Book Review: Follow You (Richard Parker) @bookouture @Bookwalter

Screen Shot 2017-07-05 at 7.03.34 AM.png

I have a serious case of FOMO (fear of missing out) so, after I read numerous posts and reviews on the blog tour for Follow You by Richard Parker (previously called, Be My Killer), I knew I had to add this one to my TBR pile. I am so glad that I did.

Totally creepy, dark and twisted, Follow You is one of those books that sticks with you and gives you chills.

Making a documentary about a viral hashtag, seemingly starting as a prank, that ends up triggering vicious attacks and allows serial killers to choose their next victim.   Hazel, the film’s director, is horrified as these murders unfold but becomes especially invested after her childhood friend becomes a victim.   What starts as a documentary soon turns into a snuff film as members of her cast and crew begin ti disappear.

The first thing that stood out for me was the originality of the plot; this was not your ordinary slasher style novel. Using the idea of social media and the way social media can manipulate and spread like wild fire, the #bemykiller hashtag felt like something that could have really happened. Any story that combines imagination with realistic events has me entranced.

From the first pages, I was intrigued. Parker opens this one up with a bang and the action continues throughout. I loved the pacing of this one. The short chapters kept me reading late into the night and the multiple narrators (both victim and not) had me on the edge of my seat. I also loved the setting; taking place in an abandoned children’s amusement park, it was the perfect place for such a creepy plot. The antagonist in this one is an absolutely vicious killer. There were several times I felt physically disgusted when I was reading some of the attacks. However, at the same time, I did find parts of this one quite redundant.  The first few kills came as shock value but the ones that followed seemed to be overdone.

Overall, I felt like Parker did an awesome job at using the terrifying idea of a serial killer rampant in a technologically savvy world to his advantage and created a pretty killer novel (see what I did there?).

 Thanks to the author, Bookouture and Netgalley for a digital copy of this novel; it was my pleasure to provide an honest review.
3 thoughts on “Book Review: Follow You (Richard Parker) @bookouture @Bookwalter

Leave a Reply

