BOMG Book Review: The Nanny Arrangement (Rachel Harris) @RachelHarrisBks @entangledpub

Screen Shot 2017-05-14 at 6.22.30 PM.png

Welcome to another one of my “book outside my genre” reviews; I am really starting to look forward to these.  With summer approaching, I am finding myself in the mood for something light and cheery!

Every so often, I just want a truly feel good type of story. I want some fluff, I want something light and I want to know exactly what is going to happen. It really does feel nice to read something knowing the odds of someone being murdered are slim to none!

Enter, The Nanny Arrangement by Rachel Harris, a romance novel that is the second in the Country Blues series. Although the second in the series, this one reads like a Karen Clarke or Nora Roberts series where the characters intertwine in each other’s lives but there are no story arcs that continue on. You absolutely can read this as a standalone.

This particular novel follows soft spoken and shy Hannah who has been carrying a torch for her childhood friend, Deacon. Deacon, the fiddle player of an up and coming country band, asks Hannah to come on tour with them to be his son’s nanny. Hannah thinks this is the perfect opportunity for “Operation Find My Happy” and vows to win Deacon’s heart. With one friend afraid of rocking the boat and the other pushing boundaries only one thing is for sure, Taylor Swift would write a killer song about this situation!

I found Hannah to be incredibly relatable and I loved her relationship with Deacon.  Were parts of this novel corny? Of course they were! But there were also parts that made me smile from ear to ear. I think my favourite part of this book was how “simple” it was. I don’t mean simple in the actual writing, for Rachel Harris can weave a mean romance, but it was just a sweet, satisfying story. There was no giant twist or stomach-jerking cliffhanger; just a feel good read about love and taking chances.

I enjoyed this one and for sure will be going back to read the first novel in this series (and will be looking forward to the next one!!).

Thanks to the author, the publisher and Netgalley for the digital copy of this book; it was my pleasure to provide an honest review.
Leave a Reply

