Sitting Down With Sherri Smith: Author of Follow Me Down #authorq&a @SL_Smith_ @TORBOOKS

 

Whenever I find an author who is from Canada or lives in Canada, I basically do a joyous happy dance!  Needless to say, when I found out that Sherri Smith lives in Canada, I needed to have her on Clues and Reviews!  Keep reading to find out what she had to say about switching from historical fiction to thrillers, who she’s cast in a Follow Me Down movie and life in general!

Full disclaimer:  she is hilarious and I am going to make her be my best friend.  That is all. 

Your previous novels were historical fiction, what made you make the switch to writing a thriller?  Was it difficult to make that jump?

You know what? It wasn’t difficult at all. It was a relief. Don’t get me wrong; I love reading about history especially what daily life looked like in any given era but when it came to writing about it, this love didn’t translate well. In fact it probably made things worse. I was way too preoccupied with getting the historical time period just right and writing quickly became too stifling and clinical for me. I started to avoid it. I just wasn’t happy anymore and it was time to move on.

Not to mention both of my historical fiction novels are on the darker side, especially the second one, and they weren’t exactly fitting in with the expectations of the genre. So I’d been heading in this direction long before I realized it.

If you could tell your readers three things about Follow Me Down, what would they be?

Good question! Hmmm…how do I do this? Only three things, huh? Follow Me Down is a suspense novel, about twins in trouble, and there are pills. How’s that? I can’t believe I don’t have a thriving career in marketing?! Yes, you may call me Don Draper from here on out.

If you were to cast Follow Me Down for a movie, which actors/actresses would you cast?

Lucas is easy. Mia actually references that all her twin would need to go as Thor for Halloween is a Styrofoam hammer.  So I’m going say real-life Thor, Chris Hemsworth. (Plus everyone would come out to see the movie then too.)

For Mia, I’m going to go with Tatiana Maslany because she’s from around these parts and is there anything she can’t do as an actor?!

Mimi is a tough one. I have her face in my mind, but can’t think of anyone to play her. Possibly Lady Gaga, aged with stage make-up (I loved her frostiness in American Horror and maybe I’d get to meet her.)

I’d also like to have a writer’s cameo appearance playing Angry Resident #4.

Do you read your book reviews? How do you deal with bad or good ones?

I do! And I want to say here, yet again, how in awe I am of book bloggers. I really can’t express my gratitude to all of you, who have read my book and then took the time out of your busy lives to write out your positive thoughts. And then share them?! Really, you’re a gift to writers! I am so grateful and I want to reach through the screen and give you all a hug.

As for getting good reviews, I nod my head and think, wow, that reviewer is probably THE smartest person on the Internet! When I read a bad one, I think the opposite about that reviewer. Just kidding. I have thick skin, and if the bad review is insightful and well-written then I will certainly take note.  

 

What is your favourite crime fiction novel that you have read in the last year?

I couldn’t narrow it down to one. I really couldn’t. Some I recently read and loved however are:

You Will Know Me by Megan Abbott, Before the Fall by Noah Hawley, Wolf by Mo Hayder, What She Knew by Gilly MacMillan, Before Her Eyes by Sarah Pinborough, and this is just to name a few.

What do you like to do when you aren’t writing?

Well, I have two small children so free time is a thing of the past, but I still do furniture restoration. My favourite piece is the bedroom vanity. I am always surprised that they ever fell out of popularity. You get to have all of your make-up in one spot, a stool and mirror so you can sit and gaze at yourself (hey, they’re called vanities for a reason,) there’s room to enjoy a glass of wine or two (so you think you look better than you do.) Plus, you get to feel connected to all the other women who sat there before you, probably worrying about the same things. I love them. They’re such romantic pieces.

You live in Winnipeg.  As a Canadian blogger, this question is crucial.  What is your Tim Horton’s order?  (Mine is a French Vanilla with a double chocolate donut!) 

I’m a Plain Jane when it comes to coffee. It’s dark roast with one milk. I know HOW BORING, but I do add some vodka from the flask that I carry around with me…OK just kidding I don’t. Just milk. Yawn! When I’m feeling especially reckless with carbs, I’ll throw in an Everything Bagel with cream cheese.

If you missed my review of Follow Me Down, be sure to check it out here!  And if you haven’t picked up this novel yet, be sure to add it to your TBR piles!!

Thanks again to Sherri Smith for answering my questions and for agreeing to be my new B.F.F…just kidding, please don’t call the RCMP on me.  🙂

One thought on “Sitting Down With Sherri Smith: Author of Follow Me Down #authorq&a @SL_Smith_ @TORBOOKS

Leave a Reply

