Blog Tour: Cursed (Thomas Enger) @EngerThomas @OrendaBooks

Screen Shot 2017-03-10 at 8.27.02 PM.png

Thrilled to be a stop on the blog tour for Cursed by Thomas Enger today. I have been lucky enough to read several Orenda titles since Clues and Reviews was born and I have never been disappointed.   This novel did not end that streak.   What a fantastic book!

When a woman goes missing, Henning Juul, reeling from his own personal tragedy, is dragged into the case of a missing woman when his ex-wife, Nora, joins the search.

As the pair becomes immersed in the case, they find themselves entangled with one of Sweden’s most prominent families and, as the truth comes to light, Juul is willing to risk everything for answers.

I was initially worried I would not be able to follow, as this is the fourth in a series, but I found that I was able to easily catch on to Henning Juul and his backstory. Enger does a phenomenal job at giving the reader enough information to fill in the blanks while leaving it vague enough to make the reader want to go back and read the series for themselves!

Aside from the main mystery, a second arc develops (and from what I understand is a key component in other novels) in which Juul tries to hunt down those he believes to be responsible for the death of his son. I would read a book solely about this; Enger’s ability to capture Henning Juul’s ferocity, pain and desperation on each page was enough to send shivers down my spine.

I am never disappointed with the character development in a Nordic Noir novel and this one lived up to my expectations. Each character in this novel was tightly woven and developed.   I loved Henning. I loved Nora. I loved them together.   I will absolutely be going back to read the others in the series so I can see the full development of these characters and their journey.

And the end??!! The last few lines? I needed to pick my jaw up off the floor. Please, Thomas Enger. Write quickly. My heart can’t take it!!!

I feel like any fan of Nordic Noir, or any reader who enjoys their characters developed and pronounced will love this novel. 4/5 stars.

Be sure to check out the other stops on the CURSED blog tour!

Screen Shot 2017-03-10 at 8.48.53 PM.png

Thanks to Orenda and Thomas Enger for the copy of Cursed; it was my pleasure to provide an honest review!
5 thoughts on “Blog Tour: Cursed (Thomas Enger) @EngerThomas @OrendaBooks

Leave a Reply

