BEHIND THE BLOG: MEET THE BLOGGER SERIES – Jen from This Mom Reads @thismom_reads

Ever wonder about the person behind the blog?  I mentioned back in January (here) that I would be starting a Meet the Blogger series.  This series will feature some of my favourite bloggers as we go behind the scenes and have them answer the questions!

Next up is Jen from This Mom Reads

Screen Shot 2017-05-30 at 8.05.22 PM.png

This is an extra special Behind the Blog post for me because Jen is actually one of my close, real life friends!   Jen and I met during teacher’s college and became fast friends (partially by choice, but also partially because I pretty much make people be friends with me and then they just sort of agree).  Jen is a new mom and still manages to read an insane amount!  She is also a member of the book club I attend and she is the only member, who without fail, always manages to finish the book.  She is also one of the only people in my real life I can send a text message to that says “I just finished this book, you need to drop everything and read it ASAP” and she does.   She also has an impeccable taste; we often browse the bookstore together and I always purchase what she recommends!

Let’s see what Jen said when she took the “hot seat” to answer my questions!

Why did you decide to join the world of book blogging?

I have always had a passion for reading. I use Goodreads religiously and love seeing recommendations from others there. I decided to start this blog as a means of sharing some of my favourite reads with a new audience. My friend Sam had started this blog last year (Clues and Reviews) and I was inspired by the fun she was having and thought I’d give it a try too. 

I also hope to connect with other readers around the world. It’s only been a couple of months, but I’ve already met some great people from different countries! I have also found some great new reads and expanded my knowledge of the blogging world.

What have been your favourite and least favourite parts of being a book blogger?

I’m new to this whole blogging world, but my favourite part so far have been the other bloggers I have connected with. It’s amazing how supportive everyone is and how quickly they embrace newcomers to the community! I cannot wait to continue to see who else I meet along the way. 

I really don’t have anything that I dislike about blogging thus far. I am only a few weeks in, so ask me in a few months ha ha 

What have been your 3 favourite books to review since you started book blogging?

It has only been a few weeks, but my favourite book thus far has been The Rules of Half by Jenna Patrick. It was so emotional and had me invested from the beginning. I also highly recommend Bear Town by Fredrik Backman and Steve Berry’s The Lost Order. 

Have you always been a reader? If not, what got you into reading?

I have been reading for as long as I can remember. When I was young I used to write my name in my books and lend them out to other kids like I had my own personal library! I had all the Babysitter’s Club books and was a huge Nancy Drew fan. I cannot remember a time when I didn’t have a book in my hand. 

Now the impossible question…what are some of your favourite books

This is tough!! I am a huge fan of the Harry Potter series and A Song of Ice and Fire. I have to say one of my all-time favourite stand alone novels is The Historian by Elizabeth Kostova (it still gives me the creeps). I also love anything and everything by John Grisham, Philippa Gregory, Jen Lancaster, Dennis Lehane and Liane Moriarty. 

Thanks for featuring me Sam!

Jen is new to this blogging world so be sure to head on over, show her some love and follow Jen on her social media accounts!

thismomreadsblog.wordpress.com

https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/13450733-jen-o

https://twitter.com/thismom_reads

https://www.instagram.com/thismomreadsblog/

One thought on “BEHIND THE BLOG: MEET THE BLOGGER SERIES – Jen from This Mom Reads @thismom_reads

Leave a Reply

