Blog Tour: The Law of Attraction (Roxie Cooper) @NeverlandBT

Screen Shot 2017-09-01 at 8.21.16 AM.png

Good Morning and welcome to my stop on The Law of Attraction, by Roxie Cooper, blog tour!  This morning, I am coming at you with a mini review discussing this feisty read! First, let’s take a look at the synopsis:

Screen Shot 2017-09-01 at 8.21.06 AM.png

Amanda Bentley has always dreamed of being a barrister…

But as a platinum blonde bombshell from the wrong side of town, with a perfect tan and sleek high heels, she doesn’t exactly look the part – or fit in with the brash public school boys and cold posh girls of Newcastle Crown Court’s robing room. Amanda’s never been one to back down from a challenge, and so when she wins a prestigious pupillage following law school, she’s determined to make the most of her chance – and make all her dreams come true.

Only three things stand in her way: Sid Ryder – the sexy, irresistible barrister who she absolutely cannot, under any circumstances, sleep with. At all. Marty Gregg – her smarmy law school nemesis, who she’s in direct competition with for the top job. And her big, dark secret that could jeopardise everything she’s worked so hard for.

Who said that following the laws of attraction was going to be easy…?

Perfects for fans of Legally Blonde, Lindsey Kelk and Joanna Bolouri

Blogging Banner 2

I was intrigued as soon as I saw this novel was marketed for fans of one of my favourite movies, Legally Blonde.  I love a story with a “rise from the ashes” sort of storyline, especially when it involves an underestimated female and some kick ass results in the end.    I was also blown away after I read the Roxie Cooper’s blurb at the beginning of the novel stating her past and her journey to become a lawyer herself where people were constantly telling her she didn’t look like she could be a barrister.   Needless to say, I was hooked before I even cracked the first page!!

As I began the story and was introduced to Amanda, I settled right into the story and enjoyed the ride.  Amanda is an extremely likable character with a hard past, a tough exterior and a “don’t quit” attitude.   I also found her to be quite relatable and, I think, everyone would be able to see a parallel to their own lives while reading this novel. Whether it be being told they weren’t good enough or feeling like they were constantly in an uphill battle, I feel like readers can find comfort in Amanda’s tenacious attitude and passion.  I loved watching her grow throughout the novel.

My only small complaint with this novel was that it focused pretty much directly on the stereotype storyline, which I get, that was basically the general synopsis; however, it became a little redundant to be continuously reminded of her blonde hair or how much out of the ordinary she was.

Overall, lots of laughs and heartwarming moments made this one quite enjoyable! If you like chick lit, I would pick this one up!

Blogging Banner 2

Screen Shot 2017-09-01 at 8.29.57 AM.png

About the Author:

Roxie was born and bred in Middlesbrough.  After studying Classics at University, she became a dancer in a nightclub for a few years, before going travelling and living in Australia.  When she returned, she swapped dancing on a bar, to practising at the Bar, and became a barrister for 7 years.  

It was after being constantly told “Ooh! You don’t look like a barrister!” by absolutely everyone she met, that the idea for her debut novel was born.

Roxie lives in Yarm, a pretty little market town in the North-East.  She’s a bit (lot) obsessed with Prince and spends far too much time watching him on YouTube.  Her hobbies include watching musicals, making her hair as big (and blonde) as possible, and wishing she was Buffy the Vampire Slayer.  

Thanks to Jenny from Neverland Blog Tours and the author, Roxie Cooper, for inviting me on the tour and for the digital copy of the novel; it was my pleasure to host a spot and to post an honest review!
Advertisements

2 thoughts on “Blog Tour: The Law of Attraction (Roxie Cooper) @NeverlandBT

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s