Weekly Wrap Up: April 22, 2017

screen-shot-2017-01-04-at-5-43-21-pmWell, it’s that time of the week again!

Weekly Wrap Up is the post where I share my general blog updates, my latest Netgalley approvals, my posts from the past week and a wrap up of my top “bookstagram” posts.

What. A Week.

I worked several twelve (and thirteen!) hour days and then had a major blogging snafu! Keep reading for updates and all my blogging news from the last week.

Blog Update:

In last week’s wrap-up, I talked a bit about the dreaded “blogger burnout” that I had been experiencing.   I ended up spending several hours throughout the Easter weekend scheduling my reviews and preparing for the upcoming week.  I figured I’d be smooth sailing….boy, was I wrong!

On Thursday, I noticed that my beloved MacBook was lagging significantly and wasn’t really holding a charge.  I didn’t really think much of it as I went about my busy day. After coming home, I dragged myself to bed and plugged in my laptop.  The next morning, nothing would turn on.  No charge light and the computer was dead.  Thinking it was the electrical outlet, I tried about 15 more in my house before realizing it was a broken charger, a defective battery or, in fact, my laptop had just finally called it quits after doing ten years of my bidding.

So, obviously, I panicked and burst into tears.   Not only did the computer have all my blogging things and book reviews but also all my teaching resources, pictures, files from university.  It was just an all out mess.

Luckily, it only ended up being the charger! Crisis averted.  It also will need a replacement battery but at least I was able to turn on the computer this morning and back up all my files.

Netgalley Approvals:

Once again, another huge hunk of my pending titles were approved at the same time. I am really liking the mix of books I am currently planning on reading.  A little historical fiction, some summer chick lit and some of my good ol’ crime fiction will keep me guessing (I hope!)

 

Book of the Week: 

My highlight of the week was The Trophy Child by Paula Daly; I loved this book!  It was a story with a little bit of everything and truly was an on the edge of your seat style read.

Check out my review for this one HERE

Screen Shot 2017-04-19 at 8.15.26 PM

POSTS FROM THIS WEEK:

I took part in Spring Reading Week with Authoright

#cjsreads read Change Agent by Daniel Suarez

I read The Girl from Yesterday that had one of the most irritating protagonists I have ever experienced.

I did my first Top Ten Tuesday post!

BOOKSTAGRAM POSTS:

I got quite the amount of book mail this week; I am so excited to get into some of this reading!  I mean, I always feel like cuddling up with a good book, but there is something about the spring weather that makes me want to read extra!

 

And that pretty much sums up the week!

 Feel free to follow me on Instagram, Twitter and Goodreads!

Happy Reading!

12 thoughts on “Weekly Wrap Up: April 22, 2017

  1. mikaela says:

    Glad to see that it was just your charger! I remember my old crappy laptop ate up one of my stories when I was younger and I cried so hard. 😂 My old laptop broke down years ago, so ten years is actually pretty good!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Zuky the BookBum says:

    Aw that lil doggo is too cute!
    I read The White Road this week, my review is gonna be out on publication day, but I gave it a 5 stars! I really loved it! I will definitely look out for your review on that one, I cant wait to see what you think!

    Like

Leave a Reply

