BOMG Book Review: Maybe Someday (Colleen Hoover) @AtriaBooks

Screen Shot 2017-04-03 at 3.23.18 PM.pngOn her 22nd birthday, Sydney’s idyllic world is shattered when she discovers an affair between her best friend and her boyfriend. With nowhere else to go, she finds herself in a strange living arrangement with a musician, Ridge, across the hall and his roommates. As Sydney and Ridge begin to write music together and their attraction grows, Sydney cannot help but hope that maybe someday…

Another Book Outside My Genre (BOMG) review today with Maybe Someday, a contemporary romance/new adult novel by Colleen Hoover!  This is the second novel I have read by Hoover and I totally get why people are obsessed with this author. Her writing style is easy and absorbing; it is not hard to become completely lost in the story and the characters and before you know it, hours have gone by.

I started this one on a lazy Sunday morning and couldn’t put it down.

The novel opens with Sydney, out in the rain and shocked after finding out about her boyfriend’s infidelity. When she receives a text from Ridge, the neighbour across the way that she has only spoken to through messaging, she is left with no other choice than accept his invitation and stay at his apartment while she figures things out. As their friendship grows and their romance blossoms, Hoover intensifies this narrative with some serious roadblocks and duelling perspectives from both Sydney and Ridge as their fight their feelings and try to settle into a friendship.

Now this novel gave me some mixed feelings. I loved the character of Ridge; he was complex and very interesting but I found Sydney to be a little irritating.   I loved watching the story between Ridge and Sydney as it unfolded. However, I, personally, found some of the story to be a bit “juvenile” but, let’s get real, I wasn’t reading this novel expecting the next literary great; so what do I care anyways?

Did I agree completely with the way the story went down? No.

Did I find myself completely sucked into the story? Absolutely.

So, like my last Colleen Hoover experience, I am not 100% sold on the actual narrative but I cannot deny that this woman knows how to write fully commanding stories.  I will continue to read them. I will continue to enjoy them. They will be my ultimate guilty pleasure read!

 

 

4 thoughts on “BOMG Book Review: Maybe Someday (Colleen Hoover) @AtriaBooks

Leave a Reply

