Friday Finds #19: April 7, 2017

screen-shot-2016-11-25-at-9-09-29-am

Friday Finds (a feature originated by Jenn at Books and A Beat) showcases the most interesting books that I have encountered during the last week and have added to my TBR wish list on Goodreads.

I am constantly adding titles to my never-ending TBR list and I can’t wait to share them with people.

Check out my newest and most wanted additions (or editions?…see what I did there!)

So, as mentioned several times recently, I am adding in more “whatever” books to my line ups for some variation.   This week, I came across a few crime books and several others in different genres that I added to my TBR piles.

Single Minded by Lisa Daily

Screen Shot 2017-04-06 at 10.24.25 PM.png

Description: 

Alex has planned and executed her life with laser focus since she first met her future husband at the play-doh table on the first day of kindergarten. They have a terrific life, a gorgeous house on the bay, and fantastic careers they love. There’s only one problem: Alex’s husband Michael is gay, a fact he neglected to mention in the 23 years since they first met.

Now, Alex’s perfectly planned life has completely fallen apart, her biological clock is starting to feel like the timer on a nuclear device, and she finds herself drooling over her completely-dreamy-but-definitely-off-limits client, a star chef opening a hot new restaurant. Armed with dating guidance from her oddball collection of advisers—including her gay ex-husband, a foul-mouthed political consultant, a perkily masochistic yogi, and a pot-smoking octogenarian—Alex navigates the booby-trapped world of modern dating, in her search for a second chance at love.

I love the cover of this one and the synopsis seems fantastic.  I think this one feels like it would be the perfect relaxing read! 

The Summer House by Hannah McKinnon

Screen Shot 2017-04-06 at 10.24.35 PM.png

Description: 

When Flossy Merrill summons her children to the beloved family beach house to celebrate their father’s eightieth birthday, both cherished memories and long-kept secrets come to light in this charming and lyrical novel from the author of The Lake Season and Mystic Summer.

Flossy Merrill has managed to—somewhat begrudgingly—gather her three ungrateful grown children from their dysfunctional lives for a summer reunion at the family’s Rhode Island beach house. Clementine, her youngest child and a young mother of two small children, has caused Flossy the most worry after enduring a tragically life-altering year. But Samuel and his partner Evan are not far behind in their ability to alarm: their prospective adoption search has just taken a heart-wrenching turn. Only Paige, the eldest of the headstrong Merrill clan, is her usual self: arriving precisely on time with her well-adapted teens. Little does her family know that she, too, is facing personal struggles of her own.

No matter. With her family finally congregated under one seaside roof, Flossy is determined to steer her family back on course even as she prepares to reveal the fate of the summer house that everyone has thus far taken for granted: she’s selling it. The Merrill children are both shocked and outraged and each returns to memories of their childhoods at their once beloved summer house—the house where they have not only grown up, but from which they have grown away. With each lost in their respective heartaches, Clementine, Samuel, and Paige will be forced to reconsider what really matters before they all say goodbye to a house that not only defined their summers, but, ultimately, the ways in which they define themselves. Featuring McKinnon’s “sharp and evocative” (Kirkus Reviews) voice, this warm-hearted novel is perfect for fans of Elin Hilderbrand and Mary Alice Monroe.

Elin Hilderbrand is one of my favourite authors to read in the summer or when I need a nice break from all my regular doom and gloom.  As soon as I saw that this book was perfect for Hilderbrand fans, I added it to my pile!

The Crucifix Killer by Chris Carter

Screen Shot 2017-04-07 at 12.45.04 PM.png

Description:

When the body of a young woman is discovered in a derelict cottage in the middle of Los Angeles National Forest, Homicide Detective Robert Hunter finds himself entering a horrific and recurring nightmare. Naked, strung from two parallel wooden posts, the victim was sadistically tortured before meeting an excruciatingly painful death.

All the skin has been ripped from her face – while she was still alive. On the nape of her neck has been carved a strange double-cross: the signature of a psychopath known as the Crucifix Killer. But that’s impossible. Because two years ago, the Crucifix Killer was caught and executed. Could this therefore be a copycat killer? Or could the unthinkable be true?

Is the real killer still out there, ready to embark once again on a vicious and violent killing spree, selecting his victims seemingly at random, taunting Robert Hunter with his inability to catch him? Hunter and his rookie partner are about to enter a nightmare beyond imagining.

Emma from damppebbles talked about this series when she was featured on my blog; so, obviously, I HAD to add them to my TBR pile.  They look amazing!!!  I am always a fan of any serial killer type thriller and am looking forward to trying out a new series!

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “Friday Finds #19: April 7, 2017

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s