Book Hoarding: What’s Been On My Backlist the Longest?

Screen Shot 2017-01-04 at 5.43.21 PMI am a book hoarder.

I said it.

I admit it.

I embrace it.

But it still gets me into quite a bit of trouble!  I am aways buying books with the full intention of reading them right away.  And then they sit on my shelf for months years DECADES.  Danielle over at The Blonde Likes Books did this post and I figured it was time to (wo)man up and face the music.   She decided to go through her Goodreads “to read” shelf and show the 10 books that have been on her list the longest.  Helping not only with her Beat the Backlist challenge but also making some accountability happen.

So, today, I am following suit.  Here are my top 10 books that have been on my TBR shelf the longest and I am making my solemn vow to have these read by the end of this year!

Let the countdown commence!

Screen Shot 2017-04-30 at 9.03.14 PM

Screen Shot 2017-04-30 at 8.32.38 PM.png

 

Number 1: The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson

I know!  I’m awful; how can I be a lover of crime fiction without having read The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo.  I feel like a fraud.

 

Screen Shot 2017-04-30 at 9.03.14 PM

Screen Shot 2017-04-30 at 8.41.50 PM

 

Number 2: Z- A Novel of Zelda Fitzgerald

I love F. Scott Fitzgerald, so it makes sense why I would have added this one to my pile!  I forgot all about this one!

 

Screen Shot 2017-04-30 at 9.03.14 PM

Screen Shot 2017-04-30 at 8.44.43 PM.png

 

Number 3: I’ve Got Your Number by Sophia Kinsella

I loved the Shopaholic series and have read most of Kinsella’s stand-alone novels but didn’t get around to this one for whatever reason.

 

Screen Shot 2017-04-30 at 9.03.14 PM

Screen Shot 2017-04-30 at 8.44.56 PM

 

Number 4: Wedding Night by Sophie Kinsella

Another Sophia Kinsella book!  Obviously purchased around the same time, I also forgot about this one! I really need to move these to the front of my pile; Kinsella always does crack me up!

 

Screen Shot 2017-04-30 at 9.03.14 PM

Screen Shot 2017-04-30 at 8.45.04 PM.png

 

Number 5: The One & Only by Emily Giffin

I am a sucker for an Emily Giffin book.  This one I purchased when I was teaching in the North and wasn’t able to download it due to our less than stellar interest (remote communities don’t make Kindle easy!)

Screen Shot 2017-04-30 at 9.03.14 PM

Screen Shot 2017-04-30 at 8.45.16 PM.png

 

Number 6: Girls in White Dresses by Jennifer Close

I remember reading this one a Buzzfeed list for books woman MUST READ when they are in their twenties.  I am easily influenced by lists so into my cart it went.   Too bad my follow through isn’t as good once I receive the book!

Screen Shot 2017-04-30 at 9.03.14 PM

Screen Shot 2017-04-30 at 8.45.24 PM.png

 

Number 7: The Forgetting Time by Sharon Guskin

Are they making a movie or something out of this book because I have been seeing it non-stop at the bookstore lately!  If they are, that will provide me with the perfect excuse to move it to the top of my list!

Screen Shot 2017-04-30 at 9.03.14 PM

Screen Shot 2017-04-30 at 8.45.41 PM.png

 

Number 8: Pretty Girls by Karin Slaughter

I have heard countless amazing things about this book and have preemptively recommended it to several of my coworkers and yet, here it sits in my TO READ pile.  Talk about embarrassing!

 

Screen Shot 2017-04-30 at 9.03.14 PM

Screen Shot 2017-04-30 at 8.45.50 PM.png

 

Number 9: The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah

I love historical fiction from WWII; it is really some of the only historical fiction I am truly interested in.  I have not heard any bad things about this book and it is always recommended to me.  I need to make time for this one STAT!

Screen Shot 2017-04-30 at 9.03.14 PM

Screen Shot 2017-04-30 at 8.45.33 PM.png

 

Number 10: Career of Evil by Robert Galbraith

Now, this I do not understand.  I do want to read this book because, J.K Rowling, obviously I need to read anything that comes from her brain.  But, I haven’t read the other two….how this is on my Goodreads before the first couple I will never know.

 

Screen Shot 2017-04-30 at 9.03.14 PM

Well, there we go!  The books that have been on my TBR shelf the longest and now that I have publically announced them, I have no choice but to follow through!

Have you read any of these books? Any of them worth my attention immediately?!

What has been on your TBR shelf the longest?  I’d love to know!

57 thoughts on “Book Hoarding: What’s Been On My Backlist the Longest?

  1. Zoe says:

    Love this post. I really have to do this as well. I also have “Z”, “Pretty Girls” and “The Nightingale on a book shelf around here waiting to be read. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Keeper of Pages says:

    Sam sort your life out woman 😱 How have you not read The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo!! 😂😂 That needs to be read asap, in fact the entire series does, then watch the films, the originals with subtitles- not the fake US versions lol.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Brandie says:

    You will not be disappointed by The Nightingale. It is one of the best books I’ve ever read. My One and Only is also really good!

    I’m so horrible at buying books and then not reading them for years, if ever!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Jo says:

    The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo is amazing, and I can’t believe that you haven’t read it! Career of Evil is also brilliant – I love that whole series 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Yvo says:

    The Nightingale and The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo are both great reads! And I have Pretty Girls on my TBR as well (and Career Of Evil, but I still have to read book two). Good luck with these!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Tina Woodbury says:

    The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo is a must! I read the whole series and just noticed that there is a 5th book coming out in Sept!!
    The Nightingale is one of my all-time favorites, that is one not to be missed.
    I loved Career of Evil, I thought it was the best of the three to date. This is one of those series that gets better and better in my opinion.
    The Kinsella books look interesting, I will have to look into reading those two myself

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Hayley at RatherTooFondofBooks says:

    I read The Poisonwood Bible this year after it had been on my bookcase ever since it was published about 20 years ago (oops!). I’ve moved house 3 or 4 times, and taken it with me but didn’t read it until recently! I’ve got all my books on Goodreads but I do have quite a few TBR books that I owned for ages before I got GR so I think I’d be mortified to do this post. I admire you for sharing the books you’ve owned longest though – I hope you get to read them soon, and that you love them.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. RamblingLisa says:

    I own a couple of thousand books that were mostly bought for the ‘I’ll read it someday’ factor…I am still waiting on that ‘someday’ to surface for the majority of them. I couldn’t even do a post like this!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. lostartofreadingblog says:

    Looks like you have some good ones coming up, I really liked Girl With The Dragon Tattoo. My mom just gave me some books of mine that have been at her house for a while, so I guess His Dark Materials series would be my oldest.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

