so I didn’t particularly find this one too much but I can understand why some would find this one particularly gruesome. I didn’t necessarily feel like it distracted me from the plot and, instead, I found that it helped to add something extra to the plot that added to the ominous tone and the dark and heavy nature of the story.   I felt like it was a smart choice on Slaughter’s part.

I buddy read this book with Janel from Keeper of Pages and both of us were completely blown away. Our discussion consisted of all capitals and a lot of “WHAT?!!” I know, 100% for sure, that I will be going back now to read everything written by this author. I may be late to hop on the Karin Slaughter train but I will definitely stay on board.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “Throwback Thursday: Pretty Girls (Karin Slaughter) #tbt @SlaughterKarin

Leave a Reply

