Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Things That Will Make Me Instantly Want to Read A Book

Screen Shot 2017-01-04 at 5.43.21 PMWelcome to my first Top Ten Tuesday post!

Top Ten Tuesday an original feature that was created and hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.  Essentially, for each week the list is a new topic and the feature is designed to share lists with other bookish folks!  I love reading these posts and it’s a fun way to get to know your fellow bloggers, so I’m taking it on!!

Keep reading to see what the top ten things make me instantly want to read a book!

1. “Ride or Die” Authors:

I have a few authors that I will read their book regardless of the content or how crowded my bookshelves are. Truly, these authors could write a series of pizza toppings that they enjoy and I would purchase that list.  I. am. such. a. sucker.

If Tess Gerritsen writes it?  Sign me up!

If Ania Ahlborn writes it?  Yup!

If Jodi Picoult writes it?  Yes, Please!

If Emily Giffen writes it?  It’s already in my Amazon cart

Peter Swanson, Hollie Overton, Josh Malerman….someone stop me!!!

2.  Blogger Recommendation

If I am seeing it consistently (or if my blogger friends are talking about) then I have to have it.  Call it a serious case of FOMO…

Special shout out to Chelsea, Janel, Amy, Kate and Danielle for ruining any chances I have at getting ahead of my TBR pile!

3. If it is written by a Canadian author

I have a special place in my heart for Canadian Literature.  If I find out the author is Canadian, I usually end up buying the book.  I have to support my fellow Canadians!

4. If there is lots of hype 

Again, call it a serious case of FOMO, but as soon as a book has significant hype around it, I will fall for that hook line and sinker.  I don’t often share the same views, but I don’t want to miss out on the conversation.

5. If it is going to be adapted

Similar to the hype, if a book is going to be adapted into a film or television show, I have to read the book ASAP.  I would never want to go into a movie or T.V show without having read the book first.

Why?

Because I am a glutton for punishment.

I have an issue with all page to screen adaptations.  Nothing is ever as good as the book.  Therefore, I need to read the book first so I can be riled up and whisper to my fiance throughout our viewing how much better the book was.

6. If it is published by Bookouture

Bookouture has some stellar fiction that they publish; from crime thrillers to feel good comedies, I have never been disappointed with a book I have read from them.

7. If it is published by Orenda

Orenda is another publishing house that published absolute gold.  I never have any issues diving into their books and being thoroughly entertained.

8.  If it is a psychological thriller

Genre wise?  If it is being marketed as a psychological thriller, I would instantly have to read it.

9. If I read other books in that particular series

I cannot read things out of order (THE STRUGGLE IS REAL) and I don’t like leaving things unfinished, so if I pick up one book from a series, rest be assured I would have to read them all.

10. I am trying to be a literary rebel

I find myself doing this one often.  When I am trying to be a literary rebel, I choose books I wouldn’t normally read just because I FEEL LIKE IT!  I don’t usually read romance, but if I see one on a shelf, I may just buy it because I want something different.

I have been doing this a lot lately!

Well there ya have it, the completely logical reasons that will make me instantly want to read a book!

Any similarites?  What makes you want to read a book?

23 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Things That Will Make Me Instantly Want to Read A Book

  1. BrizzleLass says:

    Haha I’m the complete opposite with hyped books, unless I get in early I completely lose the will to pick them up if they become too hyped. I’ve actually got a couple of books in my charity bag right now that I removed from my shelf for that exact reason! 😂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Didi Oviatt - Author says:

    I love that you mentioned Ania Ahlborn as one of your can’t pass up authors!!! Also the adapted books! I have been known to make my husband turn right back around at the door if he has come home with a rented movie that I’m yet to read the book! If it’s a freshly released movie, or there is about to be a movie made, then I HAVE to read the book first or else it will drive me insane 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. mikaela says:

    Oh, yeah, I love some psychological thrillers! Still probably my favorite sub-genre of thrillers. And, yeah, if there’s a lot of hype for a book, and then I continually see stellar reviews from other blogger friends, I’ll usually end up adding it to my TBR even when I didn’t originally want to. XD And yep, I have Ride or Die authors, but I’ll also pick up a thriller if it’s written by someone popular? Like, there are some authors where I haven’t liked/read their previous books, but I’ll still add them to the TBR because they’re household names, like Paula Hawkins or Mary Kubica!

    Like

  4. Susan (Bloggin' 'bout Books) says:

    Jodi Picoult is an auto-read author for me, too. I love how she takes a hot issue and explores it from different viewpoints. It really helps me to see an issue in a more open-minded way. I also love psychological thrillers although, obviously, some are better than others.

    Happy TTT (on a Wednesday)!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. thislittlechinacup says:

    I liked this post! Psychological thrills yusss. Have you read Ruth Ware? Specifically, In a Dark Dark Wood? 🤓

    For me, any book in YA that is about the summer with some girl being on vacation at the beach is always something I’ll pick up. I just like beachy reads I think. And eccentric characters. Books with eccentric characters that have a tragic past or something. 👍🏻

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

