Book Review: Watching Edie (Camilla Way) @CamillaLWay @BerkleyPub

Screen Shot 2017-03-27 at 9.33.56 PM.pngEdie has spent most of her life looking over her shoulder. At thirty-three, a new mum and alone, she soon becomes overwhelmed with motherhood and turns to the exact person she has been running from.

Watching Edie, by Camilla Way, had been in my TBR pile for quite some time. It was recommended to me consistently, so obviously, I decided to forgo my reading schedule and move this to the top of the pile. This one, instantly, gave me serious Fatal Attraction vibes but with a twist. I was all about it.

The novel opens with Edie’s past revisiting her in the form of her high school best friend, Heather. We know something tore them apart. We sense that maybe there was more than platonic feelings on Heather’s end. We know that she will not take no for an answer. As the plot unfolded, I found myself filled with all sorts of rage. I didn’t know whether or not love Edie or to her. I didn’t know if I should trust Heather or send some subliminal book warnings out in hope’s that the characters would hear me. I couldn’t put the book down as I became completely lost in their world.

The novel is told through a back and forth narrative style where the reader sees what is happening in the present and how the past unfolded.     I loved this narrative style; I was hooked trying to figure out how all these pieces would fit together. Camilla Way knows how to do psychological thrillers right.

Overall, I loved this book and easily consumed it in an afternoon. I would recommend this one to someone who wants an easily digested, quick psychological thriller.   I rated it a 4/5 stars on Goodreads.

 

4 thoughts on “Book Review: Watching Edie (Camilla Way) @CamillaLWay @BerkleyPub

Leave a Reply

