Blog Tour: The Silence (Katharine Johnson) @kjohnsonwrites @emmamitchellfpr

Screen Shot 2017-06-06 at 9.13.28 PM.png

Welcome to my stop on the blog tour for The Silence by Katharine Johnson.

Today, on my stop I have an author Q&A with Katharine Johnson!

Keep reading to find out about her writing process, who she would cast in the movie adaptation and her thoughts on writing festivals.

What process do you follow for your writing? Are you a planner or do you just let it flow? Straight to PC or pen and paper?

I have an ‘ideas’ garnering stage when I scribble down the basic premise and some scenes, then I start proper writing on the laptop.

Do you attend writing/author focused conferences? Which is your favourite?

I’ve been to a few author-talks but some of the literary festivals are too expensive

How many manuscripts do you have that you never submitted? Will you consider approaching your publisher with them now?

I have various half-finished ones I’d love to get back to someday but they would probably need completely rewriting.

What one piece of advice do you wish you received before you started writing? What one piece of intended good advice, wasn’t what it seemed?

I knew publishers were interested in writers with a good social media setup but I don’t think I fully appreciated what that meant and I wish I’d started building up a platform much earlier. I was once advised to send off submissions before finishing the book but my experience has shown me that the finished first draft is far from the finished book – there is so much more work to be done and something really significant might change.

What is your favourite thing about the whole writing process?

I love seeing the plot finally come together from being a jumble of ideas.

Was there a particular book that made you sit up and think ‘that’s it, I’m going to be an author too’?

I’m sure there was – probably a Barbara Vine novel.

Who do you envisage as playing your characters if your book was ever turned into a movie?

That’s hard because I see them so clearly in my head and they don’t match any actors I know. But Abby could be played by Jodie Whittaker who plays Beth in Broadchurch. James McAvoy could play James and Arthur Darvill could play Connal the hypnotherapist.

What do you consider is your greatest accomplishment?

My children

Be sure to check out the other stops on The Silence blog tour!

Screen Shot 2017-06-06 at 9.12.45 PM.png

One thought on “Blog Tour: The Silence (Katharine Johnson) @kjohnsonwrites @emmamitchellfpr

Leave a Reply

