Blog Tour: Watching the Bodies (Graham Smith) @GrahamSmith1972 @Bloodhoundbook

Screen Shot 2017-05-06 at 9.39.39 PM.png

Welcome to my stop on the blog tour for Watching the Bodies, a Jake Boulder novel, by Graham Smith!

I have been very open on Clues and Reviews with my police procedural struggle. In general, I find them to be redundant and slow moving. However, Watching the Bodies broke all of my previous thoughts. Throughout my reading, I kept thinking to myself “this is what a police procedural style serial killer thriller is supposed to feel like!” (try saying that three times fast!).  Mind you, Boulder isn’t technically a police officer, but it was close enough.

Fast paced, suspenseful, action packed and led by a stellar, brooding protagonist (Jake Boulder), I found myself unable to put this novel down. I finished it in a single sitting.   I can tell you right now that my introduction to the work of Graham Smith will not be my last; I couldn’t get enough of Smith’s writing style!

The novel opens with Boulder helping out with a current police investigation of a vicious murder; soon, as more murders take place and a connection between the victims are made, Boulder realizes he is dealing with a serial killer.   What begins as a standard investigation quickly turns into a game of cat and mouse and only one person can make it out alive…

The characterization in this book was phenomenal. Boulder was mysterious, cocky and a little aloof, but surprisingly very likeable.   I was drawn to him immediately; I will be waiting patiently for the next Jake Boulder book (there better be a second book!!). I also loved the serial killer character, known as The Watcher, who got to narrate a few chapters and completely creep me out.

Overall, other than a few pacing issues 75% of the way into the novel, I loved every second of this book. If you are looking for a fast-paced, serial killer thriller (think Ragdoll by Daniel Cole), then you will love Watching the Bodies.

Add this one to your TBR piles folks, you will not be disappointed.

Thanks to Bloodhound Books and the author for a digital copy of this novel; it was my pleasure to provide an honest review!

Be sure to check out all the other stops on the North American end of the blog tour for Watching the Bodies!

Screen Shot 2017-05-06 at 9.43.57 PM.png

5 thoughts on “Blog Tour: Watching the Bodies (Graham Smith) @GrahamSmith1972 @Bloodhoundbook

Leave a Reply

