Blog Blitz: The Accident (S.D Monaghan) @bookouture @SeanMonaghan16 #blogblitz

Screen Shot 2017-09-01 at 10.16.12 PMGood morning and welcome to my neck of the blogosphere where I am hosting a section on today’s blog blitz for The Accident by S.D Monaghan!

When I read the synopsis to this novel, I was instantly intrigued. I am a huge fan of domestic thrillers and this one seemed right up my alley!

One mistake could change your life forever.

Tara has it all. Married and about to move into her dream home, she can’t explain why she is tempted by one last fling with her ex before she settles down.

David would do anything for Tara. So when he finds her with another man, his world starts to crumble around him.

Ryan isn’t prepared for the punch David throws at him. Stumbling, he slips over the balcony and falls three storeys to the patio below.

In one split second a man will be killed. In one split second David and Tara’s life will change forever.

How far would you go to save everything you have? 

I loved that the concept of this book was so simple. A mistake, that gets out of hand, and a moment in time that changes the course of every character. It really reminded me a lot of Big Little Lies by Liane Morarity; the similar idea of a small moment that steamrolls out of control. I really like books that follow this pattern; I appreciate the realism!  The plot ended up being completely different than what I first anticipated but I actually ended up liking this direction; it felt refreshing and did not follow the same framework as other domestic style thrillers.

Another thing that stuck out to me about this book was the pacing; it was very fast paced and kept me entertained throughout. I, personally, did not find there to be too many twists or turns but I still enjoyed the general direction of the story and found myself surprised once or twice.  I also found the characters to be a little bit unrelatable; they almost seemed a little bit too aloof for my liking, almost like they were stuck up.  It didn’t really change the way I read the story but I didn’t really find myself concerned about any of their plights.

Even with the small issue of characterization, overall, I still found this one to be a fast paced read that I think most people will enjoy in a single sitting!

Thanks to Bookouture, the author and Netgalley for a digital copy of this novel; it was my pleasure to provide an honest review.

Be sure to check out the other stops on the blog blitz for The Accident!

Screen Shot 2017-09-01 at 10.15.59 PM.png

One thought on “Blog Blitz: The Accident (S.D Monaghan) @bookouture @SeanMonaghan16 #blogblitz

Leave a Reply

