BOMG Book Review: Her Surprise Engagement (Ashlee Mallory) @entangledpub @AshleeMallory

Screen Shot 2017-06-20 at 3.25.04 PM.png

When I find myself in reading slump, I always find myself drawn to a good ol’ fashioned romance. Her Surprise Engagement by Ashlee Mallory was just what I needed to lighten my load.

Single mom, Daisy, still struggling with her divorce and financial troubles from her prior marriage wants nothing but a stress-free family vacation at her sister in law’s vacation home. This is thrown for a loop when widowed, soon-to-be Governor Jack arrives with his daughter in tow. Thinking he has booked the vacation home, there is nothing much to do but wait for the morning and deal with the mix-up. However, when the paparazzi arrives, having followed Jack, things take on a life of their own and before she knows it, Daisy finds herself in an arrangement she cannot refuse. She will pretend to be engaged to Jack and he’ll help her open the bakery she has been dreaming of.  What starts as a business agreement, soon becomes tricky, as the pair develop feelings for each other.

This is technically the fourth in this series by Ashlee Mallory; I hadn’t read any of the prior books but I had no trouble settling into the plot and could follow it quite easily. I am a sucker for a fake relationship storyline in the movies I watch and the romance I read; I love the humorous spins and the mix-ups. This one fit that mould perfectly. Humorous and heartwarming, I finished this one easily in a sitting. I loved Mallory’s easy writing style and the relationships between the characters.

The perfect palette cleanser!

Thanks to the author, the publisher and Netgalley for a digital copy of this novel; it was my pleasure to provide an honest review.
2 thoughts on “BOMG Book Review: Her Surprise Engagement (Ashlee Mallory) @entangledpub @AshleeMallory

Leave a Reply

