Blog Tour: Trust Me (Gemma Metcalfe) @gemmakmetcalfe @NeverlandBT

Screen Shot 2017-05-13 at 7.04.11 PM.png

Welcome to the final stop on the blog tour for Trust Me, by Gemma Metcalfe!  I am thrilled to be closing off the tour with a review!

This debut novel was something that I began reading not really knowing what to expect; what a novel to go in blind to! Fast paced and unputdownable, I was consumed in these pages and became completely invested in this unconventional story.

First, the narrative style of this one was completely original.   It had me on the edge of my seat.   Two people speaking to each other over the phone, one person, a telemarketer, and the other, a man in the midst of completing suicide, in present time, begin to reveal their darkest secrets to each other. As the skeletons in their closet are revealed, told in flashbacks, time begins to run out and the question remains, if you are about to die, do your secrets even matter?   Crazy right?

Told in alternating chapters and perspectives between Lana, at her call centre, desperately trying to keep this man on the phone and Liam, at home completing suicide, telling his story to someone before he dies, flowed easily and I could not flip the pages quick enough.

I did find that the middle of this on lagged a little bit; it sort of began to read a little bit like a pity party. Both characters seemed to be trying to “out do” each other with the amount of strife in their lives. I feel like the story may have worked better for me if Liam was the one dealing with the issues and Lana simply was listening; her storyline worked, don’t get me wrong, but there were points where I felt like it both characters were hosting a pity party for themselves.

However, by the time the big reveals unfolded at the end, any feelings of annoyance disappeared and I was completely impressed with Metcalfe’s ability to tie the plot together.   The one reveal in particular actually made me gasp.

I would highly recommend this novel; a seriously entertaining read!

I received a copy of this novel for review; it was my pleasure to do so honestly!

In case you missed them, be sure to head back and check out the other stops on the tour!

Screen Shot 2017-05-13 at 7.05.47 PM.png

4 thoughts on “Blog Tour: Trust Me (Gemma Metcalfe) @gemmakmetcalfe @NeverlandBT

Leave a Reply

