Book Review: Wicked Game (Matt Johnson) @Matt_Johnson_UK @OrendaBooks

Screen Shot 2017-03-24 at 2.11.56 PM

In preparation for my Deadly Game blog tour stop, I decided to read Wicked Game, the first in the series, by Matt Johnson. Mind you neither of these books are something I am normally drawn into reading, however, when Orenda asks you to read one of their publications, you trust in Karen and fall in line. So, that’s what I did.

Robert Finley, an ex-Army operative, is living a simple, monotonous life with his wife and daughter. He likes it that way. However, when a man connected to Robert’s past is killed, he finds himself thrown back into the past, into a life he has tried to leave behind.   What results is an encapsulating whirlwind thriller that kept me engaged and flipping the pages.

This one reminded me of novels like I Am Pilgrim (which I read for my book club) and the Jack Reacher series; character heavy, plot heavy and absolutely engaging.   This is not a book to peruse casually; once you have entered Robert’s world, expect to be sucked in.

The novel opens with some seemingly random events and, to be truthful, I was initially quite confused with all the characters being introduced. However, once the story began to come together, I was impressed. What seems like random breadcrumbs, in fact, becomes a complete puzzle as Johnson weaves and binds all bits of the plot together.

Johnson creates a stellar character in Robert Finley. When the novel opens, he is just your everyday guy, but then once his past is revealed, he becomes so much more complex! He is sort of an anti-hero type and as his past and present actions are revealed, I found myself rooting for him.

After reading this book, I cannot wait to start reading  Deadly Game and am expecting some big things…no pressure or anything.

I rated this one a 4/5 stars.

 And, be sure to watch out for my post on the blog tour for Deadly Game tomorrow!

 

Thanks to Orenda for my copy of this novel; it as my pleasure to provide and honest review.

 

 

 

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Book Review: Wicked Game (Matt Johnson) @Matt_Johnson_UK @OrendaBooks

Leave a Reply

