Behind the Blog: Meet the Blogger Series- Emma from damppebbles @damppebbles

Ever wonder about the person behind the blog?  I mentioned back in January (here) that I would be starting a Meet the Blogger series.  This series will feature some of my favourite bloggers as we go behind the scenes and have them answer the questions!

Next up is Emma from damppebbles!

Screen Shot 2017-04-04 at 9.54.05 PM.png

If you don’t follow damppebbles already, you are seriously missing out!   Emma writes the most amazing reviews; I always enjoy what she writes and her opinions are spot on!

Let’s see what Emma had to say when she took the hot seat and answered some of my questions!

Why did you decide to join the world of book blogging? 

I needed a hobby.  I’d always been an avid reader and wanted something that was both book related and creative.  At the start of 2016 I’d been following one blogger in particular for a while when inspiration suddenly struck and I felt confident enough to give it another go.  It helped that my husband was behind me 100% as well.  I’ve not looked back since.  It was exactly the right thing for me to do at exactly the right time.  Believe me when I say I’ve not managed to stick at any other hobby for more than a few months…

What have been your favourite and least favourite parts of being a book blogger?

My favourite thing is the people.  There is such a wonderful community of book loving people out there who are more than happy to help, answer questions and offer advice when you need it.  I also love that I’ve read books that I maybe wouldn’t have done otherwise.

The worst thing is trying to not compare yourself to others (which I find virtually impossible!). 

What have been your 3 favourite books to review since you started book blogging?

Oh wow, what a question!  I’m particularly proud of my review of HEX by Thomas Olde Heuvelt.  Being a horror novel, and a literary horror novel at that, it was a completely different read for me.  When I started to write the review though the words just flowed.  Absolutely love it when that happens.

My favourite book of last year was A Suitable Lie by Michael J Malone.  Again, that was a joy to read and one where I found I was writing my review in my head as the story unfolded on the pages in front of me.

My third choice has to be The Optician’s Wife by Betsy Reavley.  I was one of the first bloggers to read this book and I just fell head over heels in love with it.  It’s also my most viewed post on the blog (if you ignore a rather fabulous author guest post!)

Have you always been a reader? If not, what got you into reading?

Always!  I remember reading Sweet Valley Twins books as a child, then Sweet Valley High.  In my teens I was obsessed with Terry Pratchett books and much to my parents displeasure spent an entire vacation with my nose in the Discworld novels.  Then I discovered crime and fell completely in love with the genre.  Now it’s all I read!

Now the impossible question…what are some of your favourite books?

Aarrggh, always such a difficult question to answer!  My very favourite book is Messiah by Boris Starling.  My favourite author at the moment is the incredibly talented Chris Carter who writes the brilliant Robert Hunter series (if you haven’t discovered this series yet, you must!).  More recently I have loved Love You to Death by Caroline Mitchell.  I can’t wait for the second DS Ruby Preston book to be published.  The Kind Worth Killing by Peter Swanson is perfection.  I adore Robert Bryndza’s Erika Foster series, Angela Marson’s Kim Stone series, Flowers for the Dead by Barbara Copperthwaite and Tara Lyons’s DI Hamilton series is also superb.  So many fantastic books but I should probably stop now…. 

Be sure to check out Emma on her social media!

b: www.damppebbles.com
f: facebook.com/damppebbles
t: twitter.com/damppebbles
i: instagram.com/damppebbles
g: goodreads.com/damppebbles

Thanks so much for taking part Emma…now I need to rush off and add every book she mentioned to the top of my TBR pile!  So much for my April book ban….

22 thoughts on “Behind the Blog: Meet the Blogger Series- Emma from damppebbles @damppebbles

Leave a Reply

