Book Review: Boundary: The Last Summer (Andree A. Michaud) @biblioasis

Screen Shot 2017-06-19 at 10.20.23 PM.png

When I first started blogging, I made it a mission to receive a book from Biblioasis, a publishing company in my hometown.   So, when I was approached to read Boundary: The Last Summer by Andree A. Michaud, which is publishing today, I was absolutely thrilled!  Andree A. Michaud is also a Canadian author, making this my Canadian read of the week.

This book was completely atmospheric. Michaud brilliantly captures the time period (1967) and the idyllic lifestyle of a beach town between the border of Canada and the States.   The concept it itself was completely creepy; girls brutally murdered, found in hunting traps. Even that short description alone had my skin crawling.   Told in majority through the eyes of a young girl as she watches the summer town crumble and the police work the case, this one started to remind me a little bit of Jaws. Obviously, there was no man-eating shark wreaking havoc, but the same paranoia and fear littered these pages; a town torn apart, great suspicion, danger looming and absolutely nowhere to turn.

If you want a fast-paced, beach thriller; this will not be it. This was absolutely a slower burn; it really reminded me of the Nordic Noir novels I have read previously. Relying heavily on the scenery to set the ominous tone, Michaud’s writing was reminiscent of Scandinavian crime fiction. Think the same vibe as The Bird Tribunal by Agnes Ratvan. In all honesty, this one moved so slowly, in the beginning, I almost put it down.  I struggled to get into the storyline and there were times where I thought, well this book is over my head. I was intrigued enough to keep going but lacked the patience needed. However, after about the first hundred pages, the plot moved slightly faster and I was able to settle a little more strongly into the narrative.  If you are a regular reader of Clues and Reviews, you know I love fast paced thrills, so this was not 100% what I usually read, but I absolutely appreciated the nature of Michaud’s prose.

Overall, if you are a fan of the atmospheric vibe of the Scandinavian crime genre and the ominous tone of Nordic noir, this would be a welcome and diverse addition to your collection. However, if you want something light or on-the-edge of –your-seat, this would not be it.

 Thanks to Biblioasis and the author for a copy of this novel; it was my pleasure to provide an honest review
5 thoughts on “Book Review: Boundary: The Last Summer (Andree A. Michaud) @biblioasis

Leave a Reply

