Blog Tour: Ella’s Ice Cream Summer (Sue Watson) @bookouture @suewatsonwriter

Ella's Ice Cream Summer.png

Welcome to my stop on the blog tour for Ella’s Ice Cream Summer by Sue Watson! Today, I have a review for you!

I have been indulging in quite a few summer beach reads and this one has been one of my favourites!

Ella’s Ice Cream Summer by Sue Watson was heart-warming and hilarious. I read this one easily in one sitting as I cozied up on my couch and longed for a warmer climate!

As the novel opens, we meet the single mother, Ella, who life seems to be hitting quite hard. Jobless, loveless, basically homeless and with her children away, she is lonely!   When she receives notice that her recently deceased aunt has left her part of the family business, an ice cream parlour and café in which Ella has fond memories of, Ella packs up her belongings and heads to the seaside town of Appledore to honour her aunt’s memory and open an ice cream stand.   With some bumps along the way and some family secrets uncovered, Ella finds more than what she bargained for during her ice cream summer!

The characters in this one are amazing. Ella’s tech savvy mum had me laughing from the first few pages and once Ella arrives in Appledore she meets a free spirit solicitor, Ben, who I instantly found endearing. Ella, herself, is quite funny and charming. I found myself drawn to her story and wanted her to succeed.

I was also pleasantly surprised at the ending and loved the turn that Watson took with this plotline. I obviously will not reveal any of the twists or turns, but I applaud Watson’s decision to make Ella strong and steadfast until the end. I love a character, especially in a romantic comedy, that can stick to her guns!

If you are in the mood for a light-hearted read, I would pick this one up! I know that I will be going back to check out some of Sue Watson’s earlier work and will be anxiously awaiting the second book in the Ice Cream Summer series!

Thanks to the author (Sue Watson), the publisher (Bookouture) and Netgalley for the digital copy of this novel; it was my pleasure to provide an honest review!

Blogging Banner 4

In case you missed them, be sure to check out the other stops on the Ella’s Ice Cream Summer blog tour!

Ella's Ice Cream Summer Blog Tour Banner.png

Blogging Banner 4

About the Author:  Sue Watson

Screen Shot 2017-05-15 at 7.30.33 PM.png

Sue Watson was a journalist on women’s magazines and national newspapers before leaving it all behind for a career in TV. As a producer with the BBC she worked on garden makeovers, kitchen takeovers and daytime sofas – all the time making copious notes so that one day she might escape to the country and turn it all into a book.

After much deliberation and copious consumption of cake, Sue eventually left her life in TV to write.  After a very successful debut novel, Fat Girls and Fairy Cakes Sue signed with Bookouture.

 

 

3 thoughts on “Blog Tour: Ella’s Ice Cream Summer (Sue Watson) @bookouture @suewatsonwriter

Leave a Reply

