Book Review: Obsession (Amanda Robson) @AvonBooksUK

Screen Shot 2017-05-22 at 6.20.08 PM.png

How often have you been in a relationship and asked your significant other, “Do you think she’s pretty? Are you attracted to anyone else?”   A simple question, a little game and in Obsession by Amanda Robson, this is the question that destroys many lives.    The novel surrounds two married couples. Rob and Carly share a happy life with their close friends Jenni and Craig; however, nothing is so simple. Can a woman’s husband ever be just friends with someone else’s wife? Pure friends? With no ulterior motives?  This novel calls into question the simplest blocks of relationships.

 

It cannot be denied that Obsession was addicting!  I sat down to read this novel and found myself completely consumed. The pacing is what made this one stand out for me, each character gets their own chapter and their own bit of narration. Short and sweet, these quick chapters had me completely wrapped up in the plot. However,

I did find the overall plot to be a little longwinded. I continuously kept waiting for something “big” to happen, but truly, everything was forewarned and foreshadowed. This didn’t necessarily bother me, but I found myself not having anything to really look forward to.

As for the characters, I truly did not like anyone in the story. Conniving and deceptive, each character was worse than the one before. It did make for an interesting read, but I found myself cringing throughout the chapters at the character’s behaviour and their choices. I wanted to say “SMARTEN UP PEOPLE”!

I did appreciate the final pages and was surprised with how the author chose to finish the novel.

Overall, I enjoyed this read and I feel like fans of domestic and psychological thrillers will enjoy the pacing and the general storyline.

Thanks to Netgalley, the author and the publisher for a digital copy of this book; it was my pleasure to provide an honest review.
One thought on “Book Review: Obsession (Amanda Robson) @AvonBooksUK

Leave a Reply

