Behind the Blog: Meet the Blogger Series- Katie from Chickadee Book Reviews

Ever wonder about the person behind the blog?  I mentioned back in January (here) that I would be starting a Meet the Blogger series.  This series will feature some of my favourite bloggers as we go behind the scenes and have them answer the questions!

Next up is Katie from Chickadee Book Reviews!

Screen Shot 2017-05-02 at 10.29.56 PM.png

Katie is a fellow Canadian book blogger who is new to the scene!  You know that I feel strongly about Canadian content coming to my blog so I was so excited to find another Canadian blogger to feature in this series!

Keep reading to find out what Katie had to say when she took her turn in the ‘hot seat”!

Why did you decide to join the world of book blogging? 

I am an avid reader and I frequently visit book review blogs and other review websites to do a bit of research before I make new purchases. As an editorial assistant, I revise a lot of other authors’ writing, but I do not get the opportunity to do much writing of my own. I thought I might try my hand at writing some reviews to get back into writing and to try to connect with other book lovers in the review community.

What have been your favourite and least favourite parts of being a book blogger?

So far, I have really enjoyed seeing a positive response to my reviews and making connections with other individuals who have more experience with blogging and who have had some great suggestions for how to improve my own website. My least favourite part of being a book blogger is writing negative reviews! I have felt a bit guilty when posting negative comments, but I think it is very important to be completely honest in my reviews.

What have been your 3 favourite books to review since you started book blogging?

Out of the reviews, I have posted so far, I think my favourite 3 are (in no particular order):

Tenth of December (George Saunders)
The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao (Junot Díaz) and The Master and Margarita (Mikhail Bulgakov)

Have you always been a reader? If not, what got you into reading?

Yes, I have always been a big reader! Both of my parents are avid readers of a variety of genres. They passed this love of books on to me very early on and I am very grateful for the influence they have had on my reading habits.

Now the impossible question…what are some of your favourite books?

Oh, where to begin? There are so many, but some of my absolute favourites are: A Tree Grows in Brooklyn (Betty Smith), A Tale of Two Cities (Charles Dickens), The Shadow of the Wind (Carlos Ruiz Zafón), Law of Dreams (Peter Behrens), The Lost World (Arthur Conan Doyle), The Pillars of the Earth (Ken Follett) and White Noise (Don DeLillo).

Thanks so much Katie for answering my questions!

7 thoughts on “Behind the Blog: Meet the Blogger Series- Katie from Chickadee Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

