Book Review: The Demonologist- The Extraordinary Career of Ed and Lorraine Warren (Gerald Brittle)

The Demonologist.pngI am a horror movie aficionado.

I love anything that is guaranteed to scare my pants off.

Usually, I hold my own pretty easily when it comes to horror movies (and books, for that matter!) but I usually find myself covering my eyes in terror when I watch anything having to do with the occult or demons.

The last movie that genuinely horrified me was The Conjuring.

I had to sleep with the lights on for weeks.

But as any good horror movie enthusiast, I like to do my research after a watch a film claiming to be based on true events.

Ed and Lorraine Warren were people I had heard of before, but never paid too much attention to until I started my research and then I became obsessed!

The Demonologist : The Extraordinary Career of Ed and Lorraine Warren by Gerald Brittle is a biographical text written about the couple who are called in the creepiest paranormal events.

This book discusses the lives of the Warrens, their most famous cases (like the Amityville house and the Annabelle doll) and other paranormal events. It also discusses the religious process behind supernatural events.

I wasn’t 100% sure what to think when I went into this book and, really, I don’t think anyone else would really know what to think either! I feel like it would absolutely come down to religious and personal beliefs on whether or not you would find this book terrifying or absolutely ridiculous. Now, I do not want to get into a religious discussion since I talk about books, not religion, but I, myself, believe enough in the possibility of such evil to not try and bring it upon myself, so I was creeped right out.

I did find some parts very clichΓ©d and a little hokey but this was written back in the 1970s so I expected it.

Overall, if you are in any way interested in the paranormal, then I think this book would be worth the read!

 

4 thoughts on “Book Review: The Demonologist- The Extraordinary Career of Ed and Lorraine Warren (Gerald Brittle)

  1. theblondelikesbooks says:

    I really need to read this ASAP! I also am obsessed with horror movies! I really miss having a horror movie buddy to go see with with (my boyfriend isn’t a big fan of them)! We definitely need to chat about movies soon! πŸ˜€πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

