BEHIND THE BLOG: MEET THE BLOGGER SERIES- Debby from alwaysbooking @alwaysbooking

Ever wonder about the person behind the blog?  I mentioned back in January (here) that I would be starting a Meet the Blogger series.  This series will feature some of my favourite bloggers as we go behind the scenes and have them answer the questions!

Next up is Debby from alwaysbooking!

Screen Shot 2017-04-18 at 12.09.37 PM.png

Debby is a stellar person and an awesome blogger!  She has a post that I look forward to each week called New Friend Friday where she features different blogs; I always end up following them!

Let’s see what she had to say when she took a turn in the hot seat!

Why did you decide to join the world of book blogging? 
Interestingly enough it was at the suggestion of an author.  I had been leaving reviews on Goodreads, Amazon, and Barnes and Noble for a couple of years when an author had kindly suggested I try my hand at blogging.  I really doubted I could do it and my husband being the great supportive man he is said “go for it!” So I did… and have been at it for almost 2 years now which is crazy because I feel like it hasn’t been that long.  
What have been your favourite and least favourite parts of being a book blogger?
Ok… favorite part is easy making the most amazing friends.  Seriously you guys are amazing, some of you and I chat to daily via text, Instagram, or Twitter. (Before you, I didn’t even know you could message on Instagram or Twitter).  Some of you I chat to in comments on your blog or mine, and I enjoy it immensely.  Bookish friends are few and far between and I am so glad that I have found so many while blogging!!
Least favorite part is feeling like I have let any of my fellow bloggers/followers down when I don’t post enough or when my review is not up to par. We are our own hardest critics I know.  I really try not to let it get to me when I get in a slump and can’t post enough.
What have been your 3 favourite books to review since you started book blogging?
Furiously Happy by Jenny Lawson 
This book proved to me I am not alone with any of my mental illnesses, none of us are alone.  It was one of those books that I made my husband read every tabbed page and he actually laughed with me…
Pull Me Close by Sidney Halston
Finally an honest to goodness romance book where the main female character is overcoming an anxiety disorder amongst other mental illnesses.  Meets a guy and he doesn’t save the day or “cure” her.  I loved this book, I cannot express that enough! 
Have you always been a reader? If not, what got you into reading?
I have always been a reader, I started reading young. I remember reading Little House on the Prairie while visiting my grandma because she owned them, now I own her copies.  Then onto the Saddle Club, Babysitters Club, and Goosebumps. I was obsessed with The Scarlett Letter in Highs school, loved English class and always read ahead of the required reading.  I remember when dating Mr. Tough Guy he would come over to watch a movie.  He would watch the movie and I would sit next to him and read a library book.  That set up the whole basis for our relationship.
Now the impossible question…what are some of your favourite books?
This is a killer question … you know that right?  Okay obviously I’m picking Harry Potter I’m not sure many wouldn’t.  I will also pick Montana Sky by Nora Roberts I re-read that book once a year at least.  The Red Rising Trilogy by Pierce Brown.  The Great Coats by Sebastien De Castell (is turning into an all-time favorite series fast!).  The Billionaire Bachelor Series by Jessica Lemmon.  The Lucky Harbor Series by Jill Shalvis.    I seriously could go on and on.. I’m probably missing a thousand books!
So glad to have Debby on Clues and Reviews today.  Be sure to follow her on her social media (and it is her birthday, which I’m sure she will be so annoyed that I am stating, so make sure to wish her a HAPPY BIRTHDAY!)
and of course, her blog
12 thoughts on “BEHIND THE BLOG: MEET THE BLOGGER SERIES- Debby from alwaysbooking @alwaysbooking

  1. LairOfBooks says:

    Awww! A fave of mine! Lady Debby! Screaming *Happy Happy Birthday*!!! & also I legit squealed when I read you were obsessed with The Scarlet Letter in High School cuz SO WAS I!!!! & of course your love of Pierce Brown does not go unnoticed *whoop whoop* also I agree, picking a favorite book is like picking a favorite child…welllll…JK lol 😉

    Liked by 2 people

    • alwaysbooking says:

      haha Thanks Lilly 😀 It was probably an unhealthy obsession with the Scarlet Letter… I don’t think my mom was to pleased lol. I love Pierce Brown and was so sad that the release of his new book got pushed back 😦 but I will patiently/not so patiently wait for it to be released!

      Liked by 2 people

      • LairOfBooks says:

        In hindsight…maybe my obsession wasn’t so healthy either 🤣🤣🤣 then again under my copy of Goosebumps I also hid some random romance novel…my idea of acting grown back then lol. I was also sad about Golden Son but now we get an EPIC way to start 2018 😉💕

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

