Blog Tour: Enter the Dark (Chris Thomas) @Bloodhoundbook

Screen Shot 2017-06-26 at 6.34.24 AM.pngWelcome to my blog tour stop and Happy Publication Day to Enter the Dark, the newest heart-pounding thriller by Chris Thomas.   Today, I am coming at you with a review.

I have always been fascinated by the concept of the dark net; a place for the worst undergroundling to trade and explore their sick fantasies.   It is one of those concepts that you want to ignore but can’t help but approach with strange infatuation. This summer, one of my most anticipated reads is the August release of The Dark Net by Benjamin Percy so, needless to say, when Bloodhound Books sent me a synopsis of this Enter the Dark, it soared to the top of my TBR pile.

The novel opens in a killer way- pun intended! As soon as I flipped through the first pages, I knew that this novel would be taking me on a wild read. I dare you to read the first chapter and put this book down. It simply cannot be done. Dark, twisted and ominous, Chris Thomas knows exactly what to do to draw in his reader and hold onto to them tight!

As mentioned, the concept of this one was fascinating and the characterization of our protagonist, Joe, was spot on. Exploring the idea of the “bystander effect” and morbid curiosity, Joe is just your everyday guy who gets himself in too deep. I also loved the horrifying concept of how deep the inter-webs can actually go and how dangerous involvement with it is. Realistic and raw, the idea that you can click one too many times and end up in such a disaster had me wanting to retire my internet browsing.

I did find a few issues with the execution of the novel, but nothing major. I found the POV switched randomly occasionally and some of the many characters had me confused. But, by the end of the novel, Thomas made sure things were made clear.

If you like a thrilling read that teeters on the edge of horror, this one will interest you greatly.

2 thoughts on “Blog Tour: Enter the Dark (Chris Thomas) @Bloodhoundbook

Leave a Reply

