Book Review: Never Let You Go (Chevy Stevens) @ChevyStevens @RaincoastBooks @StMartinsPress

Screen Shot 2017-03-13 at 11.23.56 AM.png

Never Let You Go, the newest release by Chevy Stevens (out TODAY!), was a novel that I sat down to read one chapter and ended up devouring in an afternoon.   And at 400 pages, this was something that is no easy feat! Emotional, thrilling and suspenseful, there wasn’t much this novel left me wanting.

This was actually my first experience reading a Chevy Stevens novel, but my friend Chelsea at The Suspense Is Thrilling Me was always singing her praises. She was right and I have been majorly missing out!

The novel follows Lindsey Nash who escaped an abusive relationship with her six-year-old daughter. Eleven years later, Lindsey has built a new life and has lived comfortably knowing her ex-husband was locked away in prison. However, when he is released, Lindsey’s life comes crashing down as her home is invaded, her sense of security is threatened and she finds herself moving back into patterns of a battered woman. Lindsey is convinced that her ex is responsible and she will do whatever it takes to protect her daughter and herself.

During my reading, this narrative felt like a mix between a few movies like Enough (starring Jennifer Lopez) and Sleeping with the Enemy (with Julia Roberts).   Now, I know some people will complain and say that the plot is not original. So what? If it’s not broken, don’t fix it and Stevens does exactly that. She takes all the stressful, emotional and compelling parts and creates her own spin in this book.

The novel is told from Lindsey’s perspective and her the perspective of her daughter, a now teenaged Sophie.   Flipping between past and present, the reader watches the patterns of abuse unfold, the escape and the paranoia as Lindsey is thrown back into her worst nightmare. I think it was realism of this one that hooked me the most.   The characters were completely relatable and I felt for Lindsey as her story unfolded and the scenes of her abuse played out. Stevens was able to hook me and tug at my heartstrings.

The novel had a plethora of twists and red herrings. At one point, I was accusing everyone of being involved. I was truly shocked when I figured out where the ending was going.  It didn’t blindside me, but it did make me sit back and think, “well played”.

And did I mention that Chevy Stevens is Canadian? And this book is set in Canada?   As if I wasn’t in love with it already, this fact pushed me over the edge.

If you are a fan of twisty, domestic fiction, then look no further. You have found your next read. I rated this one a 5/5…and purchased every single other book she has written.

Thanks for Raincoast Books and the author for a copy of this novel; it was my pleasure to provide an honest review.

 

 

 

14 thoughts on “Book Review: Never Let You Go (Chevy Stevens) @ChevyStevens @RaincoastBooks @StMartinsPress

  1. Renee (Itsbooktalk) says:

    Great review Sam! I’ll be reviewing this one soon. It wasn’t my favorite of hers but I think it’s because I loved Still Missing so much so my expectations are pretty high whoever I pick up one of her books:) I hope you read that one it’s fantastic!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

