Book Review: The Secrets You Keep (Kate White) @katemwhite @HarperCollins

Screen Shot 2017-03-06 at 6.06.52 PM.png

I am a complete sucker for a domestic thriller; I love the way they suck me in. I love the way they string me along. I love the way they play with my head. The Secrets You Keep by Kate White was no exception to these feelings. Fast-paced and fun, this one had my absolute attention

The novel opens with Bryn Harper moving into cottage country with her husband, still reeling from an accident. She begins to adjust to her new life. But, after a dinner party goes terribly wrong, leaving a woman dead and dragging Bryn into the investigation, she finds her life spiralling out of control and her husband keeping secrets from her, with terrifying consequences.

White does an awesome job at hooking the reader in, eluding much plot and then throwing in enough red herrings to keep anyone guessing. This was my first novel by White and I thoroughly enjoyed her writing style. This one was a perfect beach read; not too elaborate or deep, just entertaining to read. This one could easily be read in a few sittings.

My only complaint about this novel was the final few pages; they sum up a minor plot line and didn’t seem to “fit” with the rest of the story.  Do not let this deter you, it is a book worth your time!

If you are a fan of novels like Before I Go to Sleep with characters that are unreliable, then you will thoroughly enjoy this one! I gave it 4/5 stars.

Thanks to the author, the publisher and Edelweiss for the digital copy of this book; it was my pleasure to provide an honest review.

 

3 thoughts on “Book Review: The Secrets You Keep (Kate White) @katemwhite @HarperCollins

Leave a Reply

