BEHIND THE BLOG: MEET THE BLOGGER SERIES – Sarah from By The Letter Book Reviews @sarahhardy681

Ever wonder about the person behind the blog?  I mentioned back in January (here) that I would be starting a Meet the Blogger series.  This series will feature some of my favourite bloggers as we go behind the scenes and have them answer the questions!

Next up is Sarah from By The Letter Book Reviews

Screen Shot 2017-05-16 at 10.10.49 PM.png

Sarah has an amazing blog.  I always look forward to her reviews.  But, she doesn’t stop there, Sarah wears many hats!  Not only does she read and review for her personal blog but she is also book publicist with Bloodhound Books!  Bloodhound Books is an amazing independent publishing house and Sarah does an amazing job at promoting and organizing tours for Bloodhound titles.  Dealing with a bunch of bloggers cannot be easy but Sarah does it with ease!

Well, now that I have had my “fan girl” moment over featuring Sarah, let’s see what she said when she had her turn in the hot seat!

Why did you decide to join the world of book blogging? 

It was after joining an online book group that I first noticed book blogs. 

The group also opened my eyes to lots of new authors, self-published as well as published and made me realise just how important reviews were. After a while I decided to take the plunge and start up my own book blog and to be honest I have never looked back. I only wish I had done it years ago.

What have been your favourite and least favourite parts of being a book blogger?

My favourite has to be discovering lots of new authors to me and to help spread the word about their books. The first time I was quoted in a book was just fabulous and I couldn’t stop grinning. I’m also lucky enough to have been quoted on the back cover of 2 novels which I admit had me nearly in tears when I saw a physical copy with my own eyes. 

Another favourite part has to be making some fantastic friends in the blogging world. Without a doubt I have made some life long friends with bloggers as well as authors. 

As for the worst, I think it has to be that some people don’t understand why we do what we do. A lot of people sadly think we are biased or paid for our reviews which I can tell you that we definitely do not. We are just passionate about books and want to share the love and this is our way of doing that. 

Having to say no to authors and publishers is also my least favourite part of blogging but sadly like most bloggers, there will never be enough time for us to read everything so I can only ever say yes to so many.

What have been your 3 favourite books to review since you started book blogging?

Ooh such a tough question. I have read a lot of books so it’s really hard to narrow it down. The ones that probably spring to mind are:

A Suitable Lie by Michael j Malone

The Abattoir of Dreams by Mark Tilbury (Good choice Sarah!  I loved this one too!)

Out Of The Darkness by Katy Hogan

Have you always been a reader? If not, what got you into reading?

Yes I have always been since a very early age. I always had my head stuck in a book. When I had my children and with work life, reading sadly used to be only on a holiday. A few years back my husband bought me a kindle for Christmas which re lit my passion for reading and now I spend any free time reading.

Now the impossible question…what are some of your favourite books?

HA! I could probably fill a couple of A4 pages with favourite books, I would be here all day. There are far to many to mention and I always feel guilty if I miss someone off. There are so many talented authors out there us readers really are spoilt for choice. 

Thanks so much for taking the time to answer my questions, Sarah!  It was a pleasure to have you!

Be sure to follow Sarah on her social media!

Twitter: @sarahhardy681

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Bytheletterbookreviews/

Her Blog: https://bytheletterbookreviews.com/

10 thoughts on “BEHIND THE BLOG: MEET THE BLOGGER SERIES – Sarah from By The Letter Book Reviews @sarahhardy681

Leave a Reply

