Book Review: Gone Astray (Michelle Davis) @PGCBooks @M_Davieswrites

Screen Shot 2017-07-25 at 9.41.40 PM.pngWhile I was book slumping, Chelsea (my book BFF from The Suspense Is Thrilling Me) was giving me suggestions of what I NEEDED TO READ to help me get over my struggle. One of her most highly recommended reads was Gone Astray by Michelle Davies, so, naturally, I added this one to the top of my TBR pile.

Following a Family Liaison Officer, Maggie, as she is assigned to work the case of a missing teenager, Rosie. Rosie’s parents have recently struck gold after winning the lottery; did Rosie go on her own will, was she kidnapped? Maggie must work with the family as the police tirelessly look for Rosie.   Family is ripped apart, friendships are betrayed and one thing is made clear: money cannot buy you happiness.

I have always been clear that I am a fan of an abduction story; usually, I find myself interested in stories told through the perspective of the missing person but I really did enjoy the change of pace by having the main character a Family Liaison Officer. I do not know much about them so I did find that it absolutely brought some new life into an abduction tale.

This one is a lot slower than what I am generally drawn to but I still felt like the author’s writing was fantastic enough to keep me in the moment without needing all the bells and whistles I usually love. The ending also genuinely surprised me. Davis did a fantastic job at setting up her red herrings and other twists to ensure that this one came out of left field. I was impressed!

Overall, I felt like this was just the change of pace I needed and was pleased with Chelsea’s recommendation! I will absolutely read more in this series and cannot wait to pick up the second book!

Thanks to Netgalley, PGC and the author for a digital copy of this book; it was my pleasure to provide an honest review.

 

7 thoughts on “Book Review: Gone Astray (Michelle Davis) @PGCBooks @M_Davieswrites

Leave a Reply

