Behind the Blog: Meet the Blogger Series- Janel from Keeper of Pages @keeperofpages

Ever wonder about the person behind the blog?  I mentioned back in January (here) that I would be starting a Meet the Blogger series.  This series will feature some of my favourite bloggers as we go behind the scenes and have them answer the questions!

Next up is Janel from Keeper of Pages 

Screen Shot 2017-04-12 at 9.02.53 AM

This stop on the series is extremely close to my heart as Janel was my first blogging friend.  When I first started blogging, Janel reached out almost immediately and we became fast friends!  She is always there when I am feeling overwhelmed with my neverending TBR pile and has often helped me make a plan to combat it (even though I never follow it…oopsie.  Sorry Janel!)  Not only is she a fantastic human being, but she also has a killer blog with stellar reviews!  She has never let me down in her recommendations!   She is always quick to let me know about a five star read or something guarenteed to get me out of the dreaded book slump!

Keep reading to find out what Janel had to say about her blogging journey and her most recommended reads!

Why did you decide to join the world of book blogging? 

Writing reviews is something, believe it or not, I really struggle with; I used to review the odd book on Goodreads, starting a blog was a good way to push myself to write reviews for the books I’ve read, my thought process – no review – no blog content! Low and behold, I started a blog and I started seeing memes, features and booktags but I still try to keep the majority of my content as book reviews. I was toying with the idea but still not convinced, it was only really once I discovered Kate @ Bibliophile Book Club’s blog that I decided to go for it. I was in awe of Kate’s blog, look and content, and I knew starting a blog was the right move and hey presto, Keeper of Pages was born.

What have been your favourite and least favourite parts of being a book blogger?

My favourite part of being a book blogger is definitely being a part of the community, meeting so many fellow book lovers, such a friendly and welcoming community. Funnily enough, my favourite thing is also my least favourite thing – why do you all live in different locations all over the world!!?? There’s quite a few bloggers I’ve met that I now consider friends, and we’d so be meeting for coffee if it wasn’t for the Atlantic Ocean!

What have been your 3 favourite books to review since you started book blogging?

In no particular order:

The Wolf Road by Beth Lewis

Deep Down Dead by Steph Broadribb

Method 15/33 by Shannon Kirk

I rated all three book five stars and when I look back at these reviews, I laugh (in a good way) about the passion that is conveyed in these reviews, I was definitely ‘all caught up’ in my bookish feelings when I wrote these.

Have you always been a reader? If not, what got you into reading?

I can remember when I was younger, I’d travel to the local library with my sister  and we’d spend the whole day there reading, and then check out the maximum books allowed, I think it was eight books, and read them all that week and then do it all over again the following weekend. Reading has always been a part of my life, my form of escape. In my younger days, I used to read all genres, but in the last ten years, crime fiction became ‘my all’ but I do still dabble in other genres!

Now the impossible question…what are some of your favourite books?

 

The three mentioned above that I enjoyed reviewing and A Judgement in Stone by Ruth Rendell, The Girl in the Red Coat by Kate Hamer, The Kind Worth Killing by Peter Swanson, False Hearts by Laura Lam, Dark Water by Robert Bryndza, The Book Thief by Markus Zusak, Girl at War by Sara Novic, Birdbox by Josh Malerman. My first love in the crime genre was [insert title here] by Martina Cole, the queen of crime drama was my very first auto-buy author, I read all her books religiously, I detect some re-reads coming on…

13 thoughts on “Behind the Blog: Meet the Blogger Series- Janel from Keeper of Pages @keeperofpages

Leave a Reply

