Book Review: The Weekend Girls (John Burke) @EndeavourPress

Screen Shot 2017-04-03 at 4.39.26 PMGillian cannot help but be flattered when she believes a middle-aged man from her daily train commute is staring at her. That is until she disappears and her best friend, Meg, begins to suspect foul play and that this unassuming man may have something to do with her disappearance. As Meg digs deeper into Gillian’s habits and sees the mysterious man with a new girl, Meg finds herself in the middle of a deadly charade….

The Weekend Girls by John Burke was a book that instantly hooked me with its synopsis. I really like the general premise and, to be completely honest, it reminded me a bit of I See You by Clare Mackintosh. The idea of the women on the train and then their disappearance resonated a lot with that plot. And, having enjoyed that, I figured I would give this one a go. Unfortunately, I was not a fan of the execution of the plot or the involvement of the characters.

I didn’t feel particularly invested to any of the characters and that made it very difficult to become immersed in the plot.  The writing felt a little “choppy” and none of the characters felt fully developed. I wasn’t able to connect with any of their backstories or their plights.   They didn’t feel particularly believable or relatable.  For me, completely based on personal preference, I like my novels to be character driven.

Unfortunately, not a whole heck of a lot stood out for me with this one.   I ended up rating this one a 2/5 stars Goodreads.

Thanks to Netgalley, the publisher and the author for a digital copy of this novel; it was my pleasure to provide an honest review.

 

One thought on “Book Review: The Weekend Girls (John Burke) @EndeavourPress

Leave a Reply

