Blog Tour: Six Stories (Matt Wesolowski) @ConcreteKraken @OrendaBooks

Screen Shot 2017-03-23 at 10.35.13 PM.png

Orenda is quickly becoming my favourite publisher. Everything they publish is gold; so needless to say, I am thrilled to be on the blog tour today for an Orenda title!

 Six Stories by Matt Wesolowski follows the podcast of Scott King as he hones in on the Scarclaw Fall tragedy; told through six different perspectives and a completely original narrative style, Wesolowski brilliantly sucks the reader in and makes them EXPERIENCE the story.

To start, I’d like to talk about the amazing cover of this book. I don’t usually comment on cover art, however, this one I cannot deny. The play on the forest, the lake with reflection and the frequency image is just suburb. This cover truly captures the novel in a nutshell.

This is not your typical crime story; there is no law enforcement leading an investigation nor is there a lawyer on the trail to save their client.

Instead, Wesolowski presents a story told through interviews and past recollections.   This one felt like I was on some sort of media binge, you know the kind where you get lost in a vortex of researching an unsolved crime or some strange trivia urban legend.  Throughout my reading, it reminded me of a true crime documentary that I would obsess over on Netflix (think, Making A Murderer).   Everything felt so real. It wrapped me up and held on tightly; I felt anxious. I felt worried. I couldn’t help but be consumed by the ominous text.    Truly, I think the only way this book could become more brilliant would be to experience it as an audiobook; it would truly blur the lines

Truly, I think the only way this book could become more brilliant would be to experience it as an audiobook; it would truly blur the lines between reality and fiction.

You want to get lost in a book? Wesolowski makes it easy.  I rated this one a 4/5 stars.

Thanks so much to Orenda books for the copy of this novel; it was my pleasure to provide an honest review.
4 thoughts on “Blog Tour: Six Stories (Matt Wesolowski) @ConcreteKraken @OrendaBooks

  1. Inge | The Belgian Reviewer says:

    I totally agree, the cover art for this one is superb! I’m not one for audiobooks (I can’t just listen and relax, I have to keep busy and I miss most of it every time so I gave up after a few chapters of the first one I tried) so I’m really happy this is a paperback/e-book!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

